VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: gparted/thumb  (Read 4205 times)

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1352
gparted/thumb
« on: November 04, 2008, 11:02:12 pm »

Hi..I picked up an 8gig thumb with the desire to install vl to it...this naturally did not work in my favor because I am a moron...that said

in the process I open gparted on the live 5.9 std cd and seen the sda as fat 32 and deleted and created an ext2..now I can not create the original fat32

could someone help me recover the thumb to fat 32 so I can make use of it and move on

thanks
Logged
Everything Is Relative

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3232
Re: gparted/thumb
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2008, 08:55:07 am »

why can't you create the fat32 partition?

you should be able to do that from gparted on a running 5.9 system... I've done it several times

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1352
Re: gparted/thumb
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2008, 11:09:25 am »

I do not know how I guess, never used gparted...I can highlite the current sda1 ext2 and click delete  to see not allocated but when I create a new partition fat 32 I get an error...when I try again it shows that it was not deleted but is still ext2

nevermind I will chuck the thumb and move on...sorry....likely every fool knows, It simple does not work for me
Logged
Everything Is Relative

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: gparted/thumb
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2008, 11:22:33 am »

mkdosfs -F 32 /dev/sdb
Logged

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1352
Re: gparted/thumb
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2008, 11:30:03 am »

root:# mkdosfs -F 32 /dev/sda
mkdosfs 2.11 (12 Mar 2005)
mkdosfs: Will not try to make filesystem on full-disk device '/dev/sda' (use -I if wanted)
Logged
Everything Is Relative

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: gparted/thumb
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2008, 11:56:23 am »

well if thats what you want add the -I
mkdosfs -F 32 /dev/sda -I
Logged

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: gparted/thumb
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2008, 12:25:09 pm »

In gparted, after 'deleting' the partition (sda1) you should apply the operation.  Until it's applied it's simply an action that will take place in the future.  Maybe that's the step you're missing?
Logged

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1352
Re: gparted/thumb
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2008, 01:11:40 pm »

 currently-gparted
 
partition /dev/sda1 ! filesystem fat32  size 7.85GiB used - unused - flags

note: ! (in yellow triangle)

is this right ? I am thinking no

the thumb is auto mounted so I need to unmount befor doing anything right?
Logged
Everything Is Relative

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: gparted/thumb
« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2008, 01:35:56 pm »

yes, unmount before making any changes in gparted.

The exclamation point is disconcerting.  I am not sure why gparted is indicating a ?problem?.  Perhaps try the whole process over again: delete the partition, apply the changes, create new fat32 partition, apply the changes, refresh device list.

Good luck!
Logged

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1352
Re: gparted/thumb
« Reply #9 on: November 05, 2008, 02:46:16 pm »

current -gparted

partition=/dev/sda1
filesystem=(green square)fat32
size=7.85Gib
used=15.70MiB
unused=7.84GiB
flags

I had to click device and then click create new partition table to get this

any idea why I am useing 15.70Mib...it is new with nothing on it and had no used space when first pluged

sorry for being so stupid...but you have to start somewhere
if I can get the thumb to its original state then I can live in denial and start again and hopefully do it right
cheers
Logged
Everything Is Relative

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: gparted/thumb
« Reply #10 on: November 05, 2008, 02:58:38 pm »

I cannot explain why ~15mb is shown as used.  Does 'df -k' confirm what gparted indicates?

edit:
perhaps it's reserved space for file allocation table or some such thing??? don't really know, just speculating
Logged

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1352
Re: gparted/thumb
« Reply #11 on: November 05, 2008, 03:14:49 pm »

ok...I went out and got a new 1gig of the same brand and it has the ! in the yellow triagle at first plug.

for the 8gig I did: mkdosfs -I -F fat32 /dev/sda

now it looks the same in gparted when pluged...so the ! just is I guess..thanks

I think I'm back to having a new 8gig thumb to install vl

I do not know where to start so will put on hold

Thanks uelsk8s and newtor and thanks moe-Inx for reminding me to keep it real
Logged
Everything Is Relative

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: gparted/thumb
« Reply #12 on: November 12, 2008, 10:43:37 pm »

I just had pretty much the same problem, and it seems it was vl-hot mounting it when gparted was working (even though it wasn't mounted when I started gparted).
If you're using vl-hot, I fixed it by putting "sdf*" in the exclude line in vl-hot-config. Change for your device name.
Then remove the line to mount it again when plugged in.

If you're using hal, don't have a clue  :)
Logged

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: gparted/thumb
« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2008, 08:56:24 am »

If you're using vl-hot, I fixed it by putting "sdf*" in the exclude line in vl-hot-config. Change for your device name.
You can simply use sd* if you don't want to be bothered to figure it out and don't want to plug'n mount another drive in the meantime... ;)
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3232
Re: gparted/thumb
« Reply #14 on: November 13, 2008, 08:58:23 am »

If you're using vl-hot, I fixed it by putting "sdf*" in the exclude line in vl-hot-config. Change for your device name.
You can simply use sd* if you don't want to be bothered to figure it out and don't want to plug'n mount another drive in the meantime... ;)

WoW!...


Happy 2000th post Joe
Pages: [1] 2