VectorLinux
August 01, 2014, 08:05:26 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6
  Print  
Author Topic: VL-6.0-STD-GOLD bugs  (Read 26118 times)
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2869


WWW
« Reply #45 on: March 09, 2009, 09:20:53 pm »

@toothandnail:  Do you have testing enabled?  The dbus error is on an upgrade to xorg-server as far as I can see.  That's one of Vector's new testing packages.  I'll make him aware of the issue.  If that's the cause then it's not a bug in the traditional sense.  If you're getting the errors without testing enabled then, yes, we have a repo problem.  I then need to know which package has the unmet dependency so that it can be corrected.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2009, 10:21:24 pm by caitlyn » Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
vector
Administrator
Vectorite
*****
Posts: 479



« Reply #46 on: March 10, 2009, 12:19:13 am »

toothandnail.............
I have just started a new xorg in testing not all there yet..............sorry for the confusion........ignore it for now.

Vec
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #47 on: March 10, 2009, 04:39:54 am »

a word of warning about that xorg thingie...

I did the upgrade yesterday and hosed my install... granted this is a virtual machine, no real harm was made, and I dont know yet how this process would go on actual hardware.

After installing everything, my screen just went blank... solid black screen... nothing would get my gui back.
Logged

nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4018



« Reply #48 on: March 10, 2009, 05:19:32 am »

I second that caution. Tried upgrading twice on VL6 Light B3, both times it killed X. That's why it's called "testing".  Wink
Logged
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #49 on: March 10, 2009, 12:04:30 pm »

Smiley I do have testing enabled. Didn't think it was a bug in the Vector itself, but I did wonder about a problem in the repo.

I'll wait, not in any hurring to upgrade xorg. If nothing else, it would compromise my build environment.

I'm not sure about the error on freetype, unless that comes from the same source.

paul.
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2277


« Reply #50 on: March 10, 2009, 08:16:42 pm »

The error in freetype seems to come from some mirrors, I get the same error in osuosl but it is just fine in ibiblo :/
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2869


WWW
« Reply #51 on: March 10, 2009, 08:26:06 pm »

I've seen things like that clean up when I run the long version of the repo maintenance scripts.  I'll do that tomorrow when I add packages to the repo. 
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
vincent2
Vectorite
***
Posts: 399


« Reply #52 on: March 12, 2009, 03:42:53 am »

Bonjour!

Just tried installing VL6.0 gold  to a  PC  with Nforce2 chipset plus ati9250AGP MB last night(VL6.0gold cd install),installing process went smoothly,i Chosed ati radeon open source driver, then booted into xfce desktop fine,when checked the networks ONLY ONE NETWORK NIC(forcedeth) was Dectected  ANOTHER ONBOARD 8139 NETWORK NIC WASN'T DETECTED AT ALL,how should i make 8139 NIC working then by editing kernel/network config files???
(under knoppix5.31, both NIC work nicely..)
Later I entered VASM tried switching ATI9250 AGP  driver to ATI property  driver FGLRX,failed  with error messages at kernel patches compilings...then  made uninstall fglrx by " /usr/share/ati/fglrx -uninstall.sh", and reconfigured ATI9259 to radeon open source driver again.....Dissapointedly I encountered follow-up hassel,once rebooting the VL blue booting splash window won't appear, Sad instead with ordinary rolling white booting texts on black screen,I like the blue background  at booting to come back again, pls. instruct me the commands.   

A bien tot!
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #53 on: March 12, 2009, 04:38:55 am »

I had never tried to run firestarter, but when I did, just for the heck of it, I got this error

Logged

wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #54 on: March 12, 2009, 03:06:28 pm »

Quote
I had never tried to run firestarter, but when I did, just for the heck of it, I got this error

That was solved for me by reinstalling firestarter.
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2869


WWW
« Reply #55 on: March 13, 2009, 12:31:30 pm »

The OpenOffice.org packages currently in the repo don't add icons to the menu.  The .desktop files are there but they point to icons not included in VL 6.0 Standard final.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #56 on: March 13, 2009, 02:32:18 pm »

True.. I've noticed that...

BTW, has anyone ever tried to split these OOo packages? a 90MB download seems a lot to me when I only use writer and calc at the most.
Logged

wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #57 on: March 13, 2009, 03:33:56 pm »

Quote
BTW, has anyone ever tried to split these OOo packages? a 90MB download seems a lot to me when I only use writer and calc at the most.

It used to be the case that things were so tight that you wouldn't save much disk space when only installing some of the OOo components.

I don't know what it's like in these more recent versions.
Logged
jasse
Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #58 on: March 21, 2009, 05:04:18 am »

Quote
1. Before opening screen on my Sylvania netboot, error: Unidentified video mode number: 317
    Selecting mode 9 (800x600) from list does work to get me to the opening screen.
3. No readable display in GUI installer' at 1024x600.
4. Works at 800x600 but things are cut off.  I can't see parts of it.

Confirm all three points on the aspire one.
I saw this in rc 4.6 (I think) and ended up not reporting the problem on time before final... Silly me.
VL6 is so good on netbooks, that it is a shame that people might be put off by this...
Does the text installer works for the Aspire One Huh
I'm about to try installing VL6 on mine.
Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #59 on: March 21, 2009, 06:53:46 am »

Quote
Does the text installer works for the Aspire One Huh

Yes, it works great. The GUI installer also works with 800x600 resolution.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!