VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Not a problem - I just did a dumb thing  (Read 1093 times)

budulay

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 568
  • NewComer
Not a problem - I just did a dumb thing
« on: January 07, 2009, 06:46:51 pm »

Hi
I was trying to use vinstall-iso file that I got from http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.9/install/vinstall/vinstall-iso to install VL6.0-Light-B1, but received "cannot decompress initrd.img from ISO-file"
I checked md5sum and it was fine.
After searching the forum, I found this page. I removed -S from "gunzip - S -c loop/isolinux/initrd.img > $INSTALLRD || \" as suggested, but did not get any further.
Are there any changes made to the VL6.0-Light-B1, comparing to VL6.0-Dynamite-0.7(I couldn't get GUI to load there right away, and since I did not have much time then, I stopped trying), which I installed using the same script, that may prevent 5.9 script from working? If so, is there a place where I could download a new script, or what changes should be made to the existing script to make it work?
Thank you.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2009, 09:08:22 pm by budulay »
Logged
VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4085
Re: Installing VL6.0-Light-B1 from the Linux host
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2009, 07:10:11 pm »

You can try the script in the iso itself (/install/vinstall/vinstall-iso)
Logged

budulay

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 568
  • NewComer
Re: Installing VL6.0-Light-B1 from the Linux host
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2009, 08:38:11 pm »

Thank you for your quick response.
For some reason I could not get into /install/vinstall directory. I ran "mount -o loop VL6.0-Light-B1.iso /mnt/loop" under root. Then I navigated to the /mnt/loop and found content of iso image there, but all files are empty and few of them do not exist along with few directories(mc shows red file name with a question mark in front of it). /install/vinstall is one of those red non existing directories.

For me it looks like a bad download, but I checked md5sum and it was exactly what it should be.

Thank you once again for taking your time and trying to help me.
Logged
VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!

budulay

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 568
  • NewComer
Re: Not a problem - I just made a dumb thing
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2009, 09:07:57 pm »

I am sorry - I just did a really dumb thing:
The download which I checked a md5sum for is not the one I used for installation. I misplaced it and used the one from the different directory. The one I used was about 100 kb in size, so it's not wonder that it didn't worked - there just wasn't anything to load.

So tomorrow I will proceed with the installation, using the right iso this time.

Thank you nightflier for trying to help and sorry for waisting your time.
Logged
VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4085
Re: Not a problem - I just did a dumb thing
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2009, 10:04:22 pm »

As long as learning is taking place, time is not wasted.  ;D

It is obvious you are willing to put forth the effort and do your part, so I'm happy to offer any help I can give.
Logged