VectorLinux
July 23, 2014, 05:19:54 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't install font package  (Read 1752 times)
JHAx86

« on: November 28, 2008, 08:29:41 am »

Hi all,

I installed the IPA fonts to be able to display japanese fonts in firefox, but even after add their paths to the Path section of xorg.conf file they are not available for firefox nor AbiWord, etc. I am studying that language so I need to be able to display its native characters.

Thanks for read.
kukibl
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2008, 09:06:11 am »

How did you install them? By manually copying font files to some directory or by installing some VL/Slackware package?

I don't know much about fonts, but I think you should cd to directory where you installed new fonts, then as root:

Code:
#mkfontdir
#fc-cache
 -a

Hope it helps.
JHAx86

« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2008, 10:11:52 am »

Hi, thanks for the answer,

First of all, I installed those fonts from a slackware package.
I followed your instructions but the fonts don't appear to be available for any application.

I also tried:

mkfontdir
fc-cache -f -v

and fc-cache said:
/usr/share/fonts/OTF: caching, 23 fonts, 0 dirs
/usr/share/fonts/TTF: caching, 75 fonts, 0 dirs
/root/.fonts: skipping, no such directory
/var/cache/fontconfig: cleaning cache directory
/root/.fontconfig: not cleaning unwritable cache directory
fc-cache: succeeded

My ipa fonts dir is /usr/share/fonts/ipa and it appears not to be scanned for fc-cache. Any idea?

Thanks.
kukibl
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2008, 04:08:44 pm »