Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: VL6 hosted install on VL5.9  (Read 2095 times)

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 392
VL6 hosted install on VL5.9
« on: January 16, 2009, 12:00:14 pm »
I'm attempting to replace VL5.9 with VL6.0-RC3 on a pc without a cd drive.  And I don't want to burn a new cd for such a short lived distro.

hda1 500MB swap
hda2 13GB VL5.9
hdc1 1000MB formatted ext3 containing vinstall-iso & VL6.0-RC3.iso
hdc2 3000MB new /home

When I execute vinstall-iso, it won't allow installation to hda2 as it is already mounted.

Any suggestions?
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

kidd

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 682
Re: VL6 hosted install on VL5.9
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2009, 12:04:14 pm »
vinstall-iso can only use the unmonuted partitions.  As you do not have any.  If you want to 'overwrite' old hda2, you can use a livecd, and without mounting hda2, you mount hdc1 and install. this way you'll be able to use hda2 as / and hdc2 as /home  (and hda1 for swap)

HTH

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 392
Re: VL6 hosted install on VL5.9
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2009, 01:34:20 pm »
Before I did the above, I had dd /home/VL6.0-RC3.iso /dev/hdc1.  I was then able to mount it and read README.  I had attempted to get lilo to offer it as an option
Quote
# Partition 3: CD image
image = /boot/vmlinuz
    other = /dev/hdc1
    label = CD-image
    append = " "
    read-only

root:# lilo
Warning: LBA32 addressing assumed
Added linux *
Added linux-tui
Added linux-gui
Added vmlinuz
Fatal: First sector of /dev/hdc1 doesn't have a valid boot signature
I also tried to use Smart Boot Manager to boot it but have yet to find a floppy with no bad sectors.

So I tried the hosted install above
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: VL6 hosted install on VL5.9
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2009, 01:55:33 pm »
another option is to copy the init.gz and kernel to one of your partitions and boot it from lilo
Code: [Select]
image = /boot/sata
  initrd = /boot/init.gz
  root=/dev/ram
  append = "vga=791 splash=silent load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 ramdisk_size=75000 rw "
  label = installer

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 392
Re: VL6 hosted install on VL5.9
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2009, 12:51:23 pm »
Thanks, Uel.

I mounted hdc1 on /mnt/hd and the iso (on /mnt/loop) then copied init.qz from loop and sata from loop/kernal.  copied the code into lilo.conf. 
Quote
root:# lilo
Warning: LBA32 addressing assumed
Added linux *
Added linux-tui
Added linux-gui
Fatal: Illegal 'root=' specification: /dev/ram
After several trials, I have
Code: [Select]
# Partition 4: iso installer
image = /dev/hdc1/sata
  initrd = /dev/hdc1/init.gz
  root=/dev/hdc1
#  append = "vga=791 splash=silent"
#  append = "vga=791 splash=silent load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 ramdisk_size=75000 rw "
  label = installer
Quote
root:# lilo
Warning: LBA32 addressing assumed
Added linux *
Added linux-tui
Added linux-gui
Fatal: open /dev/hdc1/sata: Not a directory
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: VL6 hosted install on VL5.9
« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2009, 01:36:42 pm »
you may have to use root=/dev/ram0
you can not use /dev/hdc1/sata you have to use a mountpoint. If I were you I would copy them to /boot

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 392
Re: VL6 hosted install on VL5.9
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2009, 03:05:34 pm »
Pardon my extreme denseness.  Is that /boot on the current installation that will be hosed as I install VL6?  At least, that's the only place I know of.
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: VL6 hosted install on VL5.9
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2009, 03:29:49 pm »
yes move it to the soon to be "hosed" /boot once this is loaded into ram we dont care if it gets overwrote

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 392
Re: VL6 hosted install on VL5.9
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2009, 03:35:55 pm »
Thanks.  I'll try it now.
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 392
Re: VL6 hosted install on VL5.9
« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2009, 04:10:39 pm »
Done.  Lilo still didn't like the append line with vga so left it commented out.  Kernel panic after several errors re RAMDISK.  Restored the option line removing the offending vga=

I'm now on the first screen of the installer.  Thank you very much Uel
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: VL6 hosted install on VL5.9
« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2009, 04:14:37 pm »
great news.

Glad to be of help.