VectorLinux
September 02, 2014, 11:10:20 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: VL6 - No automatic DHCP connection in startup  (Read 4079 times)
svgt
Member
*
Posts: 18


« on: March 07, 2009, 06:32:56 am »

Hi,
After each startup I must enable my internet connection manually.

I do this with VSAM-CC > Network > Netconf > set network hostname > set network method DHCP.

Is there a chance to manage it in an automatic way?

Regards
Svgt
Logged
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1423



« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2009, 10:39:53 am »

I can't tell too much from your post.  However, I assume you are using VL 5.9 standard and trying a wireless connection.  If so, you might consider switching to VL 6.0.  Its wicd is supposed to do what you want and, I am told, it works reliably on some machines. Not (yet) on my T42, though. 

I am new to VL 6.0 myself (about a week into it), but can say that I now spend much more time getting online with my wireless than I did when using wifi-radar in VL 5.9.  I am not sure yet whether its me, WICD my ISP, or my computer, but my wireless often seems significantly slower.

John
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2874


WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2009, 12:21:45 pm »

Svgt:  Which version of Vector Linux are you running?  Let us know and we'll pass along instructions that work for your version. 

John:  What kind of a wireless chipset does your Thinkpad have?  It should be no problem to automate everything for you.

FWIW, wifi-radar is still available for VL 6.0, BTW.  It's in the repository.

I actually have had the opposite experience from yours. wicd has been flawless for me and everything is automatic.  I'm sure your issue is just a matter of configuration.

Regards,
Cait
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
svgt
Member
*
Posts: 18


« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2009, 03:05:13 pm »

I have just installed the newest  version:  VL6.0-std-gold. And I use no wireless things.

regards,
Svgt
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2282


« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2009, 06:28:18 pm »

Try disabling the wicd service from vasm > super > service > srvset > (your runlevel here) > wicd

If that doesn't do it, you could always add the commands needed to get you going at the end of your /etc/rc.d/rc.local file.
That would be something like:

Code:
ifconfig eth0 up
dhcpcd eth0 &

HTH
« Last Edit: March 07, 2009, 06:30:32 pm by rbistolfi » Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2874


WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2009, 08:33:46 pm »

rbistolfi's approach may very well work.  I was actually going to suggest the opposite which has worked for some people in the forum.

Click on the network icon on your panel to open wicd-client.  You'll see an entry labeled "Wired Network".  Click on the little arrow to the left of the word Wired to open the network settings.  There is a box marked "use as default profile".  If it's checked then uncheck it.  If it's unchecked then check it.  Which setting works best seems to be hardware/driver dependent.  Try the one you aren't using now.  That has actually fixed the problem for some people.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1423



« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2009, 11:20:05 pm »

My wireless has been working well for several hours now.  It connected three times through wicd after three reboots, the last being some 6 hours ago, with no problem, so I am happy.

My chipset is the Atheros AR5212/AR5213.  I think (hope) my problem was my router, which to date has been very good.  I figured that out when I was able, in wifi-radar, to get on my neighbor's unencrypted wireless.  (I use wep) So I unplugged the router, waited 5 minutes, plugged it back in, and everything, including wicd, seems to work properly.  . 

As to Svgt's original post, when I am on a wired connection, wicd has ALWAYS automatically connected on reboot. 

I will not post again about wicd for at least a couple of weeks.  By then, I should be pretty familiar with it and less likely to unintentionally muddy the waters.

John
« Last Edit: March 08, 2009, 08:06:21 am by sledgehammer » Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
svgt
Member
*
Posts: 18


« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2009, 10:36:06 am »

Hi Caitlyn,

your proposal works. The box was checked. I unchecked it. Thank you.

Regards
Svgt
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2874


WWW
« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2009, 04:37:34 pm »

My chipset is the Atheros AR5212/AR5213. 

That's what I have in my Toshiba laptop, an AR5212.  It works perfectly using wicd for me.

Quote
I will not post again about wicd for at least a couple of weeks.  By then, I should be pretty familiar with it and less likely to unintentionally muddy the waters.

Well... if you have questions, concerns, or answers you should post.  Trying to help is a good thing and asking for help is never frowned upon in this forum.

Regards,
Cait
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2282


« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2009, 04:42:11 pm »

Nice work Cait and svgt, glad you got it working.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1423



« Reply #10 on: March 09, 2009, 06:25:10 am »

Thanks Caitlyn,

Wicd is working just fine now on my T42.  The "slowness" may have been a result of moving to 6.0, for after doing so I downloaded a lot of stuff, both from the VL6.0 repositories and elsewhere.  While downloading, use of the internet slows down.  Ergo my thought to wait for a couple of weeks.  I should have all my programs up and running by then. 

John
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
svgt
Member
*
Posts: 18


« Reply #11 on: March 11, 2009, 02:46:47 am »

Hi Caitlyn,

in a second installation the behaviour of the system is different. There is also no connection to the web with wired network.  If I click the little arrow, then  I get only  the two choices:

hidden network
create ad-hoc network.

The wired connection should be made with a PCMCIA-adapter in a laptop.

Regards,
Svgt
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2874


WWW
« Reply #12 on: March 11, 2009, 04:00:55 pm »

svgt:  You are describing a very different problem.  Here wicd sees your wireless connection but doesn't know your wired NIC exists at all.  I expect the problem isn't wicd.  Please post the output of the following:

/sbin/ifconfig -a
lsmod

Let's see if the kernel even recognizes your NIC first, and, if so, if an inet is being assigned.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
svgt
Member
*
Posts: 18


« Reply #13 on: March 11, 2009, 06:03:23 pm »

Hi,

there had been a mistake in my description: there was  no arrow with the text wired connection. But only an arrow in the line before.

I just wanted to repeat the situation without internet connection, for documentation.

But all was running well. And I haven't changed any boxes.

Regards,
Svgt
Logged
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #14 on: March 11, 2009, 11:34:26 pm »

I just installed VL-6-STD on a HP Mini-Note PC 2133. After first boot I had no Internet
connection. Clicking on WICD Network Manager did nothing, neither my usual
'rc.inet1 start' in such cases or ifconfig eth0 up.

I then did on the command line 'wicd start', then clicked again WICD Net. Mang.,
the wicd gui came up and I connected. On subsequent boots connection was automatic
and there is now the wicd applet on the panel.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!