VectorLinux
October 25, 2014, 09:07:36 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Customize Live CD  (Read 1673 times)
clickmike

« on: December 29, 2008, 02:48:02 pm »

Hi,

I am not sure if I am in the right place for my question but I am sure if I am not someone will tell me where to go.

I have tried both of the Live CD's, Standard and SOHO, and even though I like the SOHO better it does not work on all the different computers that I have. I am an IT consultant and I manage various sites and I am looking for a non-Micro$oft solution.

I would like to customize the Live Standard edition for my needs but I am not a hand coder and I was wondering if there is a way of doing this? For example, I would like my version to only have openoffice 3 and firefox as choices for my users. I would like to have a persistent folder for user files and e-mail, I would like it to accept my logon script for my Windows server.

You might be asking yourself why doesn't he use the full version instead of the Live version? Well, I would like to only have to manage one OS image and if the user does something stupid, either by mistake or on purpose, then all you need to do is reboot the computer. I also would like to have one image that works on all hardware, that is why I think I need to go with Live Standard for now. And, if a computer dies or if we get new one's then all I need to do is plug in a USB momory stick that has the OS image and start the machine and I am in business, these machines would not have hard drives in them either.