VectorLinux
November 23, 2014, 02:08:01 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Slapt-getrc for 5.9  (Read 1787 times)
gooberbutt
Member
*
Posts: 5


« on: November 12, 2008, 07:35:36 pm »

I have read all of the available post for slapt-get. I can use the gui. I can use the command-line.
However, I still remain confused.

Neither the gui nor the command-line work for 5.9.

When I use either, nothing happens. When I say nothing happens, that is just what I mean, nothing.
Slapt-get just sits there giving me the raspberry. :-)

I have tried some of the tip already post. No-joy.

Can somebody post just a do this, 1, 2 3 to get my system updated?

Thanks in advance.

Pat

Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1857


« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2008, 12:02:56 am »

Welcome to Vector Linux!

From the list of your experience I would guess that you
are familiar with man pages ( my guesses have been known to be wrong
once in awhile).

man slapt-get will give all the command line switches.

Slapt-get needs to run as root. So in a console (terminal)
su to root and the try:

slap-get --update

There is some fairly decent docs on the designers site:

http://software.jaos.org/

Hope that gets you started.

Bigpaws
Logged
gooberbutt
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2008, 02:53:43 pm »

yes, I did rtfm. :-)

this is what I get:

Retrieving package data [ftp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.9/packages/]...Failed to download: Couldn't resolve host name
Retrieving package data [ftp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinu

Thanks for the help. Will keep trying.

Pat
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2008, 02:58:26 pm »

...Failed to download: Couldn't resolve host name...

Are you having an issue with dns or perhaps general network connectivity?  Can you ping www.google.com?  I see the 'couldn't resolve host name' and it makes me think dns or connectivity - or perhaps firewall?
Logged
gooberbutt
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2008, 07:20:58 pm »

me too. however, I can ftp anywhere and download. Go to the vector repository and download, surf, etc.

We'll get it.

Thanks.

Pat

Logged
gooberbutt
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2009, 05:05:22 pm »

Bet ya'all thought I had dried up and blown away. No, your not that lucky. :-)

Been trying 6.0, and its great. Slapt-get works great too.

Hope everyone had a great holiday and we'll bee around.

Pat Voce
Abilene, TX
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!