VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Installing VL5.9 Live from the command line  (Read 1276 times)

Colonel Panic

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 526
Installing VL5.9 Live from the command line
« on: February 20, 2009, 07:33:28 am »

Hi. I've been sent a copy of Vector 5.9 Standard Live by mistake (I only have 256 MB of RAM), but I'm trying to make it work despite the fact that it won't launch the window manager.

The best solution I can think of is to create a partition for it on my hard drive. set up an ext2 file system on that partition and then copy the files over; the problem is though that I can't copy the /sys files from the CD-ROM. Is there any way round this, or a better way of installing Vector Live to my hard drive from the command line?

Thanks in advance,

Colonel Panic.
Logged

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: Installing VL5.9 Live from the command line
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2009, 10:31:21 am »

here is the code the live installer uses to copy its files into a new root
Code: [Select]
cd /
TARGET="put your mounted target here"
dirs=$(ls -1 / | egrep -v "^proc" | egrep -v "^mnt" | egrep -v "^boot"  | egrep -v "^sys"  | egrep -v "^tmp")
for i in $dir; do
       cp --preserve=all -R /$i $TARGET/
done
mkdir -p $TARGET/{tmp,boot,mnt,sys,proc}
mkdir -p $TARGET/mnt/{cdrom,cdwriter,dvd,dvdwriter,floppy,hd,linux,loop,memory,pendrive,tmp,vl-hot,win,zip}

from there it resets the live start scripts to non-live versions
Code: [Select]
cd $TARGET/etc/rc.d/ && rm rc.S && ln -s rc.S.real rc.S
cd $TARGET/etc/rc.d/ && rm rc.M && ln -s rc.M.real rc.M
cd $TARGET/etc/rc.d/ && rm rc.local && ln -s rc.local.real rc.local

then you just need to change fstab and install a bootloader
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3217
Re: Installing VL5.9 Live from the command line
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2009, 10:34:50 am »

Not sure if you've tried this yet or not.. but have you tried running the installer in text mode?
I think it's called vliveinstall.

There is a good chance it may run.. it's an xdialog script based on the functions of vasm.

Try it and see what happens


Oooops... dang he beat me to it ;)

Colonel Panic

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 526
Re: Installing VL5.9 Live from the command line
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2009, 05:19:03 am »

Thanks, I'll give it a try.
Logged

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: Installing VL5.9 Live from the command line
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2009, 08:10:45 am »

vliveinstaller will not run in text mode.
If you edit /sbin/vliveinstaller and change the line that has Xdialog in it to dialog, it might.
Logged

Colonel Panic

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 526
Re: Installing VL5.9 Live from the command line
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2009, 11:13:12 am »

Thanks again, definitely one to try :)
Logged