VectorLinux
July 24, 2014, 07:18:21 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Flash9 Video too Slow? Downgrade to Flash7.  (Read 8220 times)
matteck
Member
*
Posts: 3


« on: February 16, 2008, 04:28:40 am »

I have VL 5.9 Std Gold.  Flash 9 is too bloated & jerky.  I guess the company assumes everyone has nice new machines.
My machine: 1GHz, PIII, 256MB RAM, no graphics card.
I downgraded to Flash 7.  Got it here.  Part of a big developer revision compatibility verification pack so there's every OS in this archive:
Download:
http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/flashplayer/installers/archive/fp7_archive.zip
Intro page:
http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?externalId=tn_14266&sliceId=1

* Unpack the whole thing.
* Rename the existing Flash9 player in the /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins  to libflashplayer9.so or whatever.  You got to be SU.
* Get the Flash7, r73 linux flash player (libflashplayer.so) out of the new directories from the unpacking you just did.
* Copy it to /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins  and maybe make a copy of it there  calling it libflashplayer7.so  in case you flip back-n-forth between the two.

Flash video is now enjoyable.   ...for now.
Logged
mr_volvo
Member
*
Posts: 36


« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2008, 03:57:00 am »

thanks for this. Worked like a charm!  Grin
Logged

Vector 5.8 SOHO on
Dell Latitude C400 (1Ghz, 256mb)
androl
Member
*
Posts: 4



« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2008, 11:35:53 am »

This was really a good advice man!

It works as never before in youtube, thanks!
Logged
Stokstaartje
Member
*
Posts: 36


« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2008, 05:31:11 am »

Something strange happening here. I didn't notice any difference, other than that some flash videos now refuse to play with an "invalid url" error message. As a test, I simply removed the libflashplayer.so file, restarted Firefox and was still able to watch flash video's. Hm, that makes me wonder: Are the changes coming through? Am I changing files at the right place?
Logged

----------------------------------
I hope I didn't brain my damage!
matteck
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2008, 03:00:32 am »

There are other places for the flashplayer plugin like:
    /home/username/.mozilla/plugins

You may want to:   find / -name libflas*    to see where it could be,
The original post assumed the default location for a fresh VL 5.9 Gold Std.
You could also try this: 
Get a hold of a friend who is a PC game fanatic that builds own PCs.  This person will probably have a few graphic accelerator cards lying around, might even give it to you for free.  Install and run VASM to get it configured.  nVIDA seems Linux friendly.  This isn't for the faint of heart, but is a good experience.
Logged
kge420
Member
*
Posts: 72


« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2008, 06:12:59 pm »

Worked for me. Anyone need a video card I may have one laying around.
Logged

Toshiba Satellite 2805
20 GB hdd
192mb ram
VL 5.9


"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy".
    -Ben Franklin
fuelinux
Member
*
Posts: 52



« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2008, 11:48:17 am »

does flash7 work more or less stable?
Logged

Vector Linux 5.8 Standard
mr_volvo
Member
*
Posts: 36


« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2008, 03:54:20 am »

I haven't noticed any difference stability wise on my laptop. Be prepared for a few sites whose video content won't work with flash 7, but a few sites that don't work is much better than a whole internet in stop motion. (IMO)
Logged

Vector 5.8 SOHO on
Dell Latitude C400 (1Ghz, 256mb)
budulay
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 568


NewComer


« Reply #8 on: April 13, 2008, 11:47:53 am »

Hallo, I did all written in the first post, but did not noticed some differense at all.
I am using Opera browser, could it influence the process?

Quote
You may want to:   find / -name libflas*    to see where it could be,
Could someone explain, how to use it, because when I wrote it in terminal, it returned "no such command error":-(
Thanks.
Logged

VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4018



« Reply #9 on: April 13, 2008, 01:22:07 pm »

Quote
You may want to:   find / -name libflas*    to see where it could be,
Could someone explain, how to use it, because when I wrote it in terminal, it returned "no such command error":-(
Thanks.

It should work if typed exactly as shown. Here's a little trick: try highlighting the command and copying it. In the terminal, hold down the Shift key and then press the Insert key. This should paste the text into the terminal. Now hit enter and see what happens. You can also click the scroll wheel on your mouse, or both left and right button at the same time.
Logged
budulay
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 568


NewComer


« Reply #10 on: April 14, 2008, 04:45:14 pm »

Thanks, the search did worked, maybe I just mistaked in typing last time(but I checked it for a few time...), but it showed up only that mozilla folder. If I am using Opera, should I install flashplayer somewhere in Opera's folder, or Opera will fing flashplayer in mozilla folder?
Thanks a lot.
Logged

VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!
Hacker John
Member
*
Posts: 21


« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2008, 03:02:00 pm »

Sorry if I sound thick but do you unpack the fp7 zip with gunzip?
Logged
budulay
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 568


NewComer


« Reply #12 on: January 09, 2009, 09:26:05 am »

You can do it with gunzip I suppose.
You can also use mc's interface(F2 I suppose).
Logged

VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!