VectorLinux
August 22, 2014, 11:25:23 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: K3b doesn't recognize blank DVD?  (Read 5739 times)
Windozer
Vectorite
***
Posts: 386


Have Vector Linux, Will Travel.


« on: March 10, 2009, 06:18:40 pm »

this is on VL6 rc3 (haven't had time yet to ... you know...)

First time I've tried to burn a DVD on this box ... K3b did fine doing CD's, but even with an DVD ISO with a correct check sum, it just figures out the sum and sits there asking me to insert a DVD ... when I do, the drive activates momentarily and K3b doesn't notice --- even popping it out and back in, restarting k3b, rebooting ... standing on my left leg, whistling Dixie (oh, hey --- it's a full moon!)

Any ideas?

And, do you feel as dorky as I do when hardware does this to you??

- H
Logged

483,617th Registered Linux Snoozer
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1846


« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2009, 09:14:33 pm »

Open a terminal and start K3B from there. You can then see the errors that are being
reported. That may give a clue to where the problem lies.

Bigpaws
Logged
Windozer
Vectorite
***
Posts: 386


Have Vector Linux, Will Travel.


« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2009, 05:28:19 am »

Thanks, Bigpaws ... will give that a try and report back. - H
Logged

483,617th Registered Linux Snoozer
Windozer
Vectorite
***
Posts: 386


Have Vector Linux, Will Travel.


« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2009, 09:44:15 am »

Rodrigo mentioned recently that optical drives fail frequently. Add one to that statistic!

RE launching app in a terminal:

do we see error messages like this because most applications write to stderr, and stderr defaults to stdin?

thanks
- H
Logged

483,617th Registered Linux Snoozer
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1846


« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2009, 01:32:19 pm »

stdin is usually kb input , but could be from another input source.

Alot of GUI frontends have logs, but never in the same place so finding not
only the location but the name can be a real chore.

K3B defaults a log to ~./home/whoever/.kde/share/apps/k3b

Instead of doing all the searching you can directly see the errors from using
a console since the stderr usually outputs from stdin

Bigpaws
Logged
Windozer
Vectorite
***
Posts: 386


Have Vector Linux, Will Travel.


« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2009, 03:49:37 pm »

Hey Bigpaws, looks like we both made the same mental typo:

I think we both meant to say "stdout" instead of "stdin" --- that is, 'standard error (stderr) usually sends (pipes?) its output to standard output (stdout) unless directed otherwise.'

 Grin Grin
Logged

483,617th Registered Linux Snoozer
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1846


« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2009, 04:04:43 pm »

Darn, caught again!

Bigpaws
Logged
swarfendor437
Member
*
Posts: 21


« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2009, 01:13:00 am »

Hi Peeps,
Another possibility is the type of DVD being inserted into the burner - I have an external LG Optical drive (supports DVD-RAM) and will not see some CDs with printable lables on (Verbatim I think) - could this be a problem? Also check on line for a firmware upgrade for the device to cover all eventualities.

I find it bizarre that my aging Plextor (9 years old now) CD-RW can cope with the printable CDs my LG can't!

regards,
swarfendor437
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!