VectorLinux
October 22, 2014, 05:36:59 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5
  Print  
Author Topic: VectorLinux 6.0 FINAL is here!!!  (Read 43845 times)
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #45 on: March 19, 2009, 02:46:23 pm »

Hi, Andy,

Yes, your experience matches mine.  Worse, gslapt-notifier doesn't work after a GUI install.  It works perfectly after a text install.  Oh, and yes, slapt-update-notifier-daemon is running.

HTH,
Cait
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #46 on: March 19, 2009, 09:24:38 pm »

Worse, gslapt-notifier doesn't work after a GUI install. 

This is sort of off topic, but as good a place as any to say that ditching gslapt-notifier is one of the first things I do when I install VL 6. I hate having that icon in the system tray. It reminds me of Windows Updates, which also "favors" you with an annoying icon. (I turn off Windows Automatic Updates, too.)

I run Gslapt every day anyway, so I don't need gslapt-notifier. It's a useful feature for those who want it, but I wish the option to disable it were a bit more obvious.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
|nic|
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 162



WWW
« Reply #47 on: March 20, 2009, 11:11:23 am »

Awesome !! just installed it. thx for the great work !
Logged

registered user #393337

Desktop AMD E6 / 8 gb ram / 120 GB SSD / 500 gb HD / VL7

Samsung NP110 / VL7.1 Std
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #48 on: March 20, 2009, 05:44:06 pm »

[nic],

Just a quick question. Are you running VectorLinux on your eeepc 900? Someone I know is wondering of VL works on the eee 900.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
|nic|
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 162



WWW
« Reply #49 on: March 21, 2009, 12:25:46 am »

GrannyGeek,

I installed it on my eeepc 900, but some things weren't working.
ethernet adapter didn't work and also the ssd cardreader.
I managed to make the wireless connection work with the madwifi-nr-r3366+ar5007 driver. If u want you can get it from http://users.telenet.be/nicdm/packages/madwifi-nr-r3366+ar5007.tar.gz.

A the time I tried VL 5.9, maybe 6.0 will work even better.
Logged

registered user #393337

Desktop AMD E6 / 8 gb ram / 120 GB SSD / 500 gb HD / VL7

Samsung NP110 / VL7.1 Std
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #50 on: March 21, 2009, 03:19:40 am »

Quote
A the time I tried VL 5.9, maybe 6.0 will work even better.

For sure. VL6 comes with a lot of drivers for the components that are used in most netbooks.
Logged
pevsner
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #51 on: March 21, 2009, 05:46:44 am »

Quote
I run Gslapt every day anyway, so I don't need gslapt-notifier.

Same with me GrannGeek.
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #52 on: March 21, 2009, 09:08:29 pm »

Thanks for the report, [nic]. The fact that you got it working is encouraging, and I think there's a very good chance that the problematic things will work with the increased hardware support in VL 6.

My friend is currently using Kubuntu and is very happy with it. I doubt he'd be willing to remove it and give VL a try, but the next time someone wonders whether VL would work on an eee, I'll say "it's been done."
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
|nic|
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 162



WWW
« Reply #53 on: March 22, 2009, 08:19:35 am »

Maybe I will give vl6.0 a spin on my eeepc next weekend :-)
Logged

registered user #393337

Desktop AMD E6 / 8 gb ram / 120 GB SSD / 500 gb HD / VL7

Samsung NP110 / VL7.1 Std
brokndodge
Member
*
Posts: 83


Linux is sooo HOT


WWW
« Reply #54 on: March 29, 2009, 06:32:26 pm »

Man you guys rock!!!  I been vectoring on and off for a couple of years.  Vector Linux has been my old standby, if nothing else works, Vector will.  I guess I finally got a clue and have switched my main distro to VL.  6.0 is clean and I like the new tweeks in VASM.  Whole distro is really clean.  Only complaint is it didn't turn on netwrking upon first boot.  VASM networking stuff wouldn't turn it on either.  Had to do it from the command line.  But no biggie.  Since thats all I had to do to VL.  I'm really happy.
Logged

VL 7.0 Standard

brokndodge
- OSS is not a religion, it's the solution to buggy irresponsible coding -
Linux User# 494720
swarfendor437
Member
*
Posts: 21


« Reply #55 on: April 07, 2009, 06:45:43 am »

Hi Peeps,
Long admirer of the polish of VectorLinux Desktops. I have just recently purchased the standard deluxe set (download). Read the readme text on how to add the 2nd cd to the GSlapt repo in preferences but not sure if I am doing it right or working right - when I tried to install wine from the CD it said there was not enough space (assume it was trying to install on itself - the CD) any help appreciated so I can try Enlightenment (E17) and KDE 4 etc.

Best regards,
swarfendor437

PS I thought MegaMario was on one of these versions - should I have purchased SOHO instead?
Logged
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #56 on: April 08, 2009, 08:16:19 am »

As far as adding a cd in Gslapt so that it can get packages from it, the path should be /mnt/cdrom/packages. There should be a way to add new repos in the Gslapt preferences. You just add the cdrom like another repo.

Installing Wine: "not enough space" sounds like your root partition doesn't have enough space on it. All packages installed by Gslapt are installed to the root partition. Check your root partition and see how much space you have left on it.

Megamario is in the VL 5.9 repos for sure. I don't know about the 6.0 repos. You might be able to run VL 5.9 apps on VL 6.0 (somebody correct me here if I'm wrong). Here is the ftp site you could put into Gslapt if you want to try it.

http://ftp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.9/packages/
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
OldNoob
Member
*
Posts: 20


« Reply #57 on: April 11, 2009, 01:15:09 pm »

Hello,wrong place to ask this type of questions, but anyway try to enter   file:///media/cdrom0/packages/     as package source and if not    file:///media/vectordlxcd2/packages/   maybe will do it, i had to enter that on another of my computers to make it work, good luck!

Otherwise you could always look at the uppermost part of thunar and draw your own conclusions about what source name you should use Wink
Logged
edgeofthewoods
Member
*
Posts: 62


« Reply #58 on: April 23, 2009, 11:31:55 am »

Just wanted to drop a note to the developers of VL 6.0

ROCK ON VECTOR DUDES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ok flash back to the 80's. Over all VL 6.0 has been great. I still test other distros once in a while, but even with flashy graphics, and the Debian spin, VL keps on trucking. Things work mostly, and if they don't there are folks like Moe and Big Paws that walk folks though the glitches that just happen with any OS. My younger kids haven't been able to break it, but they do try, my teenager has broken it but thats what he gets. He decided to go back to Ubuntu, but he needed to log in as root to fix something, and found out root doesn't exist! Only SUDO. LOL

Good job guys.

Chuck
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3184



« Reply #59 on: April 23, 2009, 11:40:42 am »

root does exist

sudo su
<your password>
welcome to root's club Wink
Logged

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!