VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: RAM Requirements  (Read 4072 times)

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
RAM Requirements
« on: February 26, 2009, 11:36:07 am »

I am updating the documentation for VL6. I think our system requirements are bit out of date. The way I see it a "usable" system requires the following amount of RAM. Please correct me if I am way off the mark here:

VL Lite: 128MB
VL Standard: 256MB
VL Live: 512MB
VL SOHO: 512MB
VL Deluxe: 512MB

Larry
Logged
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2878
    • The Linux Works
Re: RAM Requirements
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2009, 11:42:52 am »

VL Light runs fine in 64MB.  128MB is only required for a couple of heavyweight apps.  There aren't many of those in Light.  We also don't have a "Lite" version, it's Light. 
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: RAM Requirements
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2009, 12:15:51 pm »

DOH! "Lite" - excuse my horrible Americanism. It is not Yogurt after all is it. I agree "Lite" is almost as bad as:

destinated
gotten


- amongst many others ...  ;)
Logged
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2878
    • The Linux Works
Re: RAM Requirements
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2009, 12:19:30 pm »

I'm American too... I wouldn't have raised the issue except that you write the docs so for you it's more important a distinction than for most people.
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: RAM Requirements
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2009, 12:27:51 pm »

I run 6.0 standard on P2-350 with 128mb of ram, and it runs great for what I do on it ( browse web, use terminal apps, play the included games)

I would not compile on it though.
Logged

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2878
    • The Linux Works
Re: RAM Requirements
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2009, 12:39:33 pm »

Many users don't do compilations.  I personally would leave Standard at 128MB minimum.
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

MikeCindi

  • Tester
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1074
Re: RAM Requirements
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2009, 12:59:36 pm »

Is there not a better way to quantify what is "required"? It would seem that this has become an issue of patience rather then hardware capability. I can setup and run SOHO 5.8 on a dual P200 with 168Mb but I don't (not anymore at least since VL light is available). I'm not sure what the industry uses to standardize this but there must be a more objective approach.
Logged
The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
 VL64 7.1                                     RLU 486143

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3234
Re: RAM Requirements
« Reply #7 on: February 26, 2009, 01:39:07 pm »

I agree with what MikeCindi has stated.
In the mean time, I suggest we keep the system requirements on a liberal side.
Of couse, you can trim it down or not run certain things... but the bottom line is... we need to keep it real... by that I mean, base the calculation on the minimum sys reqs for the shipped configuration.
if we based it that way, we can come out more accurately.

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2878
    • The Linux Works
Re: RAM Requirements
« Reply #8 on: February 26, 2009, 02:36:35 pm »

M0E_lnx:  64MB is "real" for Light.  I also believe anyone who only has 64MB isn't expecting a variety of multimedia apps from the repo to run.  Similarly, I believe Uelsk8s is right about 128MB in Standard.  The only included apps that won't run in that are Penguin Command and perhaps Seamonkey.  GIMP, wicd, Firefox, and gslapt will be slow but they will work.

I actually get really annoyed by distros that claim I need the sun, moon, and stars to run them when they work perfectly well in a lesser configuration.
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: RAM Requirements
« Reply #9 on: February 26, 2009, 02:52:25 pm »

I am not sure how else to get a "usable" number for ram needed than what we have used.
we can pick a number but someone will always be unhappy with that.
Logged

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: RAM Requirements
« Reply #10 on: February 26, 2009, 03:10:52 pm »

destinated
gotten

- amongst many others ...  ;)

"Gotten" is a correct past participle of "get." Either "got" or "gotten" is correct as a past participle.

What bugs me beyond belief is using "it's" as a possessive pronoun. IT'S "ITS," FOLKS!!!!
"It's" is a contraction of "it is" or "it has." "Its" is a possessive pronoun, like "his," "her," "my," "your," "their." Do you see any apostrophes in those?
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: RAM Requirements
« Reply #11 on: February 26, 2009, 04:30:18 pm »

We don't want to overstate, but we shouldn't become another Microsoft, either. The "minimum" requirements for all versions of Windows are routinely understated. They used to be very bady understated and were less understated for XP and Vista, but still understated.

I suppose part of it is the user's standard of what "run" means. I read people using 64 megs claiming something runs well, but having done this in the past, I would NEVER say anything runs well on that. Well, maybe console apps. But the perception of "running well" depends on what you're used to, I think. When I was using some really slow machines in the past, I had at least one other computer that was up to the prevailing standards of the time. So in comparison, the slow machine suffered badly. Eventually I couldn't stand it and got rid of all those antiques.

Maybe we should have three categories:
--Bare Minimum to install and run
--Recommended Minimum for usable performance
--Recommended for good performance

We'd probably never agree what the last category should be, but we might be able to settle on the first two.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2305
Re: RAM Requirements
« Reply #12 on: February 26, 2009, 04:58:50 pm »

I think Granny came up with the best solution.
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

lm8

  • Packager
  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 83
Re: RAM Requirements
« Reply #13 on: February 27, 2009, 09:15:27 am »

Just my two cents, but if the version of the distribution can be used on lower RAM machines (like Vector Light running on 64 MB), let people know about it.  I thought I saw mentioned on some of the forum posts that Vector Linux is good for green computing, which means (among other things) reusing old machines instead of throwing them away.

I tried Deli Linux before Vector and Deli is designed for light machines (minimum requirements just went up to 32 MB in last release).  It uses an older kernel and uclibc instead of glibc to run faster and be more lightweight.  I think Vector has comparable, if not better performance on my 64 MB machine. 

When I wanted to upgrade my computer to a distribution with a later kernel, I looked at Puppy and DSL, but they list higher memory requirements than 64 MB on some of their documentation.  One of the reasons I decided to try Vector Light is that documentation mentioned it will run in 64 MB.  I think you'll draw in some more new users if you do let them know it runs successfully on older systems and what some of the minimum specifications for successfully installing and runnning are.  (Installing can sometimes take more memory than running.)

Also, this is probably more appropriate to the 'spread the word' post, but there are forums, wikis, mailing lists, etc. that specifically discuss reusing old computers.  We should let them know Vector Linux is one of the better solutions out there.  The official documentation should hopefully reflect that information as well.
Logged

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: RAM Requirements
« Reply #14 on: February 27, 2009, 10:12:39 am »

In my experience, 5.9.1 SOHO and 6.0 alfa1.2 with KDE 3.5.10 both were very usable with 256 MB RAM, and Standard does very well with 128MB, though I have run it ok on a 64 MB vm as a test (of course, I wouldn't want seamonkey, firefox or openoffice on 64 MB, though I accidentally ran seamonkey once and it did load, but slowly).
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
Pages: [1] 2