VectorLinux
September 01, 2014, 05:41:30 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Upgrading to PyQT4  (Read 1525 times)
Chris H
Member
*
Posts: 29


« on: March 07, 2009, 06:47:59 am »

I have an app I want to run that needs PyQT4.

Would it be possible on VL6 to upgrade from PyQT3 without making the system unstable?

Ta
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2282


« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2009, 11:34:12 am »

The worst thing that can happen is some app depending on PyQt3 not working anymore.
I have been working in a PyQt4 package, which I am testing before I submit it for the repository.
You are welcome to give it a try: http://drop.io/k3woxwp

Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
Chris H
Member
*
Posts: 29


« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2009, 12:07:26 pm »

The worst thing that can happen is some app depending on PyQt3 not working anymore.


That's my fear!  Grin

How reversible do you think installing pyqt4 would be?

Or best until it gets to stable?

Ta
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2282


« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2009, 01:17:26 pm »

PyQt4 is stable here, and I am afraid that Qt3 apps will never be compatible with Qt4 ones, that is, Qt4 will not include backward compatibility with Qt3. The developers will have to port their apps to Qt4 if they want. Qt3 and Qt4 can live together very well though, but not the Python bindings as far as I know, I have been looking at this and I didn't find a way to make them work together, and worst, nobody seems to be worried about it. The good thing in all this seems to be that there is not many apps written for PyQt, at least in our repo.

EDIT: Well I did a search in the repo and looks like we have 0 apps depending on PyQt3, that means that the risk is also 0 Tongue

« Last Edit: March 07, 2009, 01:19:17 pm by rbistolfi » Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
Chris H
Member
*
Posts: 29


« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2009, 02:43:50 pm »


EDIT: Well I did a search in the repo and looks like we have 0 apps depending on PyQt3, that means that the risk is also 0 Tongue



Above and beyond the call of duty!

Thanks
Logged
Chris H
Member
*
Posts: 29


« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2009, 06:13:42 am »

Had to upgrade QT4 as well and everything seems to be holding together!

Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!