VectorLinux
September 23, 2014, 12:01:54 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: x problem logging?  (Read 3172 times)
Windozer
Vectorite
***
Posts: 386


Have Vector Linux, Will Travel.


« on: December 20, 2008, 11:15:06 am »

On slackware-based distros, like VL, where does X log errors it encounters during it's init?

On one machine I'm trying out, VL (5.Cool hangs right at the splash screen after log in - the one where the components are initializing (kde, etc).  I assume this is a vid. driver problem.

Using a live CD slax-build,  it might work fine, or it might hang too at a similar place. (Sorry, I don't know yet how to do this in VL ... a text mode first, then start x?)
 
Killbill or Backtrack for example:
>xconf
>startx
might work or hang

>startx
alone is the same
Thanks,
- Howard
Logged

483,617th Registered Linux Snoozer
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1850


« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2008, 12:44:12 pm »

/var/log/Xorg.0.log

Bigpaws
Logged
Windozer
Vectorite
***
Posts: 386


Have Vector Linux, Will Travel.


« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2008, 06:38:54 pm »

thanks, B.P. ... you're always right there when we need you!  Grin Grin

Interesting... wonder what it means if that log file doesn't even exist, or is empty ?!?

- H
Logged

483,617th Registered Linux Snoozer
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1850


« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2008, 07:09:29 pm »

Quote
On one machine I'm trying out, VL (5.Cool hangs right at the splash screen after log in - the one where the components are initializing (kde, etc).  I assume this is a vid. driver problem.

Was X ever setup correctly, if not that maybe the reason, try using the vesa module.

HTH

Bigpaws
Logged
Windozer
Vectorite
***
Posts: 386


Have Vector Linux, Will Travel.


« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2008, 07:15:19 pm »

Was X ever setup correctly, if not that maybe the reason, try using the vesa module.

Yes, it worked, then didn't, then did again. Mem and video card good, swapped into another board to test. Put back into to suspect system, same deal. No opps, but did get a seg. fault once or twice when KDE was coming up. Seems to be locking up at KDE.

 Shocked Maybe the MOBO is haunted ? Shocked
Logged

483,617th Registered Linux Snoozer
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1850


« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2008, 08:35:39 pm »

MOBO would be suspect. Is this an older MOBO?

If so try changing the pci cards as far as slots being used.

Bigpaws
Logged
Windozer
Vectorite
***
Posts: 386


Have Vector Linux, Will Travel.


« Reply #6 on: December 27, 2008, 09:06:20 am »

This one is really weird  Huh

the system is near new... Intel Mobo, internal vid., dual P-whatever, SATA ... gonna try putting 5.9 and 6.0 on it to see whatzup.

- H
Logged

483,617th Registered Linux Snoozer
Windozer
Vectorite
***
Posts: 386


Have Vector Linux, Will Travel.


« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2009, 01:45:08 pm »

Bigpaws,

if you happen to see this, and have a moment, please take a look at a directly related thread:

http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=8106.msg55312

it's the same MoBo mentioned above, but I thought it better to start a new thread there.

thanks
-H
Logged

483,617th Registered Linux Snoozer
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!