VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: slapt-update-notifier  (Read 3634 times)

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
slapt-update-notifier
« on: January 31, 2009, 12:47:29 am »

I have install slapt-update-notifier-0.4.1 in my VL 5.9 Light but it seem doesn't do anything. Does anyone know how it work and how to congifure it.

EDIT:

It seem the /etc/rc.d/rc.slapt-update-notifier did not auto start at boot time. The rc.slapt-update-notifier is executable. Do i need to put /usr/sbin/slapt-update-notifier to rc.local or can anyone teach me how to auto run the rc.slapt-update-notifier at boot time....
« Last Edit: January 31, 2009, 01:59:10 am by hata_ph »
Logged

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: slapt-update-notifier
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2009, 04:40:32 pm »

I am also getting no results out of my slapt-get-notifier, on any of the machines which I did a gui-install.  The machine I text installed works fine.

I will watch this thread along with you for an answer, but I'm curious did you install via gui or text install.  I will post on the RC4 development page if it looks like we have discovered a problem with the gui install.
Ken
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: slapt-update-notifier
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2009, 04:53:47 pm »

I am also getting no results out of my slapt-get-notifier, on any of the machines which I did a gui-install.  The machine I text installed works fine.

I will watch this thread along with you for an answer, but I'm curious did you install via gui or text install.  I will post on the RC4 development page if it looks like we have discovered a problem with the gui install.
Ken

I compile the package from source and planning to upload it to VL repo for testing. But before it work on my laptop I will not upload it first.
Logged

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: slapt-update-notifier
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2009, 04:56:56 pm »

for 5.9 i would add rc.slapt-update-notifier to rc.local
it needs to be started after networking is up.
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: slapt-update-notifier
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2009, 05:00:03 pm »

for 5.9 i would add rc.slapt-update-notifier to rc.local
it needs to be started after networking is up.

just put rc.slapt-update-notifier or /usr/sbin/slapt-update-notifier?
Logged

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: slapt-update-notifier
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2009, 08:20:02 pm »

/etc/rc.d/rc.slapt-update-notifier start
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: slapt-update-notifier
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2009, 08:07:19 am »

Quote
#!/bin/sh
# rc.local
# This file is provided for custom initialization because
# Admin is not encouraged to touch rc.S or rc.M.
#
# This file is launched on the end of entering multi user mode (2-5)
# load functions
. /etc/rc.d/functions-display

PATH="/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:$PATH"
# Setting up Linux logo text
if [ "$INSTALL_DATE" ]; then
   linux_logo -c -t "Operating since $INSTALL_DATE" > /etc/issue
else
   linux_logo -c -t "Brought to you by Vector-Linux" > /etc/issue
fi

## Setting up remote login message
echo "Welcome to $HOSTNAME. Unauthorized access is prohibited !" > /etc/issue.net

## Setting login message
if [ -f /etc/vector-version ]; then
    echo "`head -n1 /etc/vector-version` on `uname -a | cut -d\  -f1,3`" > /etc/motd
else   
    echo "Vector Linux on `uname -a | cut -d\  -f1,3`" > /etc/motd
fi

/sbin/vcpufreq-load
## Vector Linux initialization is very fast ...
## So uncomment this if you want to enjoy the show a bit longer
#sleep 5

## You may add custom initialization below this
/etc/rc.d/rc.slapt-update-notifier start

this is my rc.local but when i restart my system the slapt-update-notifier doesn't autostart. But if i run it manually as /etc/rc.d/rc.slapt-update-notifier start. the daemon show up in htop.

PS: ain't every script that have executable attribute in /etc/rc.d gonna be execute at boot time in Linux?
« Last Edit: February 05, 2009, 08:10:34 am by hata_ph »
Logged

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: slapt-update-notifier
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2009, 01:59:09 pm »

Quote
PS: ain't every script that have executable attribute in /etc/rc.d gonna be execute at boot time in Linux?

No only the executable scripts in /etc/rc.d called from rc.S, rc.M, and rc.local get started at boot.

I would add "ifconfig" above "/etc/rc.d/rc.slapt-update-notifier start" in your rc.local to see if the network is up at that time.
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: slapt-update-notifier
« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2009, 03:21:06 am »

Quote
#!/bin/sh
# rc.local
# This file is provided for custom initialization because
# Admin is not encouraged to touch rc.S or rc.M.
#
# This file is launched on the end of entering multi user mode (2-5)
# load functions
. /etc/rc.d/functions-display

PATH="/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:$PATH"
# Setting up Linux logo text
if [ "$INSTALL_DATE" ]; then
   linux_logo -c -t "Operating since $INSTALL_DATE" > /etc/issue
else
   linux_logo -c -t "Brought to you by Vector-Linux" > /etc/issue
fi

## Setting up remote login message
echo "Welcome to $HOSTNAME. Unauthorized access is prohibited !" > /etc/issue.net

## Setting login message
if [ -f /etc/vector-version ]; then
    echo "`head -n1 /etc/vector-version` on `uname -a | cut -d\  -f1,3`" > /etc/motd
else   
    echo "Vector Linux on `uname -a | cut -d\  -f1,3`" > /etc/motd
fi

/sbin/vcpufreq-load
## Vector Linux initialization is very fast ...
## So uncomment this if you want to enjoy the show a bit longer
#sleep 5

## You may add custom initialization below this
ifconfig
/etc/rc.d/rc.slapt-update-notifier start

I did what you suggest but the slapt-update-notifier didn't start. I double check using htop it wasn't there...
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: slapt-update-notifier
« Reply #9 on: February 22, 2009, 07:19:19 pm »

I notice slapt-update-notifier is working in VL6-STD. May I know how you all manage to get it working?
Logged

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2878
    • The Linux Works
Re: slapt-update-notifier
« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2009, 07:24:56 pm »

In 6.0 it is installed and works by default.  I didn't have to do anything.
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: slapt-update-notifier
« Reply #11 on: February 22, 2009, 09:42:29 pm »

I try it in my VL5.9 Light using lxde as WM, but it doesn't work.....any advise?
Logged