VectorLinux
July 28, 2014, 06:11:21 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: VL on a Ferrari3000  (Read 2489 times)
Ken75

« on: January 06, 2009, 10:22:56 am »

Hi Im a really newbie at Linux, and Ive heard that VL linux can be one of the best OS to begin with and use if youre a newbie or Pro.
Ok this is my situation
I have a Ferrari3000 (ACER)
I tried to install the Vector Linux 5.9 Gold editon first with a swap disk of 1024 MB ..cause the laptop has 512 MB RAM (is this correct)
I think it worked in a way, but I saw that my grahpic card didnt install properly, and it didnt find my wireless card..so I couldnt use the Laptop at Wireless connection..(I think personnaly thats important Wink )
After this I tried the Vector Linux V6.0 STD edition but it did not work either...It had the same problems.
So here id my questions:

1. My Ferrari3000 had 512 MB of memory is it correct to use a swap disk of 1024MB then ?
2. What vector linux can I use to make my Ferrari3000 work exellent ?(with all drivers and everything)
3. If it so that its smart to buy a version ? will this make it work ? Im thinking of VL 5.9 Deluxe 2-CD Set....if it so I´ll do that.
4. Is the buy version much better then free versions.

------------------------------------------------------------------------
To help you mabe support me better I found that linux Ubuntu is working ok on my computer I havent tested it but I found this on the WEB. this is the same PC like mine...hope that this can help you eventually to support me better.