VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: VPN to work  (Read 7485 times)

quoque

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
VPN to work
« on: December 20, 2008, 12:29:27 pm »

Is there a programme to use and intructions telling me how to configure Vector linux so that I can connect via VPN to my work's network, I have tried to use this page :

http://www.linuxquestions.org/linux/answers/Networking/PPTP_VPN_on_Slackware_How_to

Section 3 on but no success.
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: VPN to work
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2008, 12:42:45 pm »

What VPN protocol?

Did you make a new kernel as instructed?

At what point did you fail?

Bigpaws
Logged

sgla1

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: VPN to work
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2009, 05:16:43 pm »

What kind of vpn are you connecting to?  If it's cisco you're in luck -- there is a very good cisco client called "vpnc".  You may also need the kernel module for the "tun" virtual interface, if it's not included in the stock VL kernel.  I haven't tried it on VL yet but I will soon.  Works great on the "brown" distro.
Logged

toigwan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: VPN to work
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2009, 03:46:44 pm »

@sgla1
What kind of vpn are you connecting to?  If it's cisco you're in luck -- there is a very good cisco client called "vpnc".  You may also need the kernel module for the "tun" virtual interface, if it's not included in the stock VL kernel.  I haven't tried it on VL yet but I will soon.  Works great on the "brown" distro.

Were you able to install the cisco vpn client successfully?  I just recently downloaded cisco vpn client from my college campus website, but was unable to install it.
Logged
Thinkpad 600E Pentium II, 256MB RAM
VL 5.9 Standard

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2876
    • The Linux Works
Re: VPN to work
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2009, 09:02:56 pm »

I have both vnc and the proprietary Cisco VPN client installed on my Red Hat boxes.  Works great.  I haven't tried it on VL yet.  What problems did you encounter?
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

toigwan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: VPN to work
« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2009, 12:38:52 pm »

Hi caitlyn,

Thanks for replying to my posts.
I ran as root
#./vpn_install
Based on the messages, it would seem some *.h files could not be found.
Undeclared here..., 'struct sk_buff' has no member named 'nh', ...
The top of the install message shows:

Cisco Systems VPN Client Version 3.7 (Rel) Linux Installer
Copyright (C) 1998-2001

I checked Cisco website and they are on version 5...
What version of Cisco are you using?
I am going to e-mail my campus tech support and see if I can get my issue resolved.

Thank you
Logged
Thinkpad 600E Pentium II, 256MB RAM
VL 5.9 Standard

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2876
    • The Linux Works
Re: VPN to work
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2009, 01:53:26 pm »

The proprietary Cisco VPN client will *NOT* work on Vector Linux AFAIK.  Try VNC or else you'll have to use one of the distros supported by Cisco (Red Hat/CentOS or SUSE).
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

FelixColl

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: VPN to work
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2014, 01:00:43 am »

Have you tried of using any vpns? Like PrimoVPN.net, worth it for me.

Hope to hear any update if you try another one.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2014, 06:39:36 am by FelixColl »
Logged