VectorLinux
August 22, 2014, 03:17:33 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Applications start loading but then disappear.  (Read 1537 times)
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« on: January 12, 2009, 07:17:52 pm »

I am running VL 5.9.1 SOHO. When I try to run certain applications such as Amarok, it shows on the taskbar that it is loading it but then it just disappears and doesn't come back. I recently got Wine and installed a game with it but it does the same thing. It says that it is loading and even shows the loading screen for the game but then it disappears. By the way, this game has been run on this same computer under Windows 98 successfully if that makes any difference.
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4019



« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2009, 07:43:41 pm »

Try using a terminal shell to launch the programs instead of using the launch icons. Often this will yield some helpful error messages. Post back what you see.
Logged
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2009, 07:27:31 am »

I am running VL 5.9.1 SOHO. When I try to run certain applications such as Amarok, it shows on the taskbar that it is loading it but then it just disappears and doesn't come back.

Amarok always does that on its first instance of being loaded. You then click the applet and it appears. You can change that "feature" under Settings, Configure Amarok, Show Player Window.
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2009, 04:14:09 pm »

Nightflier, how do I launch applications from a terminal. For instance, Wine.
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2009, 06:16:14 pm »

open a terminal and type the program name...for this case is wine
Logged
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2009, 06:55:30 pm »

When I try to run wine, it gives me this error:
wine: could not load L"C:\\windows\\system32\\PROGRAM.exe": Module not found
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1846


« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2009, 07:17:01 pm »

Have you tried this:

$ cd '.wine/drive_c/Games/Tron'
$ wine tron.exe

cd is to change directories to the one listed and then
the other line calls wine to start the program.

Have you checked that the program runs in wine by
looking at the wine database? It is located at winehq.org

Bigpaws
Logged
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2009, 08:22:20 pm »

I tried executing the .exe file for the game but it said "cannot execute binary file". I have tried to locate the game in the data base at winehq.org but either it wasn't there or I didn't use the search program correctly.
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1846


« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2009, 09:26:46 pm »

You can also google it.

linux gamename
wine gamename

Might get you some more information. If you did a search in the
winehq database then it more than possible it will not work.

Bigpaws
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!