VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Switch to Linux  (Read 18172 times)

Sty

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 114
Re: Switch to Linux
« Reply #15 on: February 20, 2009, 10:05:55 pm »

I think the best way would be trying to get the VMWare Server version going, where you run Windows "in the background".  I never could get that quite right on my desktop.  Maybe I'll give it another go when things settle down.
Logged
* Enterprise *
Running Vector Linux 5.9 Deluxe
|| Intel Core2Duo E6600 | 4 GB DDR2 RAM | ATi Radeon X1900XT ||

aulus

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Switch to Linux
« Reply #16 on: February 23, 2009, 10:24:26 am »

I have vmware server running on my VL 6 rc4 desktop and it didn't require any tweeks. My virtual windows runs as expected in a VM.
Logged
Aspirat primo Fortuna labori.
(Fortune smiles upon our first effort.)
----Virgil

GeneralError324

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • Canzine.com
Re: Switch to Linux
« Reply #17 on: February 23, 2009, 07:21:14 pm »

You may also want to check out Crossover Office, though it may not work for everything it's worth a shot.  You can get a trial version and more information at http://www.codeweavers.com It's built on Wine and is pretty good, I use it for my Windows stuff like Flash and Photoshop(No longer photoshop now that I learned some GIMP  :) )
Logged

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: Switch to Linux
« Reply #18 on: February 26, 2009, 07:55:44 pm »

Yea, with Crossover Office (or wine), you should be able to run outlook 2003, without the need to have a virtual machine with windows running... Though you might want/need a newer version of outlook, and some problems might show up even with the older versions.

I also use Virtual Box and it works great, but it's quite a hit to your system (especially in ram).
Logged

TheyMostlyWork

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Switch to Linux
« Reply #19 on: March 06, 2009, 06:07:20 pm »

+1 for VirtualBox. I have had good luck using it to host XP Pro in VL SOHO 5.9. Actually, the transparency is so good (to me) that I get slightly uncomfortable: I don't like the scary feeling I get  :o  when momentarily forget that I'm actually running linux under the hood....  ::)
Logged

MikeCindi

  • Tester
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1073
Re: Switch to Linux
« Reply #20 on: March 06, 2009, 06:41:24 pm »

Currently I run XP in Virtual Box 2.1.4 and am able to sync my Dell Axim X30 with Outlook 2003. For my purposes this works better than VMware Server 2. I need the same access as you seem to need and the one item that keeps MS on my machine(s) is syncing with windows mobile. There is not yet a viable linux option for this. Changing to PalmOS is not of interest to me. The other "needs" are workable.

I do dual boot with Vista and have no qualms with it; others may complain about it but I cannot.
Logged
The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143

Sty

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 114
Re: Switch to Linux
« Reply #21 on: March 11, 2009, 10:21:15 pm »

Mike, have you tried this solution before? http://news.softpedia.com/news/Windows-Linux-Symbiosis-Not-a-Dream-Anymore-59314.shtml

That's what I think I want to have happen, just not sure that it is the best way to do it.
Logged
* Enterprise *
Running Vector Linux 5.9 Deluxe
|| Intel Core2Duo E6600 | 4 GB DDR2 RAM | ATi Radeon X1900XT ||

MikeCindi

  • Tester
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1073
Re: Switch to Linux
« Reply #22 on: March 12, 2009, 07:01:33 am »

I have not tried that specific arrangement. I have used VMware Server 1.x and 2.0 and the flakey USB support in 2.0 (at least on my machines) sent me back to Virtual Box (currently using 2.1.4 - not OSE) which has very good USB interaction (on my machines) and a much smaller footprint. Let me know how this "symbiosis" via VMware works for you.
Logged
The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: Switch to Linux
« Reply #23 on: September 04, 2009, 09:02:09 am »

Can you please include the option of Switch User su in your next release? Beacause for security reasons, people disable login by root. So if SU is available, they can switch to root and do the stuff which only root can do.
'su' is always available in VL releases. Being based on slackware it kind of comes with the territory.  Then again, maybe I just misunderstood your post above (wouldn't be the first time :P)
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]