VectorLinux
July 26, 2014, 06:50:18 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Asus P5QL Pro- Sound and Ethernet controller unsupported!  (Read 3613 times)
RJARRRPCGP
Member
*
Posts: 14


« on: December 07, 2008, 10:29:55 am »

I just installed Vector Linux 5.9 last night to have no sound hardware detected and the Ethernet was dead!

The motherboard is:

Asus P5QL Pro
Logged
RJARRRPCGP
Member
*
Posts: 14


« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2008, 12:07:38 pm »

Here's lspci from Crunchbang Linux:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset DRAM Controller (rev 02)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port (rev 02)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5
00:1a.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) PCI Express Port 1
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) PCI Express Port 5
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) PCI Express Port 6
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 90)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JIB (ICH10) LPC Interface Controller
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) 4 port SATA IDE Controller
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) SMBus Controller
00:1f.5 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) 2 port SATA IDE Controller
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 9500 GT (rev a1)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Attansic Technology Corp. L1 Gigabit Ethernet Adapter (rev b0)
03:00.0 IDE interface: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88SE6101 single-port PATA133 interface (rev b2)

And ifconfig -a from Crunchbang Linux:

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:22:15:74:c7:88 
          inet addr:192.168.1.100  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::222:15ff:fe74:c788/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:62285 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:44215 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:2
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:78315919 (78.3 MB)  TX bytes:5139740 (5.1 MB)
          Interrupt:219

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:420 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:420 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:21000 (21.0 KB)  TX bytes:21000 (21.0 KB)

pan0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr ee:95:54:39:ff:49 
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

« Last Edit: December 07, 2008, 12:09:28 pm by RJARRRPCGP » Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1843


« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2008, 12:25:04 pm »

Quote
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:22:15:74:c7:88
          inet addr:192.168.1.100  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::222:15ff:fe74:c788/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:62285 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:44215 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:2
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:78315919 (78.3 MB)  TX bytes:5139740 (5.1 MB)
          Interrupt:219

This indicates that your NIC card is in deed working.

Sound:

Open a terminal and type alsamixer see if the sound is muted, the m key will mute or unmute.

if the card is still not working post the output of lsmod.

Bigpaws
Logged
RJARRRPCGP
Member
*
Posts: 14


« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2008, 12:51:49 pm »

Quote
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:22:15:74:c7:88
          inet addr:192.168.1.100  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::222:15ff:fe74:c788/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:62285 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:44215 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:2
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:78315919 (78.3 MB)  TX bytes:5139740 (5.1 MB)
          Interrupt:219

This indicates that your NIC card is in deed working.

Sound:

Open a terminal and type alsamixer see if the sound is muted, the m key will mute or unmute.

if the card is still not working post the output of lsmod.

Bigpaws

It is under Crunchbang, but under Vector 5.9, all I see with ifconfig is the loopback! 

I cannot access the internet with Vector! I'm posting from Crunchbang!
« Last Edit: December 07, 2008, 12:55:00 pm by RJARRRPCGP » Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1843


« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2008, 01:23:48 pm »

 Huh

My interpretation is that the ifconfig was from the install you had
a question about.

So am I to guess that you have some other form of Linux running?

If so compare lsmod and modprobe the missing modules.

Bigpaws
Logged
RJARRRPCGP
Member
*
Posts: 14


« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2008, 01:40:31 pm »

Huh

My interpretation is that the ifconfig was from the install you had
a question about.

So am I to guess that you have some other form of Linux running?

If so compare lsmod and modprobe the missing modules.

Bigpaws

Yes, I do, an Ubuntu-based one, just to post this!
Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2008, 02:18:38 pm »

Try the atl1 driver. Do "modprobe atl1".
After that, try VasmCC > Network > Netconf, and ifconfig -a.

If you can already see the driver when doing "lsmod", then I don't know...
Logged
RJARRRPCGP
Member
*
Posts: 14


« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2008, 02:33:59 pm »

Try the atl1 driver. Do "modprobe atl1".
After that, try VasmCC > Network > Netconf, and ifconfig -a.

If you can already see the driver when doing "lsmod", then I don't know...

I see a discrepancy, because the ethernet controller is an Atheros and the sound is from Realtek.

Even when I told the installer to use HAL. *Because the hardware is real new!*

As you can see, they are fine under Ubuntu.

And *yes, ifconfig only displays the loopback, nothing else!*
« Last Edit: December 07, 2008, 04:43:14 pm by RJARRRPCGP » Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2008, 07:10:16 pm »

It would be very helpful is you can post the lspci, lsmod and ifconfig -a from your VL install.....copy it to txt file if you can...... Tongue
Logged
RJARRRPCGP
Member
*
Posts: 14


« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2008, 09:54:40 pm »



I honestly think the Asus P5QL Pro system is too new! (that means required to wait for at least version 6x and try again)
« Last Edit: December 07, 2008, 10:11:54 pm by RJARRRPCGP » Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #10 on: December 08, 2008, 12:05:01 am »

I believe VL6 will be out around Xmas time.....or you can try the VL6 beta.. Tongue
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2869


WWW
« Reply #11 on: December 08, 2008, 12:31:54 am »

VL 6.0 beta 2 is already in a very usable state.  I had a prerelease copy so I've been running it for a few days.  If I were you I'd give that a try.  The 2.6.27.7 kernel should support the newer Asus hardware.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!