Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: Is Gnuplot available as a package for Vector? - SOLVED  (Read 1153 times)

Martin109

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Is Gnuplot available as a package for Vector? - SOLVED
« on: March 06, 2009, 03:24:54 pm »
I can only find gnuplot as source files for compilation, which I don't know how to do.  Is it available as a compiled binary?
« Last Edit: March 15, 2009, 10:42:57 am by Martin109 »
Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2299
Re: Is Gnuplot available as a package for Vector?
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2009, 04:29:39 pm »
Quote
rbistolfi@vector [ ~ ]:1 %slapt-get --search gnuplot
gnuplot-4.2.3-i486-1 [inst=no]: gnuplot (plotting utility)

It is in the extra repo.
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

Martin109

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Re: Is Gnuplot available as a package for Vector?
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2009, 11:09:59 am »
Thanks.

I'm looking in VL5.9/packages, but can't find it.

If I type, as root, slapt-get --search gnuplot, I get get no response, just back to the prompt.
Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2299
Re: Is Gnuplot available as a package for Vector?
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2009, 11:46:49 am »
Oh, sorry, I didnt note you are using 5.9 instead 6.0
You could check if there is a SW12 package available.

http://packages.slackware.it
http://slacky.eu

You can also make a package request in the appropriate forum.
HTH
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

Martin109

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Re: Is Gnuplot available as a package for Vector?
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2009, 12:21:07 pm »
Thanks for that.

I've downloaded gnuplot-4.2.3-i486-1, and extracted all the files, which are now sitting in a folder on my desktop.  However, gslapt-get --search gnuplot still won't find it.
Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2299
Re: Is Gnuplot available as a package for Vector?
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2009, 01:01:56 pm »
From Xfce, you have to right click on the downloaded package, and select "Install package" from the contextual menu.
Another alternative is to open a terminal, login as root, and run

Code: [Select]
installpkg /path/to/the/package/name_of_the_package
HTH
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

Martin109

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Re: Is Gnuplot available as a package for Vector?
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2009, 01:16:33 pm »
 Thanks very much!

That seems to have worked fine.
Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard