Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: How can I try JFS for / ? [SOLVED]  (Read 2154 times)

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
How can I try JFS for / ? [SOLVED]
« on: March 02, 2009, 11:51:18 am »
Hello, all.

I was going to install VL6 again, but would like to give JFS a go as a filesystem for / .

The installer will only allow ext, reiser, and xfs.
Does anyone know a way this can be done?

Thank you!
« Last Edit: March 03, 2009, 08:51:20 am by wcs »

Chris H

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: How can I try JFS for / ?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2009, 12:00:01 pm »
I've just installed vl6 and jfs was available to me.

Not sure why it wouldn't offer you the option.

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2876
    • The Linux Works
Re: How can I try JFS for / ?
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2009, 12:49:07 pm »
jfs is available in the GUI installer only.  The text installer wasn't updated to include it.  If you do a GUI install jfs should work.
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: How can I try JFS for / ?
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2009, 04:39:28 pm »
Ah, so that's it...
Thanks for the answers.

I seem to get a messed up gui installer, though. Only unreadable lines and some colours.
(on the aspire one... I think you know what I mean, caitlyn)

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: How can I try JFS for / ?
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2009, 06:32:51 pm »
If you can format your / with another OS or livecd you can choose not to format it when you install from the VL text installer.

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2876
    • The Linux Works
Re: How can I try JFS for / ?
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2009, 07:40:26 pm »
Ah, so that's it...
Thanks for the answers.

I seem to get a messed up gui installer, though. Only unreadable lines and some colours.
(on the aspire one... I think you know what I mean, caitlyn)

When the installer asks for a resolution give it 800x600.  Then the installer will run OK on your Acer Aspire One.

HTH,
Cait
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: How can I try JFS for / ?
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2009, 08:51:05 am »
Both absolutely right.
Didn't realise you  could move on without formatting the root partition (w/ text installer).
And the GUI installer works fine when choosing 800x600.

Thank you!