VectorLinux
October 23, 2014, 01:46:57 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8]
  Print  
Author Topic: VectorLinux 6.0 RC-3 feedback and bug reports  (Read 40378 times)
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #105 on: January 25, 2009, 12:13:31 pm »

Using XFce on VL6 RC3.

For some reason I have slight transparency on the dropdown menu lists in some applications (noticed so far in Opera, Tuxcards, and Scribus). I can't figure out where this is coming from. In XFce's Settings Manager, Window Manager Tweaks, I have no checkmark by Compositor tab, Enable Display Compositing. There is no transparency setting in qtconfig. I don't know where else to look for settings.

I've had some lockups with Opera. I terminate the program with ps -e and the kill or kill -9 command. I haven't found a predictable pattern yet.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Windozer
Vectorite
***
Posts: 386


Have Vector Linux, Will Travel.


« Reply #106 on: January 25, 2009, 01:00:44 pm »

'nother oddity on LXDE w/ PCMan File Manager 0.5:

1. grab a tar or tar.bz2 file
2. right click
3. select extract to
4. scroll down the file icon window ... files and folders are ok, but further down do you see icons with no info, just the icons?
It doesn't seem to matter what _V_iew you started with in the parent window. Sometimes, in an empty folder, there are just two icons (maybe " . " and " .. " ?? But in others, I've seen as many as ten or fifteen "raw" icons.

looks like a list/loop count error... maybe I should report this over to the PCMan folks, what do you all think?

- H
Logged

483,617th Registered Linux Snoozer
Windozer
Vectorite
***
Posts: 386


Have Vector Linux, Will Travel.


« Reply #107 on: January 25, 2009, 01:12:11 pm »

Using XFce on VL6 RC3.
I've had some lockups with Opera. I terminate the program with ps -e and the kill or kill -9 command. I haven't found a predictable pattern yet.
--GrannyGeek

Oh GG, I should have read your entire last post before submitting my last. I've seen this too on my install ... I just assumed I was pushing Opera too hard.

It has happened while watching video's inside opera. If the interior/embedded video window hasn't loaded enough data, or the stream is still coming in, it locks up once in a while.

On yours, does the main Opera window still respond to minimize/restore/maximize, but leaving some parts of the interior of Opera stuck on top of all other windows? 

Interesting, the Kills you mentioned did NOT work - it was as if the signals didn't get in, but the windows still responded to the mouse and keyboard!

My local Opera's cache (.opera/cache4) shows flash video and Shochwave Flash types.

ciao
- Howard in Florida
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Logged

483,617th Registered Linux Snoozer
pevsner
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #108 on: January 25, 2009, 02:22:29 pm »

Quote
For some reason I have slight transparency on the dropdown menu lists in some applications (noticed so far in Opera, Tuxcards, and Scribus).
I have this too.

amd SanD 4000 - nvidia 6200
Logged
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #109 on: January 26, 2009, 08:09:00 am »

Another minor nit. Mounting an HPFS formatted USB drive does not allow users write access, only root.

I suspect a udev rule, but I'm not sure which rules apply to this type of device, or how the file system influences the mount options.

paul.
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2288


« Reply #110 on: January 26, 2009, 09:16:03 am »

Another minor nit. Mounting an HPFS formatted USB drive does not allow users write access, only root.

I suspect a udev rule, but I'm not sure which rules apply to this type of device, or how the file system influences the mount options.

paul.

To check what udev rules the device is triggering you can do as root udevmonitor and then plug the device in.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #111 on: January 26, 2009, 09:43:15 am »

Another minor nit. Mounting an HPFS formatted USB drive does not allow users write access, only root.

I suspect a udev rule, but I'm not sure which rules apply to this type of device, or how the file system influences the mount options.

paul.

To check what udev rules the device is triggering you can do as root udevmonitor and then plug the device in.

Thanks....  Did that. Results as below:

Code:
UEVENT[1232991567.308510] add      /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.7/usb2/2-1 (usb)
UEVENT[1232991567.309854] add      /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.7/usb2/2-1/2-1:1.0 (usb)
UEVENT[1232991567.310408] add      /class/scsi_host/host9 (scsi_host)
UEVENT[1232991567.310894] add      /class/usb_endpoint/usbdev2.7_ep81 (usb_endpoint)
UEVENT[1232991567.311280] add      /class/usb_endpoint/usbdev2.7_ep02 (usb_endpoint)
UEVENT[1232991567.311623] add      /class/usb_device/usbdev2.7 (usb_device)
UEVENT[1232991567.312017] add      /class/usb_endpoint/usbdev2.7_ep00 (usb_endpoint)
UDEV  [1232991567.348169] add      /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.7/usb2/2-1 (usb)
UDEV  [1232991567.398053] add      /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.7/usb2/2-1/2-1:1.0 (usb)
UDEV  [1232991567.398081] add      /class/usb_device/usbdev2.7 (usb_device)
UDEV  [1232991567.398094] add      /class/usb_endpoint/usbdev2.7_ep00 (usb_endpoint)
UDEV  [1232991567.398697] add      /class/scsi_host/host9 (scsi_host)
UDEV  [1232991567.399299] add      /class/usb_endpoint/usbdev2.7_ep81 (usb_endpoint)
UDEV  [1232991567.408561] add      /class/usb_endpoint/usbdev2.7_ep02 (usb_endpoint)
UEVENT[1232991572.328869] add      /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.7/usb2/2-1/2-1:1.0/host9/target9:0:0/9:0:0:0 (scsi)
UEVENT[1232991572.328933] add      /class/scsi_disk/9:0:0:0 (scsi_disk)
UDEV  [1232991572.386523] add      /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.7/usb2/2-1/2-1:1.0/host9/target9:0:0/9:0:0:0 (scsi)
UDEV  [1232991572.386828] add      /class/scsi_disk/9:0:0:0 (scsi_disk)
UEVENT[1232991572.404942] add      /block/sdb (block)
UEVENT[1232991572.405022] add      /block/sdb/sdb1 (block)
UEVENT[1232991572.405072] add      /class/bdi/8:16 (bdi)
UEVENT[1232991572.405121] add      /class/scsi_device/9:0:0:0 (scsi_device)
UEVENT[1232991572.405172] add      /class/scsi_generic/sg1 (scsi_generic)
UDEV  [1232991572.410449] add      /class/scsi_generic/sg1 (scsi_generic)
UDEV  [1232991572.413205] add      /class/scsi_device/9:0:0:0 (scsi_device)
UDEV  [1232991572.413442] add      /class/bdi/8:16 (bdi)
UDEV  [1232991572.425998] add      /block/sdb (block)
UEVENT[1232991572.428928] add      /kernel/uids/99 (uids)
UDEV  [1232991572.437971] add      /kernel/uids/99 (uids)
UDEV  [1232991572.500749] add      /block/sdb/sdb1 (block)
UEVENT[1232991572.501375] remove   /kernel/uids/99 (uids)
UDEV  [1232991572.502695] remove   /kernel/uids/99 (uids)

I guess I'll need to try tracking and see what the rules say, though my understanding of udev rules is pretty  minimal.

paul.
Logged
StrayBit
Vectorite
***
Posts: 373



« Reply #112 on: January 26, 2009, 09:52:45 am »

Quote
t belongs in the user menu.  It should prompt you for a password and then either just work or else give you a password error if you make a mistake keying in the root password.
MY sincerest apologies, Caitlyn.  I've spent too many nights tossing and turning since I lost my cool. Cry

Also, I had not retried GnuCash since then as I was trying to get my accounts and transactions from Excel, then lost connection to Gateway (Win98) to get them to Compaq where I could, at least see them as I set up the new accounts.  Unfortunately, GnuCash only imports QIF and Excel doesn't export to that format.

I started it this morning, just before posting this and it opened from my user account without problem (or asking for password).  Even though I have reinstalled the documentation after installing the newer version, it cannot find its help files.
Logged

Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #113 on: January 26, 2009, 11:50:59 am »

In the efforts to enhance internationalization, I would strongly recommend updating NTFS-3G to the STABLE Version 2009.1.1 (January 22, 2009) before Final release of 6.0 (if there is still time). This version finally fixes the issues with inaccessible filenames having national characters, thanks to the new built-in, transparent UTF-8 conversion support. I have a lot of problems with this when copying files from colleagues who use Spanish Windows systems and I bet may others have suffered from this... Roll Eyes

Besides that, it has some other important bugfixes.

Changelog: http://www.ntfs-3g.org/releases.html
Download link: http://www.ntfs-3g.org/ntfs-3g-2009.1.1.tgz
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #114 on: January 26, 2009, 02:03:07 pm »

Using XFce on VL6 RC3.
I've had some lockups with Opera. I terminate the program with ps -e and the kill or kill -9 command. I haven't found a predictable pattern yet.
--GrannyGeek

Oh GG, I should have read your entire last post before submitting my last. I've seen this too on my install ... I just assumed I was pushing Opera too hard.

It has happened while watching video's inside opera. If the interior/embedded video window hasn't loaded enough data, or the stream is still coming in, it locks up once in a while.

On yours, does the main Opera window still respond to minimize/restore/maximize, but leaving some parts of the interior of Opera stuck on top of all other windows? 

Interesting, the Kills you mentioned did NOT work - it was as if the signals didn't get in, but the windows still responded to the mouse and keyboard!

My local Opera's cache (.opera/cache4) shows flash video and Shochwave Flash types.

ciao
- Howard in Florida
~~~~~~~~~~~~

I haven't noticed a pattern as to when Opera might lock up. The last time it was when I hit a menu and noticed the dropdown was slightly transparent. I wondered if that had anything to do with it, though I can't imagine why. As far as I recall, it locks up tight and minimize, maximize, restore don't work, but I'm not sure I tried those. The Close box in the title bar does not work. That I can say for sure.

Using kill to get rid of a process and close down Opera may take a few tries. Sometimes you have to kill a process that occurs later in the list, such as the opera plugins process, *before* you can kill Opera itself. And often you have to use kill -9 and not just plain kill. And it's often harder or impossible to kill using htop than just a terminal. You also have to be sure you're the user who owns the process, not root. Other than that, I don't know what to suggest. I don't really understand these things, I just use what works for me.
--GrannyGeek
« Last Edit: January 26, 2009, 02:05:06 pm by GrannyGeek » Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Windozer
Vectorite
***
Posts: 386


Have Vector Linux, Will Travel.


« Reply #115 on: January 31, 2009, 07:12:10 am »

VL6 RC3, Xfce
Gslapt oddity:

1. run gslapt
2. do update
3. View -> "All"
4. select some package to install. (doesn't seem to matter, in my case, I did mySQL and nasm, for example.)
5. After the install, you can close gslapt and reboot, it doesn't affect:
6. View -> "Installed" does not show the new package installed --- however, View -> "All" does show it, with the square icon far left filled as expected.  View "Installed" always seems to reflect just the out-of-the-box packages, never the after-the-fact, manual installs --- I did about 20 packages total.

Maybe this is picking a nit, but for a N00B to intermediate like me, it is disconcerting --- makes you wonder if the package was correctly installed.

(I know we're on RC4 now, but I've not had a chance to do the delta/ install it. Still thought I should report this since the RC3 bug report thread is not locked out yet. -- and it didn't seem correct to post this in RC4, as you all might have caught it already...)

cheers
- H
Logged

483,617th Registered Linux Snoozer
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!