VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9 ... 11

Author Topic: VectorLinux 6.0 RC4 feedback and bug reports  (Read 90978 times)

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2921
    • The Linux Works
Re: VectorLinux 6.0 RC4 feedback and bug reports
« Reply #90 on: February 03, 2009, 03:35:52 pm »

I just tried Opera on a system with Abiword 2.6.6., goffice 0.6.6, etc... on rc4.2 and it worked.  I don't know what happened to your library but the upgrades you mentioned wouldn't have caused the problem.
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
VL64 7.1

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: VectorLinux 6.0 RC4 feedback and bug reports
« Reply #91 on: February 03, 2009, 03:54:10 pm »

Today when I tried to start Opera, it didn't start and I got this when I tried to run Opera from a terminal prompt:
/usr/lib/opera-9.63/opera: error while loading shared libraries: libGL.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

What happened to it? I've done several updates (AbiWord and its related stuff, GOffice, some others). Maybe one of them "disappeared" libGL.so.1? I copied the library and its symlink from my other desktop to /usr/lib on this computer and Opera ran as expected after that.
--GrannyGeek

libGL.so.1 is a video(mesa) library I would guess it was lost while trying to install ATI drivers.
Logged

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: VectorLinux 6.0 RC4 feedback and bug reports
« Reply #92 on: February 03, 2009, 04:23:33 pm »

I just tried Opera on a system with Abiword 2.6.6., goffice 0.6.6, etc... on rc4.2 and it worked.  I don't know what happened to your library but the upgrades you mentioned wouldn't have caused the problem.

That's good to know.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: VectorLinux 6.0 RC4 feedback and bug reports
« Reply #93 on: February 03, 2009, 04:37:15 pm »

I upgraded to wicd 1.5.8 but it didn't help. It wasn't able to connect me to my wireless wlan0. At startup I have to run vlwifi in order to get my wireless connected. Today running vlwifi once was enough. Other days I've had to run vlwifi as many as five times before the wireless connection works.

Once I got connected yesterday, the wireless connection stayed up for nine hours until I turned the computer off. That was great! It's just getting it to come up that is a bit of a problem. I'm just glad it's working!
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

vector

  • Administrator
  • Vectorite
  • *****
  • Posts: 488
Re: VectorLinux 6.0 RC4 feedback and bug reports
« Reply #94 on: February 03, 2009, 06:04:52 pm »

Quote
I upgraded to wicd 1.5.8 but it didn't help. It wasn't able to connect me to my wireless wlan0.

Granny,

Can you post your /var/log/wicd/wicd.log output so we can see whats happening or in your case whats not happening?

Thanks Vec
Logged

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: VectorLinux 6.0 RC4 feedback and bug reports
« Reply #95 on: February 03, 2009, 06:51:55 pm »

Can you post your /var/log/wicd/wicd.log output so we can see whats happening or in your case whats not happening?

I didn't even know that log was there! Here it is (with IP and DNS addresses altered for privacy):

Code: [Select]
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: ---------------------------
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: wicd initializing...
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: ---------------------------
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: Automatically detected wireless interface wlan0
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: setting wireless interface wlan0
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: Couldn't detect a wired interface.
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: setting wired interface None
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: setting wpa driver wext
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: setting use global dns to False
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: setting use global dns to boolean False
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: setting global dns
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: global dns servers are None None None
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: setting automatically reconnect when connection drops
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: found dhcp_client in configuration 2
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: Setting dhcp client to 2
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: Wireless configuration file found...
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: Wired configuration file found...
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: chmoding configuration files 0600...
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: chowning configuration files root:root...
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: Using wired interface...
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: Using wireless interface...wlan0
2009/02/03 17:06:29 :: autoconnecting... wlan0
2009/02/03 17:06:35 :: No wired connection present, attempting to autoconnect to wireless network
2009/02/03 17:06:35 :: trying to automatically connect to...69Wireless70
2009/02/03 17:06:35 :: Connecting to wireless network 69Wireless70
2009/02/03 17:06:35 :: Putting interface down
2009/02/03 17:06:35 :: Releasing DHCP leases...
2009/02/03 17:06:35 :: Setting false IP...
2009/02/03 17:06:36 :: Stopping wpa_supplicant and any DHCP clients
2009/02/03 17:06:36 :: Flushing the routing table...
2009/02/03 17:06:36 :: Generating psk...
2009/02/03 17:06:36 :: Attempting to authenticate...
2009/02/03 17:06:38 :: Putting interface up...
2009/02/03 17:06:41 :: Setting static IP : 192.168.2.44
2009/02/03 17:06:41 :: Setting default gateway : 192.168.2.1
2009/02/03 17:06:41 :: Connecting thread exiting.
2009/02/03 17:46:09 :: setting use global dns to 1
2009/02/03 17:46:09 :: setting use global dns to boolean True
2009/02/03 17:46:09 :: setting global dns
2009/02/03 17:46:09 :: global dns servers are 68.13.52.60 68.13.52.61
2009/02/03 17:46:09 :: setting wireless interface wlan0
2009/02/03 17:46:09 :: setting wired interface
2009/02/03 17:46:09 :: setting wpa driver ndiswrapper
2009/02/03 17:46:09 :: setting automatically reconnect when connection drops
2009/02/03 17:46:09 :: Setting dhcp client to 0
2009/02/03 17:46:15 :: Connecting to wireless network 69Wireless70
2009/02/03 17:46:15 :: Putting interface down
2009/02/03 17:46:15 :: Releasing DHCP leases...
2009/02/03 17:46:15 :: Setting false IP...
2009/02/03 17:46:16 :: Stopping wpa_supplicant and any DHCP clients
2009/02/03 17:46:16 :: Flushing the routing table...
2009/02/03 17:46:16 :: Generating psk...
2009/02/03 17:46:16 :: Attempting to authenticate...
2009/02/03 17:46:18 :: Putting interface up...
2009/02/03 17:46:21 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:46:25 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:46:29 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:46:33 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:46:37 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:46:41 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:46:45 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:46:49 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:46:53 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:46:57 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:47:01 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:47:05 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:47:09 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:47:13 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:47:17 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:47:20 :: canceling connection attempt
2009/02/03 17:47:20 :: exiting connection thread
2009/02/03 17:48:07 :: Connecting to wireless network 69Wireless70
2009/02/03 17:48:07 :: Putting interface down
2009/02/03 17:48:07 :: Releasing DHCP leases...
2009/02/03 17:48:07 :: Setting false IP...
2009/02/03 17:48:09 :: Stopping wpa_supplicant and any DHCP clients
2009/02/03 17:48:09 :: Flushing the routing table...
2009/02/03 17:48:09 :: Generating psk...
2009/02/03 17:48:09 :: Attempting to authenticate...
2009/02/03 17:48:09 :: Putting interface up...
2009/02/03 17:48:12 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:48:16 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:48:20 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:48:24 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:48:28 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:48:32 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:48:36 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:48:40 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:48:44 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:48:48 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:48:52 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:48:56 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:49:00 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:49:04 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:49:08 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:49:12 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:49:16 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:49:20 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:49:24 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:49:28 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:49:32 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:49:36 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:49:40 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:49:44 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:49:48 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:49:52 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:49:57 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:50:08 :: Connecting to wireless network 69Wireless70
2009/02/03 17:50:08 :: Putting interface down
2009/02/03 17:50:08 :: Releasing DHCP leases...
2009/02/03 17:50:08 :: Setting false IP...
2009/02/03 17:50:09 :: Stopping wpa_supplicant and any DHCP clients
2009/02/03 17:50:09 :: Flushing the routing table...
2009/02/03 17:50:09 :: Generating psk...
2009/02/03 17:50:09 :: Attempting to authenticate...
2009/02/03 17:50:10 :: exiting connection thread
2009/02/03 17:50:11 :: Putting interface up...
2009/02/03 17:50:14 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:50:18 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:50:22 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:50:26 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:50:30 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:50:31 :: canceling connection attempt
2009/02/03 17:50:31 :: exiting connection thread
2009/02/03 17:51:02 :: setting use global dns to 1
2009/02/03 17:51:02 :: setting use global dns to boolean True
2009/02/03 17:51:02 :: setting global dns
2009/02/03 17:51:02 :: global dns servers are 68.13.52.60 68.13.52.61
2009/02/03 17:51:02 :: setting wireless interface wlan0
2009/02/03 17:51:02 :: setting wired interface
2009/02/03 17:51:02 :: setting wpa driver ndiswrapper
2009/02/03 17:51:02 :: setting automatically reconnect when connection drops
2009/02/03 17:51:02 :: Setting dhcp client to 0
2009/02/03 17:52:54 :: Connecting to wireless network 69Wireless70
2009/02/03 17:52:54 :: Putting interface down
2009/02/03 17:52:54 :: Releasing DHCP leases...
2009/02/03 17:52:54 :: Setting false IP...
2009/02/03 17:52:56 :: Stopping wpa_supplicant and any DHCP clients
2009/02/03 17:52:56 :: Flushing the routing table...
2009/02/03 17:52:56 :: Generating psk...
2009/02/03 17:52:56 :: Attempting to authenticate...
2009/02/03 17:52:56 :: Putting interface up...
2009/02/03 17:52:59 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:53:03 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:53:07 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:53:11 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:53:15 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:53:19 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:53:23 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:53:27 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:53:31 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:53:35 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:53:39 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:53:43 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:53:47 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:53:51 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:53:55 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:53:59 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:54:03 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:54:07 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:54:11 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:54:15 :: wpa_supplicant rescan forced...
2009/02/03 17:54:19 :: canceling connection attempt
2009/02/03 17:54:19 :: exiting connection thread

I hope there's a clue in there. I use fixed IP addresses for everything on my network and do not use DHCP.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

pevsner

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 94
Re: VectorLinux 6.0 RC4 feedback and bug reports
« Reply #96 on: February 03, 2009, 07:04:31 pm »

Re: wine fonts.
Quote
Did you try this? At a terminal prompt, type
winecfg as use
desktop integration etc.

GrannyGeek, yes I always do that cause the fonts are so small on default setting (usually go for veranda font-which is installed ok).
On VL6 they still appear flakey/faint. Where perfect on 5.9.
Nvidia GF 6200 - 173.xx vl driver
Logged

Pita

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1349
Re: VectorLinux 6.0 RC4 feedback and bug reports
« Reply #97 on: February 03, 2009, 07:28:21 pm »

Made a CD installation of RC4.2 with GUI installer.  :P

After installation completed click NEXT. Took a long time beforte something came up. I thought it had hung.
Up came asking for the boot installer. Clicked do not install Lilo, NEXT and a window told me something is wrong and the installation was aborted.

My MBR was destroyed had to boot from a CD, did Lilo and it was fixed.

This time installed w/o GUI. All went smooth. Internet connected, music playing.

Dillo shows black pages.

Can't install my printer. Device : unknow:USB missing. Did not switch it on on booting. Might try later.

Opera is huge. Can't grip corners. Can make it smaller only after shading.

Later, booted with printer switched-on, still no Device : unknow:USB. Too bad! :(

On panel gslapt updater was showing. Clicked on it, gslapt opened and at least 4 programs were updated. Very nice! :D
« Last Edit: February 03, 2009, 10:53:58 pm by Pita »
Logged

InTheWoods

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 302
Re: VectorLinux 6.0 RC4 feedback and bug reports
« Reply #98 on: February 04, 2009, 06:38:39 am »

Toshiba Tecra
1.6GHz processor
510mb ram

I used the vlinstall-iso script for a text install. The option to enable touchpad specific features disables the ability to use a tap as a left click on the touchpad. Configuring as normal mouse allows the touchpad to function normally.

wireless in the vasm control centre does work but does not survive a reboot.
vwifi-connect does not work
wcid does not work
wcid 1.5.8 from Robby's Slackware http://rlworkman.net/pkgs/12.2/wicd-1.5.8-noarch-1_rlw.tgz packages does work and the settings survive a reboot.
run: wicd-client
I have'nt tried the new wcid package in the repository.

I did not realize there was a G-slapt updater. It's NOT a good thing for my laptop!!!
An accidental click over this seemed to reinstall everything and I think it over filled the partition I had alloted to test RC4 as I could no longer use it.

In the menu the first item under system "Avahi Zeroconf Browser" I get a small window which disappears imediately after it appears. Under "Network" are the related Avahi SSH, and VNC browser items. Clicking on either of these yeilds an error message "Failed to connect to Avahi server:Daemon not running" In the background a box appears showing Avahi "initializing". dismissing the error message closes the background box as well.

My GeForce FX Go5200 runs fine with the included NVIDIA drivers.

Firefox in vec6.0rc4 is very fast compared to in vec5.9 standard. I've had one lock up which resolved itself in 30sec unlike the hard lockups in vec5.9 wich required a reboot (disconnect the power and remove the battery) to use the computer.
Opera works well here. No issues with size (1024x768 resolution) or usability. However I have'nt updated Abiword or anything.
EDIT:updated Abiword and Opera continues to function fine. Updated all of the related AbiWord packages and it continues to be fine.

It's been a while since I've been around. Nice work!!!
« Last Edit: February 04, 2009, 06:59:24 am by InTheWoods »
Logged

fox

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: VectorLinux 6.0 RC4 feedback and bug reports
« Reply #99 on: February 04, 2009, 05:47:28 pm »


I mentioned earlier that with RC4 as a virtual machine on VirtualBox (version 2.1.2), Orage-Clock, installed by default on the panel, doesn't update to the proper date and time after a vm state was saved and revived later, and that even restarting the vm doesn't fix the problem. I now believe it is either a VL problem or a problem with VL in conjunction with VirtualBox, because another distro I installed as a vm on VirtualBox doesn't display the same symptoms.  I checked the VirtualBox settings for the two vm's, and they are the same, eliminating the setting as the cause. Furthermore, installing VL6 RC4 on VMware Fusion on my Mac doesn't result in the same problem.  (I'll report on that venture in another posting.)

What seems to be happening is the clock is working, but not synchronizing when I suspend the vm.  Any idea what could be wrong?
Logged
Mac user with Linux tendencies
Intel iMac 2.16ghz C2D; Mac mini 1.83ghz C2D
MSI Wind U100, 2ghz RAM, 80gb HD, Gigabyte atheros wireless
PowerBook G4/1.33 15" Al

fox

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: VectorLinux 6.0 RC4 feedback and bug reports
« Reply #100 on: February 04, 2009, 06:13:46 pm »

Hello Fox,
...I've had 5.8, 5.9, and 6, rc2, rc3 working fine in VirtualBox - haven't tried RC4 yet, because I'm probably just going to install it straight to the drive.  I agree with you on VMware - it's a bit of a dog - gave up on it some time ago.
Actually, Howard, my experience with VMware Fusion (2.0.1) on a Mac host with a Linux guest has been pretty good, even with the newer kernels.  Every Debian-based distro I've tried works well.  So does the latest Mandriva and openSUSE 11.0, but not 11.1.  And when I say "works well", I mean that all the tools work, including drag and drop of files between host and guest.  This is the real beauty of VMware Fusion, because it's a very useful feature that no other virtual program can do with a Linux guest.

I thought it was time to try VMware with VL6 RC4.  The results were better than I expected.  The tools were easier to install on it than on any other distro, and all of them seem to work reliably with one partial exception - drag and drop.  It's 100% going from guest to host and it works fine the other way right after installing the tools, but once you reboot, host to guest no longer works until you reinstall the tools.  That's not as bad as it sounds because there's no need to restart the vm again unless a kernel update requires it.  And suspending the vm state and then reviving doesn't affect functionality.  There is one other minor glitch - when you go to suspend the vm state you have to do it from menu or with a cmd-Q rather than from the Fusion suspend icon, the latter gives a script error message.  I don't know what that's about, but the alternative methods of suspending the vm are just as easy, so no big deal.  VMware Fusion is overdue for a bug fix, but even without one, running VL6 RC4 on it is quite good, and better than running it on VirtualBox.  Video is smoother on Fusion as well.

One other interesting observation that may or may not be distro-specific.  My music is stored on iTunes and most of it is in mp4 (AAC) format.  My favourite music player in Linux is Rhythmbox, which I did try on RC4. To play mp4's on RC4's Rhythmbox, you have to install additional gstreamer codecs (bad and ugly), and unlike Ubuntu, you aren't helped along by an offer to get these from RC4-Rhythmbox.  But here is what I found interesting.  Install Amarok instead of Rhythmbox and you can play everything without fetching additional codecs.

So far I like what I see and I really like the helpfulness and friendliness on this forum.  All this makes me keen on VectorLinux, so I'll keep testing this RC.  :)

P.S. Thanks for putting R in the repository, Dave.  I got it on my office Mac by compiling, but now that I know how to use vpackager, I'm happy to install it from the repo on my home Mac.
-- Update: R wasn't in the repository yet (so I compiled again; no problem).
« Last Edit: February 05, 2009, 04:09:28 am by fox »
Logged
Mac user with Linux tendencies
Intel iMac 2.16ghz C2D; Mac mini 1.83ghz C2D
MSI Wind U100, 2ghz RAM, 80gb HD, Gigabyte atheros wireless
PowerBook G4/1.33 15" Al

Lyn

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 691
Re: VectorLinux 6.0 RC4 feedback and bug reports
« Reply #101 on: February 05, 2009, 01:32:53 am »

It might be worth mentioning that my problems with my i810 graphics causing X to crash  when launching terminal applications or launching a terminal only occurs in XFCE and not in other window managers/environments.  This is identical to the issues I had with Vector 5.9 standard but which was corrected when we got to the later release candidates.  Is it possible to fix this?  I intend to keep this lower powered machine as a testing rig and to teach myself how to build packages.  The intent is to keep it as clean as possible and build individual packages and then reinstall from scratch.
Logged

kc1di

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1125
  • Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16
Re: VectorLinux 6.0 RC4 feedback and bug reports
« Reply #102 on: February 05, 2009, 03:13:00 am »


P.S. Thanks for putting R in the repository, Dave.  I got it on my office Mac by compiling, but now that I know how to use vpackager, I'm happy to install it from the repo on my home Mac.

Your quite welcome Enjoy. Vector is a very good Distro.
Dave

Logged
Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: VectorLinux 6.0 RC4 feedback and bug reports
« Reply #103 on: February 05, 2009, 06:53:31 am »

It might be worth mentioning that my problems with my i810 graphics causing X to crash  when launching terminal applications or launching a terminal only occurs in XFCE and not in other window managers/environments.  This is identical to the issues I had with Vector 5.9 standard but which was corrected when we got to the later release candidates.  Is it possible to fix this?  I intend to keep this lower powered machine as a testing rig and to teach myself how to build packages.  The intent is to keep it as clean as possible and build individual packages and then reinstall from scratch.
Is the same terminal being used in each WM?
does X crash if you use urxvt or xterm in XFCE?
Logged

fox

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: VectorLinux 6.0 RC4 feedback and bug reports
« Reply #104 on: February 05, 2009, 08:12:41 am »

I found a new bug with the music player, rhythmbox.  After installing it from the repository (tried two ways, with gslapt and slapt-get), the application won't start up from either the menu or by typing its name in a terminal.  With the former, nothing happens.  With the latter, I get the following error message:

"rhythmbox: error while loading shared libraries: libcamel-1.2.so.11: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"

This occurs when running RC4 as a vm on VMware Fusion.  I was able to replicate the problem on two different Intel Macs.  However, I installed rhythmbox initially on a vm created with VirtualBox, and in this case, the application starts up and works.  I'm guessing that this is a coincidence, and that something I installed prior to rhythmbox on my VirtualBox vm must have satisfied this dependency.  I did check the repository for libcamel, but didn't find it.

Suggestions anyone?

P.S. rhythmbox 0.11 in the repository is not the stable version according to the application website; it's version 0.10.  I did try downloading it and building it with vpackager, but I got an error.
Logged
Mac user with Linux tendencies
Intel iMac 2.16ghz C2D; Mac mini 1.83ghz C2D
MSI Wind U100, 2ghz RAM, 80gb HD, Gigabyte atheros wireless
PowerBook G4/1.33 15" Al
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9 ... 11