VectorLinux
April 24, 2014, 06:01:53 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: VL-Hot mounting & LXDE [SOLVED]  (Read 1280 times)
Dani Filth

« on: March 11, 2009, 11:09:38 pm »

Hello folks,

I'm new to Vector (but I do have some experience with other distros, though). I've installed VectorLinux Standard 6.0 on my laptop (Fujitsu S2020 Series, 4+ years old) and I kinda like it. I installed both XFCE & LXDE because in the first installation I tried to install only LXDE and unchecked XFCE thus it caused the system malfunctioned (X didn't work, some weird error messages etc). Plus, when I plugged in an external HDD/thumbdrive (I chose VL-HOT for mounting), both VL-HOT & unmount VL-HOT icons appeared on the screen, but when I double clicked on the VL-HOT icon, it acted like execute file/application and said something like "cannot execute" rather than an external HDD has been mounted and never opened a new window for me. However, this same HDD/thumbdrive is mounted and works just fine when I switch to XFCE.

So, is there a way to get this solved in LXDE?
And is there a way to have only LXDE on my laptop instead of having both XFCE & LXDE as well?

Thanks in advance Smiley
« Last Edit: March 13, 2009, 12:03:23 am by Dani Filth » Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian

« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2009, 04:54:54 am »