VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: [Solved]Getting mouse wheel to work  (Read 2163 times)

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
[Solved]Getting mouse wheel to work
« on: January 30, 2009, 09:53:06 pm »

I've installed VL5.9 several times and usually the wheel works.  The last two installations, however, it didn't.  I had read in the forum sometime ago about switching mouse0 and mouse1.  Then, I didn't need it.  Now that I do, I can't.  And the only thing I found on my search in the forum referred to x???.conf which didn't define mouse0 and mouse1 but did have a setting which I changed from mouse1 to mouse0 - it didn't help!

Could someone please advise me of the file I'm looking for.  (I miss not being able to search for files containing some text.)
« Last Edit: January 31, 2009, 04:51:37 pm by StrayBit »
Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: Getting mouse wheel to work
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2009, 07:07:52 am »

cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep mouse

The output should be:

 Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"

Change to the above line see if that helps.

For scrolling you will also need to add:

Option ZAxisMapping  "4 5"

add below the mouse lines.

HTH

Bigpaws
Logged

Windozer

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 386
  • Have Vector Linux, Will Travel.
Re: Getting mouse wheel to work
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2009, 08:12:50 am »

Quote
cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep mouse

 /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep mice

 ;D

- H
Logged
483,617th Registered Linux Snoozer

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: Getting mouse wheel to work
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2009, 08:34:52 am »

Thanks Windoze. I found it before I read your post.

I made the following change
Code: [Select]
#    Option "Device"      "/dev/mouse"
Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
#For scrolling you will also need to add:
#Option ZAxisMapping  "4 5"
Logging out made no difference.  Restarting, x refused to start until I commented out the ZAxisMapping option.  The error pointed to "4 5" saying something about 1 or 2 quotes were need and it was an invalid keyword.  Wished I could have copy/paste in tui!

I still don't have wheel.

I did verify that I had "/dev/input/mice" before I made the change.
Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

Sengir

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Getting mouse wheel to work
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2009, 10:01:40 am »

IIRC ZAxisMapping needs quotes as well, so that might be the problem


Mine reads:
Code: [Select]
Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Logged

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: Getting mouse wheel to work
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2009, 10:39:02 am »

Thanks Sengir.  I just looked on my other VL5.9 installation and it does have it quoted as you say.. 

Unfortunately, I'm in the process of removing and reinstalling VL5.9 on the offending machine as it had way too many problems,  Once I get it working, I'll try 6.0-RC4 again,
Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: Getting mouse wheel to work
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2009, 01:41:16 pm »

New install solved this issue.  Thanks for your help.

But how do I mark this Solved?
Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2878
    • The Linux Works
Re: Getting mouse wheel to work
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2009, 02:16:24 pm »

Go into this thread again.  If you look at your original post which started this thread you'll see that it has a Modify icon.  Click that and you can make the changes.

FYI:  only the original poster and the moderator(s) for a given section of the forum can modify a post.
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: [Solved]Getting mouse wheel to work
« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2009, 04:53:32 pm »

Thanks, Caitlyn.

I thought there was some way but I sure couldn't find it.  And I had already guessed that the "owner" or "Root" could modify it.  Hey! I think some of this Linux stuff is rubbing off on me  ;D
Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0