VectorLinux
November 24, 2014, 08:12:02 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Visual Basic programming  (Read 8670 times)
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« on: March 14, 2009, 02:22:58 pm »

I am looking for a Visual Basic programming IDE program. I have already tried gambas2 but I really need something where I can program in Visual Basic not just something like it.
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2009, 02:30:04 pm »

http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/visual-basic-for-linux.html
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2009, 03:39:35 pm »

Correct me if I'm wrong but it looks like "Mono" just compiles existing VB source code so that it will run on Linux. I was really looking for something where I could write my own code. Something like gambas2 but one that uses real Visual Basic.
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2009, 04:12:21 pm »

Visual Basic is a real Microsoft thing.  Microsoft generally doesn't allow any of their products to be licensed for Linux.  I'm not at all sure that what you want even exists.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2009, 05:50:47 pm »

Daniel: I just checked www.winehq.com and apparently, depending on what version of VB you have it might work under Wine:
http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=application&iId=94
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1553


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2009, 11:16:38 am »

Perhaps kbasic can fit your needs? I don't know, I'm not much of a basic-head. Anyways, I remembered seeing this some time ago.

http://kbasic.com/index.html
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2009, 05:10:18 pm »

Well from looking at the website, it looks like it's what I was looking for. Thanks! But... I downloaded the version for Linux from the website, installed it, clicked on the icon on the desktop... And nothing happened. I tried to run it from the terminal and got this error message:

error while loading shared libraries: libQtWebKit.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

I looked on the website again and found the list of dependencies. The libQtWebKit.so.4 was one of them. I then looked in the repositories on Gslapt and found two different "Qt" libraries "Qt" and "Qt4". I am not sure which (if either) I need to get. Help?
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2290


« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2009, 06:12:44 pm »

That would be Qt4. You will probably need to do a symlink if the version number of the installed library is different, for example:

Code:
ln -s /usr/lib/qt-4.5.0/lib/libQtWebKit.so.4.5.0 /usr/lib/qt-4.5.0/lib/libQtWebKit.so.4
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2009, 06:00:18 am »

So if the version number is different, I just type that line of code into a console?
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2009, 06:18:57 am »

Have you looked into Mono's .NET support?

http://www.mono-project.com/VisualBasic.NET_support

AFAIK, there are no IDEs for VB in linux... you'll find a lot of clones and VB-like languages and IDE's, but not the real thing..

Another option to try would be some win IDE via wine.
Logged

Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2009, 06:26:11 am »

Yes, I looked at that but the KBasic thing appears to be close enough to VB for me to be able to use it. And now it looks like I just have to download that library to get it to work but I just want to make sure that if the version number is different I just need to type that line of code that rbistolfi gave me into the console to do the symlink. (see previous post) So is that all I need to do to make the symlink?
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2009, 06:27:57 am »

yes.. that will make a symlink
Logged

Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2009, 07:43:59 am »

Ok, I downloaded the Qt4 library, tried to run KBasic again and again it didn't work so the version number is probably different. I looked on the KBasic website again and found that the libQtWebKit.so.4 is supposed to go in:

/usr/lib/libQtWebKit.so.4

Does that mean that it needs to be in a folder named libQtWebkit.so.4 in /usr/lib/ ? Right now it is in: /usr/lib/qt-4.4.1/lib/

In /usr/lib/qt-4.4.1/lib/   it has the shared library libQtWebKit.so.4.4.1 and two links to that library. The links are called libQtWebKit.so.4 and libQtWebKit.so.4.4

Help?
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2009, 09:23:17 am »

Are you executing the binary or are you building the source code?

if you build the source code, it should pick up the libs from the right place.
Logged

newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #14 on: March 18, 2009, 09:48:02 am »

daniel, you could put in a request to have kbasic built for VL6.  There is a package request forum for purposes such as this.  Most times the requests are answered pretty quickly, but it comes down to the volunteers available time.  FWIW.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!