VectorLinux
April 19, 2014, 07:12:43 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: connecting an Oki c3400 network printer W/ Cups  (Read 3331 times)
dymnrgh
Member
*
Posts: 22

Always looking for the diamond in the rough


« on: February 18, 2009, 10:31:05 am »

Hi all, I'm slowly getting the hang of vector (and so far so good). Now I'm trying to hook up an Oki c3400 printer and am confused as to the proper steps. I'm running 5.9 STD Gold and have this printer on a network at 192.168.*.***. I'm running in xfce and have installed Cups. When I setup Cups via a browser it asks for a PDD file. I found a driver (engine),  foo2hiperc,  to download and at the web site it said to download and unpack (unzip)  compile and install, and gives steps to do this. I am unclear how to do this with Cups when it asks for the PDD filename. What are the steps to get this printer running? Thanks. Also i have to tell everyone here that this is one of the most friendly and informative forums I have ever used.
Logged
Masta
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 725



« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2009, 08:31:29 pm »

That driver seems to be missing, which of course you had to download and install.  Could you tell us where and what package you have, so that we can take a look at it's installation methods?

Basically this is looking for the PDD file that this package is supposed to have installed. You have to browse to it and select it. I'm not sure where it is at until I can analyze the package. Then we need to know what the name of the PDD file is to be used.

If you know the name of the PDD file, you can search for it's location using terminal
Code:
find name-of-PDD
note the results of the find  and then select it in the printer setup.
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2009, 12:17:27 am »

I found this at linuxprinting.org maybe it will help.
Quote
Ken
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
dymnrgh
Member
*
Posts: 22

Always looking for the diamond in the rough


« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2009, 09:26:57 am »

Yes , the site http://foo2hiperc.rkkda.com/ is where I downloaded the pdd file from. I downloaded it to the desktop (for ease of finding it when asked for by CUPS) when CUPS asks for this i thought I could add it , and it seemed to do that but still cannot print. CUPS seems to have setup the printer but whena test page is printed nothing happens. I t seems as if it is setup but I may have not done things correctly? Thanks.
Logged
dymnrgh
Member
*
Posts: 22

Always looking for the diamond in the rough


« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2009, 07:35:38 pm »

The website http://foo2zjs.rkkda.com/foo2zjs.tar.gz  The instruction at the site are correct as followed (It also gives a good overview of the process) I now have the printer working on the network, however, I can only print monocrome (b&w) I downloaded unpacked it and compiled it as root in a terminal window. After the instruction "make install" and then "sudo make cups" the printer works. I am unclear for the next step because there are not any instructions for vector linux. Does anyone know what steps to follow, the choices are for: Redhat, Fedora, Mandrake,Suse,or Ubunto. Any help would be great. Thanks.
Logged
Masta
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 725



« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2009, 07:04:21 pm »

Sorry for such a long delay! Just got the package and I am looking through it.

Double check your CUPS settings to see if you have color set up as printer default settings, in the meantime ... just in case you may have overlooked it.

You can simply reboot the computer to restart CUPS (I know, I know... Smiley ) or try
Code:
/etc/rc.d/rc.cups restart

and one more thing..
Did you issue command:
Code:
./getweb 3400
after make ?... how did that go?
« Last Edit: March 18, 2009, 07:25:10 pm by Masta » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!