VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: After Installation - No Desktop  (Read 2180 times)

timepilot

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
After Installation - No Desktop
« on: November 29, 2008, 10:01:17 pm »

I've installed many distros and after installing the OS the desktop fails to load.  ???

But when I run the OS from the live CD it works fine. Something in the installation process must be causing this.  :o 

No, it isn't the person sitting in front of the monitor  ;D

Has anyone else experienced this problem and have a solution to fix this problem?
I must admit the OS looks good but the idea of running it from a live cd isn't what I had in mind.  ;)
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1871
Re: After Installation - No Desktop
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2008, 10:58:56 pm »

Please describe a little better. Is there a command prompt?
If so have you tried typing startx?

Bigpaws
Logged

timepilot

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: After Installation - No Desktop
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2008, 11:45:15 pm »

Yes, there is a command prompt and I've typed "startx" but I get this error "Wait a Minute - try init 4". But after typing that it still doesn't load the desktop. But if I use the live cd and don't install the OS to the HD it loads the desktop.
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1871
Re: After Installation - No Desktop
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2008, 11:53:13 pm »

This is a guess butsounds like a video problem. What is the video chipset and how did
you setup during the install?

Bigpaws
Logged

timepilot

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: After Installation - No Desktop
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2008, 11:18:12 pm »

The chip set is an Intel 845, but there wasn't any prompt for video configuration during the installation.  ???
Logged

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4132
Re: After Installation - No Desktop
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2008, 06:23:16 am »

Try running "vasm > autosetup" and go through the hardware configuration again.
Logged