VectorLinux
September 22, 2014, 05:56:19 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: General questions about Vector (from long-time Slackware user)  (Read 7692 times)
kikinovak

« on: December 08, 2008, 11:58:26 pm »

Hi,

I'm an Austrian sysadmin living in Montpezat (South France), and a 100% GNU/Linux user since 2001. Back then, I made my first steps on Linux on Slackware 7.1 on a batterred 486. I've been working with various distros for some years, mostly Slackware, Debian and (lately) CentOS, a RHEL clone. I've also fiddled with all the major - and some exotic minor - distros. Right now I'm running a Linux consulting business (http://www.microlinux.fr) , and I do things such as networking public libraries using 100% Linux and OSS.

About two years ago, I've been working on a project called "Slick", which was basically Slackware + XFCE + GNOME libs + multimedia. I never really published that thing. Well, it was always sort of available as an SVN tree (200+ SlackBuild scripts and some documentation), but never aimed at the public, only for use in my business. But working on your own distro, even if it's just a spinoff, is quite some work, so I eventually switched to a second-best solution, a mix of CentOS and Fedora (quite heavily tweaked, old habits never die  Grin).