VectorLinux
September 21, 2014, 05:54:04 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: 090219 gdmap-0.8.1 [VL 6.0]  (Read 2400 times)
caitlyn
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« on: February 18, 2009, 10:39:08 pm »

Blurymind has packaged gdmap (Graphical disk map) for VL 6.0.

Package:  gdmap-0.8.1-i586-1vl60.tlz
MD5:  d544fdb93ab74c9ad35b397310dfa1f3
Package Size:  47K
Installed Size:  190K

Sources:  http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-6.0/source/testing/x-apps/gdmap

Code:
gdmap: A tool which allows you to visualize disk space with a single picture.
gdmap:
gdmap: Graphical Disk Map is a tool which allows you to visualize disk space
gdmap: with one single picture. To display directory structures, cushion
gdmap: treemaps are used to visualize a complete folder or even the whole HD.
gdmap:
gdmap: License: GPL
gdmap: Authors: Markus Lausser
gdmap: Website: http://gdmap.sourceforge.net/

After testing this package please stop back here and let us know how it works for you.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2009, 12:29:55 am »

Cool little app, works here. Thanks
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2009, 07:41:39 am »

Works, but it adds a new category in the XFCE menu called "Filesystem", which will probably remain exclusively for gdparm. IMO it's better off in "Accessories".
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2283


« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2009, 08:03:23 am »

Weird, if I understand the Desktop Menu Specification correctly, "Filesystem" apps are a subset of "System". In the categories section of the desktop file "Settings" should be there.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
blurymind
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1082



« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2009, 08:22:42 am »

Works, but it adds a new category in the XFCE menu called "Filesystem", which will probably remain exclusively for gdparm. IMO it's better off in "Accessories".
ah yes..you are right. Now i noticed that..

perhaps it is possible to edit my slackbuild script and repackage it? I have never handled *.desktop files in a slackbuild.

This is a very useful app when you make a hd clean up
« Last Edit: February 19, 2009, 08:26:25 am by blurymind » Logged

status: playing around with new tablet and learning to 3d :p
google page :  http://blurymind.googlepages.com
DA PAGE :  http://www.blurymind.deviantart.com/
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2009, 08:37:55 am »

Weird, if I understand the Desktop Menu Specification correctly, "Filesystem" apps are a subset of "System". In the categories section of the desktop file "Settings" should be there.
Yes, but I have never been able to use subcategories in the xfce menu, though they do work in gnome and kde. For that matter, I was never able to add a category like in this case, I must look into how it was done... Grin

EDIT: If the .desktop file has "System,Filesystem" in the category, I think it should simply go into System on xfce4, maybe it only has "Filesystem"?
« Last Edit: February 19, 2009, 08:46:46 am by Joe1962 » Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
blurymind
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1082



« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2009, 09:17:38 am »

source package, and slackbuild are at my contrib directory. I wonder what to change in the slackbuild in order to tell it to put the *.desktop file where it should be (accesories? or system..)
« Last Edit: February 19, 2009, 09:21:45 am by blurymind » Logged

status: playing around with new tablet and learning to 3d :p
google page :  http://blurymind.googlepages.com
DA PAGE :  http://www.blurymind.deviantart.com/
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2283


« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2009, 09:27:27 am »

Try this line in the Tweaks section after the make install lines.

Code:
sed -i s/"Categories=Filesystem;Utility;GTK"/"Categories=System;Filesystem;Utility;GTK"/g $PKG/usr/share/applications/gdmap.desktop
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2009, 09:28:50 am »

4Pane.desktop has: Categories=Utility;FileManager;
Thunar-bulk-rename.desktop has: Categories=Application;System;Utility;Core;GTK;Filesystem;

So I would say Categories=Utility;Filesystem; would be appropriate.
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2283


« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2009, 09:34:37 am »

I just spoted that one, thanks Joe.

I missed the Utility tag, which is already the main category. The problem in the .desktop file is the order.

The command would be then:

Code:
sed -i s/"Categories=Filesystem;Utility;GTK"/"Categories=Utility;Filesystem;GTK"/g $PKG/usr/share/applications/gdmap.desktop

EDIT: Duh I was putting it in System instead Accesories  Embarrassed
« Last Edit: February 19, 2009, 09:40:08 am by rbistolfi » Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
caitlyn
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2009, 11:49:37 am »

Blurymind:  Yes, please change the .desktop file and/or the Slackbuild as appropriate and contribute a new package.  Post in the Packagers' Board when it's ready.  You can continue your existing thread for this app.  I'll replace the package in the repo and post here when it's done.

Thanks,
Cait
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2009, 12:17:47 pm »

Utility;Filesystem; doesn't work for me, Utility; alone does.
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
blurymind
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1082



« Reply #12 on: February 19, 2009, 01:14:47 pm »

Blurymind:  Yes, please change the .desktop file and/or the Slackbuild as appropriate and contribute a new package.  Post in the Packagers' Board when it's ready.  You can continue your existing thread for this app.  I'll replace the package in the repo and post here when it's done.

Thanks,
Cait
alright. I will try with rbisofti's lines and Joe's advice. It works as a charm! The package is Uploaded at my contrib.
gdmap-0.8.1-i586-2vl60
« Last Edit: February 19, 2009, 01:28:34 pm by blurymind » Logged

status: playing around with new tablet and learning to 3d :p
google page :  http://blurymind.googlepages.com
DA PAGE :  http://www.blurymind.deviantart.com/
caitlyn
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #13 on: February 19, 2009, 03:31:42 pm »

The old package has been removed from the repo and the new one is in place.  Please test the new package:

Package:  gdmap-0.8.1-i586-2vl60.tlz
MD5:  c8057fa26a0c58774feb46a23699a28f
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
blurymind
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1082



« Reply #14 on: February 20, 2009, 09:55:19 am »

now gdmap's launcher is under accesories
Logged

status: playing around with new tablet and learning to 3d :p
google page :  http://blurymind.googlepages.com
DA PAGE :  http://www.blurymind.deviantart.com/
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!