VectorLinux
July 28, 2014, 04:12:35 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Vector 6.0 Light B2 feedback and bug reports.  (Read 18924 times)
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4018



« on: January 19, 2009, 10:16:46 am »

Please post your comments and observations regarding the Light Beta 2 release.

Thank you for helping with the testing.
Logged
gamfa
Vectorite
***
Posts: 245



« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2009, 05:11:29 pm »

B2 is working great here on 3 laptops.
Logged

"Don't tell my cattle I have leather seats in my truck"

"I never let schooling stand in the way of my education"...Mark Twain
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1308


« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2009, 05:20:34 pm »

The whole of yesterday I could not open the forum. What was wrong?

Made a hosted iso installation. Went smooth, except there was no Internet
connection after 1st and 2nd boot, only after the 3rd.

As usual in JWM desktop hangs when tryong to open mplayer and in xterm
Alt-some-key does not give special characters. It does so in IceWM.

The splash screen does not show what is being opened with the [OK], only
the progress bar.

Opera is still huge. The corners cannot be gripped.

Cannot configure my USB port printer since Device: 'Unknown' missing.
Have not tried booting with printer switched on. That most likely will work as in
Standard R3. In my VL-6-Light box which is based on the original A.14-Light the
Device; 'Unknown' showed and still shows with printer switched-off.

Upgraded my box to the list you provided for the B2. All rock-solid. Open Office,
TK8.5, Gnome 2.24.1 and a few other programs installed. Not anymore light and
really a great box. I just love it.
Used  5887984K for / excluding /usr/local and /home which are on separate
partitions.

Forgot to mention on installation my soundcard was not found. Had to do alsaconf
after reboot and all is working.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2009, 10:36:57 pm by Pita » Logged
budulay
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 568


NewComer


« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2009, 07:26:48 pm »

Hi
When I installed beta2 on my Dell Dimension XPS(The general specs are in my signature. The thing that is not there - it has Diamond Fire GL 1000 Pro video card that on VL5.9-STD worked with a glint driver) and rebooted the first time(now the configuring part of the installation starts), vxconf said that there has been and error while configuring X and asked if I want to try again. After I did, it gave me the same thing(I was using the auto probe option with few questions). Then I switched to vesa. After configuration was finished I rebooted and received no screens found error. I should mention that I have VL5.9-STD working on the same computer. Everything concerning X was working out of the box there.
I coppied xorg.conf file from working VL5.9 and it gave me Caught signal 11 error.

I tried running vxconf from CLI, but it did not created useful xorg.conf.
I also run xorgconfig and X-config, but they also got me nowhere.
Then I tried xorg.conf with fbdev driver - got same result.
Basically whatewer I did I got either of two errors I mentioned.

I had the same problem with Beta1 and Dynamite0.7

Appendix:
Here is the card section of xorg.conf on my working VL5.9:
Code:
Identifier  "Card0"
Driver      "glint"
VendorName  "Texas Instruments"
BoardName   "TVP4020 [Permedia 2]"
BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
The signal 11 error:
Code:
(II) Setting vga for screen 0.
(**) GLINT(0): Depth 16, (--) framebuffer bpp 16
(==) GLINT(0): RGB weight 565
(==) GLINT(0): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) GLINT(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(==) GLINT(0): Using HW cursor
(--) GLINT(0): Not using Linux framebuffer device
(--) GLINT(0): Chipset: "ti_pm2"
(--) GLINT(0): Linear framebuffer at 0xFE000000

Backtrace:
0: X(xf86SigHandler+0x7e) [0x80bf1ee]
1: [0xb7f15400]
2: X(InitOutput+0x9b7) [0x80a2317]
3: X(main+0x296) [0x806dbb6]
4: /lib/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xe0) [0xb7cf3390]
5: X(FontFileCompleteXLFD+0x20d) [0x806d121]

Fatal server error:
Caught signal 11.  Server aborting
No screen found error:
Code:
(II) VESA(0): Total Memory: 8 64KB banks (512kB)
(EE) VESA(0): No matching modes
(II) UnloadModule: "vesa"
(II) UnloadModule: "int10"
(II) Unloading /usr/lib/xorg/modules//libint10.so
(II) UnloadModule: "vbe"
(II) Unloading /usr/lib/xorg/modules//libvbe.so
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found
My VL5.9 xprg.conf file is here
Fbdev and Vesa xorg.confs are here and here respectively(the standard ones)
And two Xorg logs are here and here.
I am sorry, it is extremely annoying to download anything from this file sharing website, but so far I did not found the better one.

PS. Those two logs may be little out of place since I ran this thing quite a few times and then just took the two logs it had, so if needed I will repeat everything, saving the log each time.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2009, 04:35:46 pm by budulay » Logged

VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2009, 08:44:23 pm »

budulay,
There is a newer driver that reportedly fixes the signal 11 error.
xf86-video-glint-1.2.2-i586-1vl60.tlz
the package is in the repo, if you could get it with slapt-get/gslapt and let us know if it works, We would appreciate it.

Thanks,
Uelsk8s
Logged
gamfa
Vectorite
***
Posts: 245



« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2009, 03:56:11 am »

Quote
The whole of yesterday I could not open the forum. What was wrong?

I had problems internet wide yesterday. the worst was in the afternoon and evening (EST USA). Could not even get name resolution at times.
Logged

"Don't tell my cattle I have leather seats in my truck"

"I never let schooling stand in the way of my education"...Mark Twain
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 647



« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2009, 04:46:07 am »

OK here is my feedback. 

On my main machine instalation went fine, no problems - the usual message that it couldn't detect the onboard network, but seems to be there, though after installing the printer (which was flawless - detecting that it was connected via a usb cable) it showed that opera couldn't connect for first run instructions.  So I ran the Wicd network manager and the wired connection was showing as up.  Ran Opera again and it connected.  Next stop was to pop in a cd and launch the cd player (XMMS) - this ran but no sound.  Next stop to run alsamixer to get the sound levels working.  No problem there but it might be worth adding a paragraph on that in the welcome to Vector Linux 6.0 light document (an excellent innovation) - including on how you navigate through alsamixer.

By the way I love the IceWM implementation - is it possible to package it so that it can be installed as a meta package that will include all that is in VL light 6.0, including sound, the menu updater, log out controls and an automatic entry in GDM?  A meta package maybe including the PCman filemanager and with it being set up to control the desktop?

Right on to testing...

The main problems I encountered were with Gslapt, after downloading it would frequently freeze on the installing packages screen when the packages had been loaded. 
And still problems with packages and dependencies...

Here are the errors I have encountered so far

koffice: Depends: imagemagick >= 6.3.7_10-i486-1

abiword: Depends:   GConf >= 2.22.0-i586-2gsb

abiword: Depends:   GConf >= 2.22.0-i586-2gsb

inkscape: Depends:   GConf >= 2.22.0-i586-2gsb

Kompozer doesn't poduce an icon in the menu after updating. 

Installing some ignoring dependencies and and then running them from a terminal - which does not launch them - I get the following error messages:

yn:$ abiword
abiword: error while loading shared libraries: libgnomeprintui-2-2.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

lyn:$ inkscape
inkscape: error while loading shared libraries: libsigc-2.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Kompozer launches ok but with the following message:
yn:$ kompozer
Extension System Warning: Failed to set up default extensions files probably bec
ause you do not have write privileges to this location. While you can run Firefo
x like this, it is recommended that you run it at least once with privileges tha
t allow it to generate these initial files to improve start performance. Running
 from a disk image on MacOS X is not recommended.

That's all for the moment - will report back with more later.


Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4018



« Reply #7 on: January 22, 2009, 07:01:59 am »

@Lyn: Did you try to enable the "gsb" portion of repo then install your packages? I disabled it because some packages (like Firefox) have what seems like unnecessary deps that pull in much of GNOME.

Glsapt: I have also experienced it locking up. Everybody please try selecting multiple packages for installation and see what happens. Maybe we can find some pattern to it.

Some packages install launchers in non-standard locations and modify the user path. In that case, the icons won't show up on menu until after reboot. I will include a note about that in the welcome doc. [Note to self, also address alsaconf/alsamixer in welcome.]

@pita: Some of the problems you encounter seem to be unique to your setup. Not sure it will all be ironed out in final version, but you have created your own custom version which suits your needs. Nice work, you should stick with it.

I appreciate y'all donating your time and effort to the cause!  Grin
Logged
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 647



« Reply #8 on: January 22, 2009, 08:04:46 am »

All I did was add testing and patches to the repository - installed everything on the iso.

Noticed that when I logged back on to this the network had to be started, and this required me to launch Wicd - which required a root password.  With Standard RC 3 this was autostarted and autodetected my wired connection.  In terms of usability maybe this could be replicated here?
Logged
gamfa
Vectorite
***
Posts: 245



« Reply #9 on: January 22, 2009, 11:06:35 am »

I load WICD from rc.local on bootup. Doing this allows me to do everything I need to do as a user.
Logged

"Don't tell my cattle I have leather seats in my truck"

"I never let schooling stand in the way of my education"...Mark Twain
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4018



« Reply #10 on: January 22, 2009, 12:14:08 pm »

The wicd daemon is enabled by default on Standard. It can be set the same way in Light, using vasm. My thinking is that in "Light", it should default to "off". Maybe another thing to mention in the welcome document (which is still in an early iteration).

My experience has been that the old network tools still work fine. In other words, on my machines, fixed ethernet connections come up and connect on boot. I only use wicd for connecting wireless on my laptop.
Logged
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 647



« Reply #11 on: January 22, 2009, 02:45:06 pm »

The wicd daemon is enabled by default on Standard. It can be set the same way in Light, using vasm. My thinking is that in "Light", it should default to "off". Maybe another thing to mention in the welcome document (which is still in an early iteration).
Fair enough - and that welcome document is great, perfect thing to have on start up.
Quote
My experience has been that the old network tools still work fine. In other words, on my machines, fixed ethernet connections come up and connect on boot. I only use wicd for connecting wireless on my laptop.
 

Interesting it does on standard RC3 but not in Light B2 - I can understand the desire to keep it as light as possible and running multiple daemons is a problem on the target machines for light.  Personally my attachment to IceWM would probably tempt me to run light with loads of downloads rather than standard.  Back in the days of 5.1 we had a really attractive IceWM set up, and it looks as if this version will surpass it.
Logged
oski
Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #12 on: January 22, 2009, 02:50:33 pm »

Hi,

Gslapt: tried to install gnumeric and abiword and in both cases got locked, but not the whole system. Can even launch a new instance of Gslapt, that also gets locked.
Other than that working nicely with icewm

Cheers!!!
Logged
oski
Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #13 on: January 22, 2009, 03:18:07 pm »

Hi,

Forgot to mention I am using an ibm 240x with 192Mb of memory.
Logged
budulay
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 568


NewComer


« Reply #14 on: January 22, 2009, 04:34:02 pm »

budulay,
There is a newer driver that reportedly fixes the signal 11 error.
xf86-video-glint-1.2.2-i586-1vl60.tlz
the package is in the repo, if you could get it with slapt-get/gslapt and let us know if it works, We would appreciate it.

Thanks,
Uelsk8s
Thank you for your reply.
I replaced my xf86-video-glint-1.2.0 with xf86-video-glint-1.2.2, and ran vxconf, but it still could not properly confugure X.
I saved xorg.conf that it created and ran startx, but again got signal 11 error.
VL5.9-STD that I have on the same computer uses xf86-video-glint-1.1.1, so I will try installing that package from vl5.9 repository.
Thank you once more.

Code:
(II) LoadModule: "ddc"(II) Module "ddc" already built-in
(II) Loading sub module "i2c"
(II) LoadModule: "i2c"(II) Module "i2c" already built-in
(II) GLINT(0): I2C bus "DDC" initialized.
(II) GLINT(0): I2C bus "Video" initialized.
(II) GLINT(0): I2C device "DDC:ddc2" registered at address 0xA0.

Backtrace:
0: X(xf86SigHandler+0x7e) [0x80bf1ee]
1: [0xb8051400]
2: X [0x80f8ce2]
3: X [0x80f8d59]
4: X [0x80f9121]
5: X [0x80f9269]
6: X(xf86DoEDID_DDC2+0x115) [0x80f6a25]
7: /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers//glint_drv.so [0xb7c48d94]
8: X(InitOutput+0x9b7) [0x80a2317]
9: X(main+0x296) [0x806dbb6]
10: /lib/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xe0) [0xb7e2f390]
11: X(FontFileCompleteXLFD+0x20d) [0x806d121]

Fatal server error:
Caught signal 11.  Server aborting

Here is xorg.conf generated after I installed the new driver.
Here is the Xorg.0.log of with the error.

ADDED:
Installing xf86-video-glint-1.1.1 from the 5.9 repo solved the problem! I am now posting from Beta2.
It looks good and runs fast.
Xine is not working for me(it isn't working with vl5.9-std here, and with vl5.9-light on Dell Latitude, so it's probably either hardware(not enough RAM maybe) or glint's or my fault.).
Here is the error:
Code:
budulay:$ xine
This is xine (X11 gui) - a free video player v0.99.5.
(c) 2000-2007 The xine Team.
X Error of failed request:  BadAtom (invalid Atom parameter)
  Major opcode of failed request:  140 (XVideo)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 ()
  Atom id in failed request:  0x1000329
  Serial number of failed request:  2035
  Current serial number in output stream:  2036
So far that's the only issue I found. Will post if I will notice anything else.
Thank you everybody who put an effort in developing such a great distro.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2009, 05:42:05 pm by budulay » Logged

VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!