VectorLinux
November 22, 2014, 10:58:23 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 8
  Print  
Author Topic: VectorLinux 6.0 RC-3 feedback and bug reports  (Read 41019 times)
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #45 on: January 17, 2009, 09:30:27 am »

The /etc/slapt-get/slapt-getrc file in RC3 isn't quite right.

The http:// entry for testing isn't disabled -- it's completely missing.  Ditto unstable.
The entry for patches has :OFFICIAL added to the end.  Does that even work?

Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #46 on: January 17, 2009, 09:32:54 am »

Turns out my compiz-fusion big white spinning cube problem was caused by a bad Nvidia driver set-up.
I downloaded NVidia version 180.22 and installed.

Compiz is running fine now, no more big white box.

P.S. I used MOE-inx newly packaged drivers, work great, nice.
do you know what version of driver was installed by vxconf?
what is the output of "lspci|grep -i vga"
Logged
sparkyhall
Vectorite
***
Posts: 118


« Reply #47 on: January 17, 2009, 02:25:14 pm »

Install on IBM TP600 laptop:

  1.Gui installer fails with kernal panic.
  2.Text installer works fine.
  3.Wicd gui interface not working.
  4.Ralink firmware is located in /lib/firmware/ralink but needs to be moved to /lib/firmware before wifi interface will work.
  5.Root terminal entry does nothing.
  6.Terminal is missing minimise, iconify and close buttons on this box. Other apps seem OK though.

Gui Install on desktop (athlon 3200+)

  1.Gui installer works as expected.
  2.Fails to find Nvidia package on install so manual installation required. This is for version 180.22 of Nvidia driver.
  3.Wicd works fine on this box.
  4.Unable to drop to init 2 from terminal when root.
  5.Root terminal does nothing.

Text Install on desktop (athlon 3200+)

  1.Fails to find Nvidia package so manual install required. This is for version 180.22 of Nvidia driver.
  2.Wicd gui install not working.
  3.Unable to drop to init 2 from terminal when root.
  4.Root terminal not working.

Otherwise RC3 seems very good, including the fonts.

Well done.

Chris
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #48 on: January 17, 2009, 05:15:46 pm »

Turns out my compiz-fusion big white spinning cube problem was caused by a bad Nvidia driver set-up.
I downloaded NVidia version 180.22 and installed.

Compiz is running fine now, no more big white box.

P.S. I used MOE-inx newly packaged drivers, work great, nice.
do you know what version of driver was installed by vxconf?
what is the output of "lspci|grep -i vga"

Output of lcpci | grep -i vga
root:# lspci | grep -i vga
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G72M [Quadro NVS 110M/GeForce Go 7300] (rev a1)
I will reinstall after work and get the version # for you.  I do remember that an error flashed at the bottom of the
screen. Something about line 153, bad something, during the nvidia install fase.


When in stalling the nvidia drivers after a gui install there is an error message which flashes...
/sbin/NVidia line 151 /usr/src/vl-pkgs/NVIDIA-180.22/nvidia-installer: No such file or directory.
I then tried the text install and the same error flashes briefly before moving to the next page.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2009, 12:03:55 am by stretchedthin » Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #49 on: January 17, 2009, 06:11:01 pm »

BTW, slapt-notifier is working perfectly for me in rc3 running Xfce.  I haven't played with LXDE yet...

Caitlyn, just curious. Did you do a text install or a gui install.  I have a working notifier on my text installed machine but not on the gui installed ones.
Ken
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #50 on: January 17, 2009, 06:23:12 pm »

Hi, Ken,

It was a text-based install.  The GUI installer doesn't work on my Toshiba.  I'm hoping it will work on the Sylvania g Netbook which should be back on Monday.

-Cait
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #51 on: January 17, 2009, 09:38:19 pm »

Could we please have HPLIP 2.8.12 in VL6 Final? I just got a new LaserJet p2055dn and I need the latest HPLIP for its specific driver.

I do have the printer working by installing a PCL6 driver for a fairly similar model and the PS driver for a similar model, but I'm not totally happy with the results. I don't know if the specific HPLIP driver will be better. This is a true 1200 dpi printer, but with the PCL6 driver, printing at 1200 dpi doubles the page size and with the PostScipt driver the grayscale on the CUPS test page is too dark at 1200 dpi.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
sparkyhall
Vectorite
***
Posts: 118


« Reply #52 on: January 18, 2009, 04:48:26 am »

BTW, slapt-notifier is working perfectly for me in rc3 running Xfce.  I haven't played with LXDE yet...

Caitlyn, just curious. Did you do a text install or a gui install.  I have a working notifier on my text installed machine but not on the gui installed ones.
Ken

Stretchedthin I think I'm seeing similar results to you. I did a text install and got update notification for three packages almost straight away. I've since re-installed using the gui installer on the same box and I get nada.

The other thing of note is that if I open gslapt, update then search for pysol only the original PySolFC appears in the list and not the updated version. I have packages, extra, patches and gsb-2.22 sources enabled in both cases so it's as if gslapt is not finding the updates rather than the notifier not working.

Chris
Logged
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #53 on: January 18, 2009, 09:24:17 am »

BTW, slapt-notifier is working perfectly for me in rc3 running Xfce.  I haven't played with LXDE yet...

Caitlyn, just curious. Did you do a text install or a gui install.  I have a working notifier on my text installed machine but not on the gui installed ones.
Ken

Stretchedthin I think I'm seeing similar results to you. I did a text install and got update notification for three packages almost straight away. I've since re-installed using the gui installer on the same box and I get nada.

There is a quick way of checking whether you will get updates:

Code:
red:$ ps ax | grep slap
 3040 ?        S      0:00 /bin/bash /usr/sbin/slapt-update-notifier-d
 3474 ?        Ss     0:00 slapt-update-notifier
 3604 pts/0    R+     0:00 grep slap

If you don't have the slapt-update-notifier-d entry, you will not see any updates. Not sure why this is so intermittent. I'm seeing updates on this machine (a test box) which was installed with the GUI installer, but I'm not on the laptop, which was also a GUI install. But the first time I installed RC3 to the laptop (also GUI), I was getting updates.  Huh

Quote
The other thing of note is that if I open gslapt, update then search for pysol only the original PySolFC appears in the list and not the updated version. I have packages, extra, patches and gsb-2.22 sources enabled in both cases so it's as if gslapt is not finding the updates rather than the notifier not working.

Not sure about that one.... I've seen problems in the past with the repos not being fully in sync, so some things don't appear to be there...

paul.
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #54 on: January 18, 2009, 10:16:19 am »

Chris:  The updated PySOL was pulled from the repo last night.  It turned out upgrading tcl/tk to version 8.5 broke a bunch of packages and the developers decided to regress to 8.4, which is what's in rc3 and prior.  8.5 will have to wait for the next VL release.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #55 on: January 18, 2009, 10:32:04 am »

1) "idle" is broken, probably due to breakage with Tcl/Tk as discussed above. Error is: libtk8.4.so: cannot open
2) vcpufreq still throws an error for me "Out of Bounds"
3) there is no Ripper application in Multimedia.
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
never_stop_learning
Vectorite
***
Posts: 263


WWW
« Reply #56 on: January 18, 2009, 03:00:55 pm »

We had a Reno Cigar Lions Computers for Kids training session Saturday using RC3 on a variety of 'middle-aged' machines (Gateway P4, HP P3 and P4) and experienced significanly more issues on a wider variety of machines setting up screen resolution. Tried auto-probe, auto-probe (no questions), VESA and FB without success. I just re-installed the machines that failed using the new RC3 discs using the 6.0B2 disc Leo from SQI gave me. So far every one of them installed using the VESA option and are running great.
Logged

Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #57 on: January 18, 2009, 03:06:56 pm »

never-stop-learning:  Unfortunately without specifics about what video cards/chipsets were problematic and what specific failures you saw that probably isn't a useful report.  Beta 2 didn't work correctly on my Toshiba laptop while rc2 and rc3 do.  So... things got better for some machines but not others.

Can you provide some specifics?  Without them VL6 final will definitely look more like rc3 than beta 2.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #58 on: January 18, 2009, 03:17:00 pm »

Tungsten Graphics just released new OpenChrome drivers.  The Via CX700M video chipset in my Sylvania g Netbook is included Smiley  I'm wondering if these will fix the video weirdness issues I've seen on the Sylvania and if, just maybe, it's not too late to get them into VL 6.

See: http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=NzAwMQ
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
never_stop_learning
Vectorite
***
Posts: 263


WWW
« Reply #59 on: January 18, 2009, 07:48:23 pm »

caitlyn - I hesitated reporting our difficulties for just that reason. I will try to gather more info as time allows. Just thought it was worth reporting because the increase in the number of machines we had issues with was significant.....

Edit: Here is one of the offenders - Gateway with an Intel 82865G Integrated Graphics Controller.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2009, 10:34:19 pm by never_stop_learning » Logged

Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 8
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!