VectorLinux
December 20, 2014, 01:14:18 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: slapt-update-notifier  (Read 3340 times)
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3261


-- Just being myself --


« on: January 31, 2009, 12:47:29 am »

I have install slapt-update-notifier-0.4.1 in my VL 5.9 Light but it seem doesn't do anything. Does anyone know how it work and how to congifure it.

EDIT:

It seem the /etc/rc.d/rc.slapt-update-notifier did not auto start at boot time. The rc.slapt-update-notifier is executable. Do i need to put /usr/sbin/slapt-update-notifier to rc.local or can anyone teach me how to auto run the rc.slapt-update-notifier at boot time....
« Last Edit: January 31, 2009, 01:59:10 am by hata_ph » Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2009, 04:40:32 pm »

I am also getting no results out of my slapt-get-notifier, on any of the machines which I did a gui-install.  The machine I text installed works fine.

I will watch this thread along with you for an answer, but I'm curious did you install via gui or text install.  I will post on the RC4 development page if it looks like we have discovered a problem with the gui install.
Ken
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3261


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2009, 04:53:47 pm »

I am also getting no results out of my slapt-get-notifier, on any of the machines which I did a gui-install.  The machine I text installed works fine.

I will watch this thread along with you for an answer, but I'm curious did you install via gui or text install.  I will post on the RC4 development page if it looks like we have discovered a problem with the gui install.
Ken

I compile the package from source and planning to upload it to VL repo for testing. But before it work on my laptop I will not upload it first.
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2009, 04:56:56 pm »

for 5.9 i would add rc.slapt-update-notifier to rc.local
it needs to be started after networking is up.
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3261


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2009, 05:00:03 pm »

for 5.9 i would add rc.slapt-update-notifier to rc.local
it needs to be started after networking is up.

just put rc.slapt-update-notifier or /usr/sbin/slapt-update-notifier?
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2009, 08:20:02 pm »

/etc/rc.d/rc.slapt-update-notifier start
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3261


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2009, 08:07:19 am »

Quote
#!/bin/sh
# rc.local
# This file is provided for custom initialization because
# Admin is not encouraged to touch rc.S or rc.M.
#
# This file is launched on the end of entering multi user mode (2-5)
# load functions
. /etc/rc.d/functions-display

PATH="/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:$PATH"
# Setting up Linux logo text
if [ "$INSTALL_DATE" ]; then
   linux_logo -c -t "Operating since $INSTALL_DATE" > /etc/issue
else
   linux_logo -c -t "Brought to you by Vector-Linux" > /etc/issue
fi

## Setting up remote login message
echo "Welcome to $HOSTNAME. Unauthorized access is prohibited !" > /etc/issue.net

## Setting login message
if [ -f /etc/vector-version ]; then
    echo "`head -n1 /etc/vector-version` on `uname -a | cut -d\  -f1,3`" > /etc/motd
else   
    echo "Vector Linux on `uname -a | cut -d\  -f1,3`" > /etc/motd
fi

/sbin/vcpufreq-load
## Vector Linux initialization is very fast ...
## So uncomment this if you want to enjoy the show a bit longer
#sleep 5

## You may add custom initialization below this
/etc/rc.d/rc.slapt-update-notifier start

this is my rc.local but when i restart my system the slapt-update-notifier doesn't autostart. But if i run it manually as /etc/rc.d/rc.slapt-update-notifier start. the daemon show up in htop.

PS: ain't every script that have executable attribute in /etc/rc.d gonna be execute at boot time in Linux?
« Last Edit: February 05, 2009, 08:10:34 am by hata_ph » Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2009, 01:59:09 pm »

Quote
PS: ain't every script that have executable attribute in /etc/rc.d gonna be execute at boot time in Linux?

No only the executable scripts in /etc/rc.d called from rc.S, rc.M, and rc.local get started at boot.

I would add "ifconfig" above "/etc/rc.d/rc.slapt-update-notifier start" in your rc.local to see if the network is up at that time.
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3261


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2009, 03:21:06 am »

Quote
#!/bin/sh
# rc.local
# This file is provided for custom initialization because
# Admin is not encouraged to touch rc.S or rc.M.
#
# This file is launched on the end of entering multi user mode (2-5)
# load functions
. /etc/rc.d/functions-display

PATH="/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:$PATH"
# Setting up Linux logo text
if [ "$INSTALL_DATE" ]; then
   linux_logo -c -t "Operating since $INSTALL_DATE" > /etc/issue
else
   linux_logo -c -t "Brought to you by Vector-Linux" > /etc/issue
fi

## Setting up remote login message
echo "Welcome to $HOSTNAME. Unauthorized access is prohibited !" > /etc/issue.net

## Setting login message
if [ -f /etc/vector-version ]; then
    echo "`head -n1 /etc/vector-version` on `uname -a | cut -d\  -f1,3`" > /etc/motd
else   
    echo "Vector Linux on `uname -a | cut -d\  -f1,3`" > /etc/motd
fi

/sbin/vcpufreq-load
## Vector Linux initialization is very fast ...
## So uncomment this if you want to enjoy the show a bit longer
#sleep 5

## You may add custom initialization below this
ifconfig
/etc/rc.d/rc.slapt-update-notifier start

I did what you suggest but the slapt-update-notifier didn't start. I double check using htop it wasn't there...
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3261


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #9 on: February 22, 2009, 07:19:19 pm »

I notice slapt-update-notifier is working in VL6-STD. May I know how you all manage to get it working?
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2009, 07:24:56 pm »

In 6.0 it is installed and works by default.  I didn't have to do anything.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3261


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #11 on: February 22, 2009, 09:42:29 pm »

I try it in my VL5.9 Light using lxde as WM, but it doesn't work.....any advise?
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!