VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Problems accessing LAN  (Read 10139 times)

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 435
Problems accessing LAN
« on: December 04, 2008, 10:23:36 am »

VL5.9 Standard on PIII Coppermine and PIII Katmai.  Also have 2 Win98SE on this network:

LinkSys EtherFast Wireless Access Point + Cable/DSL Router with 4-Port Switch - DHCP server
|--Clearwire wireless modem
|--compaq   VL5.9 PIII Katmai 36xxxxx ram reported by BIOS built in sound/speakers
|--sparrow  Win98SE Toshiba 100CS laptop Pentium 16MB ram
|--         FreeDos 1.0 (not tested on this configuration)
|--|   Linksys EtherFast 10/100 8-Port Switch
   |-- vector   VL5.9 PIII Coppermine 256MB ram Samba Server
   |-- gateway  Win98SE Celeron 64MB ram
   |

All 4 machines can ping each other.  The VL machines do NOT broadcast their name.  pyNeighborhood now fails to find any of the machines but I can mount the Win98s manually.  Win98s can no longer access VLs. pyNeighborhood worked fine before I switched to DHCP.. 

I was using 192.168.0.x with my static configuration.  WAB is 192.168.1.1 and assigns 50 addresses starting at 192.168.1.100.  (All 4 have addresses assigned by WAB.)

Obviously, I'm missing something.
Logged
Dell GX280: 7.1-Gold 32 bit
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0
Gateway LT200 Win XP dead!

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: Problems accessing LAN
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2008, 10:35:53 am »

when you switched from 192.168.0.x to 192.168.1.x did you adjust your samba configuration file?  I think by default the configuration file is set up for the ...0.x address range so you probably just need to change it to be ...1.x.
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Problems accessing LAN
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2008, 05:26:55 pm »

After the changes of IP, do all machines can ping each other?
Logged

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 435
Re: Problems accessing LAN
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2008, 05:48:46 pm »

Hata:  All machines can ping each other.  Sorry, I thought I had mentioned that.

Newtor:  I was hoping that I could use 192.168.1.x, no help! Had to use 192.168.1.101.  Also, putting that into /etc/hosts stopped xfce from complaining.  I'm just hoping it won't change.

This, and rebooting all machines, has almost solved the issue.  pyNeighborhood on vector says 'Failed to scan groups'.  Compaq finds workgroup FOWLPLAY and can open the shares on the other 3 machines (including vector).  Gateway can open Vector shares, can't see compaq, and sparrow is overheated and needs to be shut down.

Mc on compaq has a weird color scheme:  directories have the same color as the background - white!  Vector has a black background in mc.
Logged
Dell GX280: 7.1-Gold 32 bit
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0
Gateway LT200 Win XP dead!

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Problems accessing LAN
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2008, 08:44:36 pm »

can all machines see the vector samba server?
is all machines in a same workgroup?
do the windows client have any problem?
is only the linux client have problem to find other PC in your LAN?
Logged

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 435
Re: Problems accessing LAN
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2008, 10:47:55 am »

> can all machines see the vector samba server?
Gateway (Win98) can see Gateway and Vector
Vector (VL5.9)(Samba server) 'Failed to scan groups'
Compaq (VL5.9)can see Gateway and Vector
(Only 3 working machines on net at this time.)

> is all machines in a same workgroup?
Vector AFIK is only set in smb.conf
Compaq I don't know where to set it
Gateway set in settings->Networks

> do the windows client have any problem?
Compaq can't see Compaq

> is only the linux client have problem to find other PC in your LAN?
???
Vector (Samba server) 'Failed to scan groups'
Logged
Dell GX280: 7.1-Gold 32 bit
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0
Gateway LT200 Win XP dead!

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 435
Re: Problems accessing LAN
« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2008, 11:54:56 am »

I don't know if this helps or not:  I tried to set up another machine, as it only had MS-DOS, I tried some of my live disks, the only one with any success was DSL.  The machine is a PackardBell P133 with 16MB ram and an Intel Ethernet Pro 100 NIC.  DHCP wouldn't work so I set it to 192.168.1.3.  Attempting to ping any one else indicated that I needed to be root but I don't know that password.  Attempted to ping from Vector:
Quote
root:# ping -c 3 192.168.1.3 
PING 192.168.1.3 (192.168.1.3) 56(84) bytes of data.
From 192.168.1.101 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.1.101 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.1.101 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
Windows reports the "Request timed out".

I'll work on my FreeDos machine and see what happens.
Logged
Dell GX280: 7.1-Gold 32 bit
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0
Gateway LT200 Win XP dead!

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Problems accessing LAN
« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2008, 10:12:11 am »

Ok. From what I read from your post the top priority is compaq as you cannot see it in your workgroup. It could be due to it was not in the same wrokgroup, and the only way i know to join a workgroup is using samba. You can try enable samba on your compaq client with your workgroup name.

Quote
pyNeighborhood on vector says 'Failed to scan groups

Try this command smbclient -L hostname -U username in linux to check any of your share folder in your network. Some time pyNeighborhood will not work.....
Logged

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: Problems accessing LAN
« Reply #8 on: December 06, 2008, 10:28:16 am »

I'm still wondering if the problem is related to your smb configuration file.  What is the output from: cat /etc/samba/smb.conf | grep "hosts allow" ?
Logged

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 435
Re: Problems accessing LAN
« Reply #9 on: December 06, 2008, 01:36:04 pm »

root:# cat /etc/samba/smb.conf | grep "hosts allow"

        hosts allow = 192.168.1.,192.168.0. 127.
Logged
Dell GX280: 7.1-Gold 32 bit
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0
Gateway LT200 Win XP dead!

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1872
Re: Problems accessing LAN
« Reply #10 on: December 06, 2008, 01:43:39 pm »

Quote
The VL machines do NOT broadcast their name
Linux does not do name broadcast in the way that Windows does.
Which is why you are not able to resolve by typing a machine name.

If all this started after switching to DHCP then more than
likely the problem is WINS and internal DNS.

Win98 has a pretty ugly network stack.

If you are interested in pinging by name each machine
then you can add entries in Win98 machines in the file
LMHOSTS with the ip and the machine name. Then do
the same in /etc/hosts. This sets up mapping of machine
name to ipaddress.

That should solve the problem.

If yh
Logged

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: Problems accessing LAN
« Reply #11 on: December 06, 2008, 05:45:42 pm »

root:# cat /etc/samba/smb.conf | grep "hosts allow"

        hosts allow = 192.168.1.,192.168.0. 127.


I generally see the network ranges separated by spaces rather than commas. It might be worth replacing the comma with a space, save, restart network, to see if it helps. Pretty easy to try anyways.
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Problems accessing LAN
« Reply #12 on: December 06, 2008, 08:05:32 pm »

maybe you can try this to resolve the hostname issue

http://www.poromenos.org/node/53
Logged

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 435
Re: Problems accessing LAN
« Reply #13 on: December 07, 2008, 07:31:03 am »

Thanks Newtor.  I'm so used to the comma separator that I missed that it was in that line before I added the third range.  Took it out and will restart as soon as I finish this post.

Hata:  An interesting thread.  But I'm wondering if this snip from smb.conf doesn't already do that?
Quote
   domain logons = Yes
   preferred master = Yes
   domain master = Yes
   wins proxy = Yes
   wins support = Yes
Logged
Dell GX280: 7.1-Gold 32 bit
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0
Gateway LT200 Win XP dead!

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 435
Re: Problems accessing LAN
« Reply #14 on: December 07, 2008, 07:58:09 am »

pyNeighborhood still fails to scan.

Hata:  Somehow I missed your earlier post.  I'll try setting up Samba on Compag

Reviewing this thread, I discovered an error:
Quote
> do the windows client have any problem?
Compaq can't see Compaq
should have been "Gateway can't see Compaq"

Hmmm!
Quote
vector:/~
root:# ping vector
ping: unknown host vector
vector:/~
root:# ping -c 1 Gateway
PING Gateway (192.168.1.103) 56(84) bytes of data.
From vector.linux.net (192.168.1.101) icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable

--- Gateway ping statistics ---
1 packets transmitted, 0 received, +1 errors, 100% packet loss, time 0ms


Quote
DHCP Active IP Table   
DHCP Server IP Address:   192.168.1.1
Client Hostname   IP Address   MAC Address
Gateway   192.168.1.100   00-D0-B7-58-A8-78
   192.168.1.101   00-21-91-21-CF-AB
   192.168.1.103   08-00-09-61-D6-CE
...CF-AB is Vector.  Gateway was on all night, Vector turned on this morning, all other machines have been off all night. 

Sdjusting Compaq but may not be able to get back till this evening.
Logged
Dell GX280: 7.1-Gold 32 bit
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0
Gateway LT200 Win XP dead!
Pages: [1] 2 3