VectorLinux
December 19, 2014, 02:27:32 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: NeoMagic Driver and Second Display in Light  (Read 2496 times)
TheyMostlyWork
Member
*
Posts: 12


« on: February 19, 2009, 04:51:53 am »

Greetings!

This question concerns a P3-500 320MB Thinkpad running Vector Light version 6 beta 2 with a NeoMagic video card. Gslapt reports that the correct driver for the card is installed.

Here is the question:

Currently, if I want to use my second display (a projector), I need to boot the laptop with the projector already attached. In that case, the laptop's function keys toggle over to the second display (and back) just fine. But if I attach the second display after bootup, Vector does not see the second display, and I must reboot.

Does anyone know how to enable the hot-plugging of second displays? For example, are there some lines I can add to a configuration file somewhere, or perhaps this feature is only supported in some window managers and desktop environments but not others (such as IceWM, which is the default desktop in Light)?
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2009, 10:42:42 am »

My guess is this has something to do with extra laptop kernel modules.
can you post the output of lsmod, both with projector already attached at boot and not.
Logged
TheyMostlyWork
Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2009, 01:36:33 pm »

Thank you for offering to help, uelsk8s, and for cornering me into figuring out how to use the ">" argument from the command line to pipe the output of lsmod to a text file.  Smiley

Here is the lsmod output without the monitor attached during bootup:

Code:
Module Size U sed by
nf_conntrack_irc 6052 0
nf_nat_ftp 3584 0
nf_nat 16792 1 nf_nat_ftp
nf_conntrack_ftp 8100 1 nf_nat_ftp
nf_conntrack_ipv4 14220 2 nf_nat
nf_conntrack 55776 5 nf_conntrack_irc,nf_nat_ftp,nf_nat,nf_conntrack_ftp,nf_conntrack_ipv4
ip_tables 11536 0
x_tables 13572 1 ip_tables
freq_table 4352 0
snd_seq_midi 6944 0
thinkpad_acpi 57216 0
rfkill 8984 1 thinkpad_acpi
nvram 7948 1 thinkpad_acpi
snd_seq_dummy 3716 0
snd_seq_oss 31872 0
snd_seq_midi_event 6912 2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_oss
snd_seq 48240 6 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_pcm_oss 37408 0
snd_mixer_oss 15104 1 snd_pcm_oss
arc4 2688 2
ecb 3584 2
crypto_blkcipher 16516 1 ecb
cryptomgr 3712 0
snd_cs46xx 80456 0
gameport 11020 2 snd_cs46xx
irtty_sir 5888 0
snd_rawmidi 19872 2 snd_seq_midi,snd_cs46xx
snd_seq_device 7436 5 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_rawmidi
sir_dev 11780 1 irtty_sir
snd_ac97_codec 99492 1 snd_cs46xx
ath5k 119048 0
rtc_cmos 10144 0
ac97_bus 2432 1 snd_ac97_codec
rtc_core 15132 1 rtc_cmos
mac80211 155548 1 ath5k
rtc_lib 3328 1 rtc_core
snd_pcm 67972 3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_cs46xx,snd_ac97_codec
i2c_piix4 8592 0
led_class 4484 2 thinkpad_acpi,ath5k
snd_timer 19976 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
i2c_core 21268 1 i2c_piix4
cfg80211 23688 2 ath5k,mac80211
snd 50980 1 1 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_cs46xx,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore 7008 1 snd
snd_page_alloc 8840 2 snd_cs46xx,snd_pcm
shpchp 29716 0
isp1760 19232 0
pci_hotplug 27040 1 shpchp
parport_pc 35908 0
nsc_ircc 16400 0
parport 31724 1 parport_pc
irda 108984 2 sir_dev,nsc_ircc
crc_ccitt 2688 1 irda
video 17040 0
output 3456 1 video
evdev 10144 6

Here is the lsmod output with the monitor attached during bootup:

Code:
Module Size U sed by
nf_conntrack_irc 6052 0
nf_nat_ftp 3584 0
nf_nat 16792 1 nf_nat_ftp
nf_conntrack_ftp 8100 1 nf_nat_ftp
nf_conntrack_ipv4 14220 2 nf_nat
nf_conntrack 55776 5 nf_conntrack_irc,nf_nat_ftp,nf_nat,nf_conntrack_ftp,nf_conntrack_ipv4
ip_tables 11536 0
x_tables 13572 1 ip_tables
freq_table 4352 0
snd_seq_midi 6944 0
thinkpad_acpi 57216 0
rfkill 8984 1 thinkpad_acpi
nvram 7948 1 thinkpad_acpi
snd_seq_dummy 3716 0
snd_seq_oss 31872 0
snd_seq_midi_event 6912 2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_oss
snd_seq 48240 6 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_pcm_oss 37408 0
snd_mixer_oss 15104 1 snd_pcm_oss
arc4 2688 2
ecb 3584 2
crypto_blkcipher 16516 1 ecb
cryptomgr 3712 0
snd_cs46xx 80456 0
gameport 11020 2 snd_cs46xx
irtty_sir 5888 0
snd_rawmidi 19872 2 snd_seq_midi,snd_cs46xx
snd_seq_device 7436 5 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_rawmidi
sir_dev 11780 1 irtty_sir
snd_ac97_codec 99492 1 snd_cs46xx
ac97_bus 2432 1 snd_ac97_codec
rtc_cmos 10144 0
ath5k 119048 0
snd_pcm 67972 3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_cs46xx,snd_ac97_codec
rtc_core 15132 1 rtc_cmos
rtc_lib 3328 1 rtc_core
i2c_piix4 8592 0
mac80211 155548 1 ath5k
snd_timer 19976 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
i2c_core 21268 1 i2c_piix4
led_class 4484 2 thinkpad_acpi,ath5k
snd 50980 1 1 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_cs46xx,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
cfg80211 23688 2 ath5k,mac80211
soundcore 7008 1 snd
snd_page_alloc 8840 2 snd_cs46xx,snd_pcm
shpchp 29716 0
isp1760 19232 0
pci_hotplug 27040 1 shpchp
parport_pc 35908 0
nsc_ircc 16400 0
parport 31724 1 parport_pc
irda 108984 2 sir_dev,nsc_ircc
crc_ccitt 2688 1 irda
video 17040 0
output 3456 1 video
evdev 10144 6
Logged
sparkyhall
Vectorite
***
Posts: 118


« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2009, 04:39:29 am »

I had to add the following two lines in the device section of xorg.conf to get external displays to work on my IBM TP 600 which also has Neomagic graphics.

 Option "internDisp"  "True"
 Option "externDisp"  "True"

Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2009, 08:12:48 am »

I think this may have something to do with ACPI.
try running "/etc/rc.d/rc.acpid restart" after you plug in the projector
Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2009, 02:10:39 pm »

Or try xrandr:
Code:
$  xrandr --output LVDS --auto --output VGA --auto --same-as LVDS

But first put a "Virtual" line with the largest resolution you need in the display subsection at the end of xorg.conf. Like this:
Code:
SubSection "Display"
           Depth 24
           Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
           Virtual           1440 900
          EndSubSection

You can also put the external display above, to the left, etc. of the laptop monitor, in which case you need to add the resolutions appropriately to put them in the Virtual line.
Check this page for more information:
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Xorg_RandR_1.2
Logged
TheyMostlyWork
Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2009, 05:14:15 pm »

Thank you, sparkyhall, uelsk8s, and wcs.

I am sorry to take so long to respond. I had a flatbed truck's worth of work dumped in my office shortly after I last posted. Meanwhile, I've been making do with the laptop's current configuration. I will try these recommended solutions this coming week and report my findings in this thread.

Meanwhile, someone congratulate me on purchasing Vector Standard 6 Deluxe yesterday. I have a Thinkpad T43 arriving on Tuesday (I like Thinkpads). I wouldn't have said this a year ago, but I actually like XFCE better than KDE.

Smiley
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!