VectorLinux
August 01, 2014, 05:32:48 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: LAN Network  (Read 2825 times)
StrayBit
Vectorite
***
Posts: 373



« on: January 07, 2009, 12:29:26 pm »

I'm trying to link two VL5.9STD (named vector and compaq) and one Win98 (named gateway) on my LAN.  Samba on both VL machines is set to SHARE and workgroup is FOWLPLAY.  All 3 access the internet through 192.168.1.1, Using static ips: vector is 192.168.1.2, gateway is .3 and compaq is .4

I'm not sure what to try next.

At present, gateway only sees itself.  The following are from vector (similar results on compaq) (Adding these nodes to /etc/networks made no difference:
Code:
bruce:$ smbclient -L gateway -U bruce
Password:

        Sharename       Type      Comment
        ---------       ----      -------
cli_rpc_pipe_open: cli_nt_create failed on pipe \srvsvc to machine gateway.  Error was ERRSRV - ERRerror (Non-specific error code.)
        C               Disk     
        IPC$            IPC       Remote Inter Process Communication

        Server               Comment
        ---------            -------
        GATEWAY              Win98

        Workgroup            Master
        ---------            -------
        FOWLPLAY             GATEWAY
vector:/~
bruce:$ smbclient -L compaq -U bruce
Connection to compaq failed (Error NT_STATUS_BAD_NETWORK_NAME)
vector:/~
bruce:$ smbclient -L human -U bruce
Connection to human failed (Error NT_STATUS_BAD_NETWORK_NAME)
vector:/~
bruce:$ smbclient -L vector -U bruce
Error connecting to 192.168.1.2 (Connection refused)
Connection to vector failed (Error NT_STATUS_CONNECTION_REFUSED)
vector:/~
bruce:$ smbclient -L vector.linux.net -U bruce
Error connecting to 192.168.1.2 (Connection refused)
Connection to vector.linux.net failed (Error NT_STATUS_CONNECTION_REFUSED)
vector:/~
bruce:$ smbclient -L compaq.linux.net -U bruce
Connection to compaq.linux.net failed (Error NT_STATUS_BAD_NETWORK_NAME)
vector:/~
bruce:$ ping -c 1 192.168.1.4
PING 192.168.1.4 (192.168.1.4) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.1.4: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.241 ms

--- 192.168.1.4 ping statistics ---
1 packets transmitted, 1 received, 0% packet loss, time 0ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.241/0.241/0.241/0.000 ms
vector:/~
bruce:$ smbclient -L 192.168.1.4 -U bruce
Error connecting to 192.168.1.4 (Connection refused)
Connection to 192.168.1.4 failed (Error NT_STATUS_CONNECTION_REFUSED)
bruce:$ smbstatus

Samba version 3.0.26a
PID     Username      Group         Machine                       
-------------------------------------------------------------------

Service      pid     machine       Connected at
-------------------------------------------------------

No locked files

vector:/~
bruce:$ findsmb

                                *=DMB
                                +=LMB
IP ADDR         NETBIOS NAME     WORKGROUP/OS/VERSION
---------------------------------------------------------------------
192.168.1.3     GATEWAY       +[        FOWLPLAY      ]
Logged

Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2009, 12:40:32 pm »

A couple of things you can try.
1) Upgrade your samba server(s).
There is a new samba package for vl60, not sure if there is an equivalent for 5.9... but it may be worth a shot. I've had problems with the 3.0.2x series.
2) I'm sure you already checked this... but make sure you have setup your user credentials on the samba servers.
Logged

bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1844


« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2009, 01:37:05 pm »

Did you add the users through smbadd and smbpasswd?

If the accounts are not setup then there is nothing to authenticate to.

Bigpaws
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2009, 02:32:55 pm »

Quote
bruce:$ smbclient -L gateway -U bruce
Password:

        Sharename       Type      Comment
        ---------       ----      -------
cli_rpc_pipe_open: cli_nt_create failed on pipe \srvsvc to machine gateway.  Error was ERRSRV - ERRerror (Non-specific error code.)
        C               Disk     
        IPC$            IPC       Remote Inter Process Communication

        Server               Comment
        ---------            -------
        GATEWAY              Win98

        Workgroup            Master
        ---------            -------
        FOWLPLAY             GATEWAY
vector:/~
This indicates that 'vector' can see and list the shares of 'gateway'.  This should be correct and what's expected.  Win98 has netbios enabled by default (I think).

Quote
bruce:$ smbclient -L compaq -U bruce
Connection to compaq failed (Error NT_STATUS_BAD_NETWORK_NAME)
vector:/~
bruce:$ smbclient -L compaq.linux.net -U bruce
Connection to compaq.linux.net failed (Error NT_STATUS_BAD_NETWORK_NAME)
vector:/~
This indicates that 'vector' cannot communicate with 'compaq' via a name descriptor.  Perhaps you do not have netbios options enabled on 'vector'?

Quote
bruce:$ ping -c 1 192.168.1.4
PING 192.168.1.4 (192.168.1.4) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.1.4: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.241 ms

--- 192.168.1.4 ping statistics ---
1 packets transmitted, 1 received, 0% packet loss, time 0ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.241/0.241/0.241/0.000 ms
vector:/~
bruce:$ smbclient -L 192.168.1.4 -U bruce
Error connecting to 192.168.1.4 (Connection refused)
Connection to 192.168.1.4 failed (Error NT_STATUS_CONNECTION_REFUSED)
This indicates that there is connectivity to 'compaq' from 'vector' based on the ping output, however the samba connection is refused by 'compaq'.  As bigpaws said, perhaps you just need to set up the samba users on the various machines.

My *guess* is that netbios options are not enabled on the vectorlinux machine via smb.conf, AND that you have not properly set up the samba users as bigpaws suggested.  This is only a guess.  Hope it helps.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2009, 02:36:17 pm by newtor » Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2009, 05:49:18 pm »

Can you just try smbclient -L compaq, without the -U bruce?

btw, do you enable Guest OK and browseable option in your share parameter?
« Last Edit: January 07, 2009, 05:52:38 pm by hata_ph » Logged
StrayBit
Vectorite
***
Posts: 373



« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2009, 10:15:06 am »

I have added all users with smbpasswd on vector and bruce only on compaq (I thought it would pick these up from passwd - guess not!)

Also, added browseable = yes in the public shares on vector but testparm does NOT list it.

Also, I have to issue the commands
Code:
smbd start
nmbd start
winbindd start
each time I start. Why can't that start automatically?

On vector, SWAT only shows the last 2 running, compaq shows all 3 and this is the first time I have ever seen all 3 running!  Also, I have to start SWAT first as seamonky only allows starting once.

gateway now lists compaq and vector.  I can browse compaq but reports
Quote
\\Vector is not accessible.
The computer or sharename could not be found.  Make sure you typed it correctly, and try again.
Quote
vector://home/bruce
root:# smbclient -L compaq
Password:
Domain=[COMPAQ] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.0.26a]

        Sharename       Type      Comment
        ---------       ----      -------
        public          Disk      Public Stuff
        tmp             Disk      Temporary file space
        IPC$            IPC       IPC Service (Compaq Samba Server)
        bruce           Disk      Home Directories
Domain=[COMPAQ] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.0.26a]

        Server               Comment
        ---------            -------

        Workgroup            Master
        ---------            -------
        FOWLPLAY             GATEWAY
vector://home/bruce
root:# smbclient -L vector
Error connecting to 192.168.1.2 (Connection refused)
Connection to vector failed (Error NT_STATUS_CONNECTION_REFUSED)

From testparm:
Quote
root:# testparm
Load smb config files from /etc/samba/smb.conf
Processing section "[homes]"
Processing section "[printers]"
Processing section "[tmp]"
Processing section "[public]"
Processing section "[Win]"
Loaded services file OK.
Server role: ROLE_STANDALONE
Press enter to see a dump of your service definitions

[global]
        workgroup = FOWLPLAY
        server string = Human Samba Server
        security = SHARE
        null passwords = Yes
        guest account = pcguest
        log file = /var/log/samba.%m
        max log size = 50
        dns proxy = No
        hosts allow = 192.168.1., 192.168.0., 127.

[homes]
        comment = Home Directories
        read only = No
        browseable = No

[printers]
        comment = All Printers
        path = /var/spool/samba
        printable = Yes
        browseable = No

[tmp]
        comment = Temporary file space
        path = /home/tmp
        read only = No
        guest ok = Yes

[public]
        comment = Public Stuff
        path = /home/samba
        read only = No
        guest ok = Yes

[Win]
        comment = Old Win98
        path = /mnt/win
        read only = No
        guest ok = Yes
vector://home/bruce

Added wins server = '192.168.1.3' (gateway). compaq was still pointing to vector so I changed it as well then rebooted both machines. No change!

Quote
This indicates that 'vector' cannot communicate with 'compaq' via a name descriptor.  Perhaps you do not have netbios options enabled on 'vector'?
'man netbios' is not an option.  How to enable?
Logged

Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4018



« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2009, 10:44:50 am »

I never use SWAT, so not familiar with it. I find it easier to edit smb.conf manually.

Try adding these options to your "public" share entry:
Code:
public = yes
browseable = yes
writable = yes

If it still doesn't show up in your samba browser, try connecting manually: As root, enter command
mount -t cifs //192.168.1.X/public /path/to/mount -o username=guest
Use empty password if it asks. If connecting to win98 machine, you will need to substitute the older "smbfs" for "cifs".
Logged
StrayBit
Vectorite
***
Posts: 373



« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2009, 11:57:43 am »

I use SWAT to see if the daemons are running.

Verified/added the options to all three share entries and restarted vector, restarted the daemons (smbd still not running!).  From compaq
Code:
mount -t cifs //192.168.1.2/public .mnt/lan/Human/public -o username=guest
Mount err 111 = connection refused
I also tried pcguest and bruce as well as ...2/home/public -same.

MOE had suggested trying to upgrade Samba.  Unfortunately, there is none listed in gslapt either for the vector site or the osu site.
Logged

Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4018



« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2009, 12:19:12 pm »

I wouldn't worry about upgrading samba right now. The error message "connection refused" could indicate that a firewall is blocking you out. Could that be so?
Logged
StrayBit
Vectorite
***
Posts: 373



« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2009, 12:59:36 pm »

VASM says that there is no firewall script.
Logged

Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2009, 01:08:11 pm »

as root in a terminal
Code:
chmod +x /etc/rc.d/rc.firewall
/etc/rc.d/rc.firewall stop
Then try again
Logged

bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1844


« Reply #11 on: January 08, 2009, 03:56:11 pm »

In  terminal (console) as root type:

iptables -L

That will list any firewall rules that maybe running

Bigpaws
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #12 on: January 08, 2009, 05:43:32 pm »

Ok. It seem like u can view the share folder for your compaq server from your vector server. How about the other way around?
Btw, i notice you set host allow on your vector samba. How about try to remove it?

Quote
hosts allow = 192.168.1., 192.168.0., 127.

Instead of using the hostname, how about try to use the IP. Until we settle the samba issue.
Logged
StrayBit
Vectorite
***
Posts: 373



« Reply #13 on: January 08, 2009, 09:35:16 pm »

Quote
root:# chmod +x /etc/rc.d/rc.firewall
vector://home/bruce
root:# /etc/rc.d/rc.firewall stop
Loading kernel modules ...
net.ipv4.tcp_syncookies = 1
net.ipv4.conf.all.rp_filter = 1
net.ipv4.icmp_echo_ignore_broadcasts = 1
net.ipv4.conf.all.accept_source_route = 0
net.ipv4.conf.all.secure_redirects = 1
net.ipv4.conf.all.log_martians = 1
Flushing Tables ...
Firewall completely flushed!  Now running with no firewall.
vector://home/bruce
root:# winbindd stop
vector://home/bruce
root:# nmbd stop
vector://home/bruce
root:# smbd stop
vector://home/bruce
root:# smbd start
vector://home/bruce
root:# nmbd start
vector://home/bruce
root:# winbindd start
vector://home/bruce
root:# iptables -L
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination         

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination         

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination         
No change from gateway or compaq
Logged

Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!