VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Modem permissions  (Read 2607 times)

arundracula

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 57
Modem permissions
« on: March 15, 2009, 10:18:34 pm »

When I connect to internet using chestnut dialer, it shows Modem access permission denied.

But when I connect as root user, it connects.
So how can I change the permission of modem ttyACM0 to allow access for me?
Logged
Re-installing is not a problem, but it is when I had to.

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1871
Re: Modem permissions
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2009, 04:16:59 am »

As root in a console:

chmod 666 /dev/ttyACM0

That should do it.

Bigpaws
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3258
Re: Modem permissions
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2009, 08:41:57 am »

I actually just had to this for my brother-in-law's laptop.

He uses a 3g modem from Verizon to connect, and it works with gnome-ppp. Had same permissions error.

I took another approach to the problem though
I did visudo to allow %users (all human users) rights to the DIAL values (which include the dialer and all)

After that, it all worked well.

arundracula

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 57
Re: Modem permissions
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2009, 08:40:40 pm »

The connection speed is much lesser than previous. I was using VectorLinux 5.8 SOHO previously. It contains kppp dialer. Its modem flow control is Hardware, what I have to set in this chestnut? RTS/CTS, DTR/CTS.

How can I increase the speed to the maximum?

Or Is there anyway to implement that kppp in this VL 6.0?
Logged
Re-installing is not a problem, but it is when I had to.

arundracula

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 57
Re: Modem permissions
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2009, 02:07:40 am »

I changed the permission of ttyACM0 file to my group. Then it shows error: connect script failed. carrier error.

Is there any way to change this?

I actually just had to this for my brother-in-law's laptop.

He uses a 3g modem from Verizon to connect, and it works with gnome-ppp. Had same permissions error.

I took another approach to the problem though
I did visudo to allow %users (all human users) rights to the DIAL values (which include the dialer and all)

After that, it all worked well.



What are the dial values? which files' permission are to be changed?
« Last Edit: April 01, 2009, 02:10:19 am by arundracula »
Logged
Re-installing is not a problem, but it is when I had to.

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1364
Re: Modem permissions
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2009, 03:58:05 am »

you may try chmod 666 /dev/modem rather than /dev/ttyacmo...I suggest this as my modem is /ttyshsfo but a link was auto created to dev/modem so I get the same error if I use/dev/tty

the speed can be changed via accounts config under the device tab but the speed may not change if the carrier does not offer the full speed...in some cases it is not registered correctly although it is functioning fine...guess I have no answer there

if that helps
cheers
« Last Edit: April 01, 2009, 04:00:00 am by overthere »
Logged
Everything Is Relative

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3258
Re: Modem permissions
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2009, 05:43:39 am »

@ arandracula My method does not change permissions, it simply gives the user more rights to access the stuff necessary.

IIRC, for the 3g modem to work, I had to have wvdial installed, because this si really what gnome-ppp uses.
So, your DIAL values in visudo include the path to the wvdial executable. the line would go like this

Quote
Cmnd_Alias      DIAL=/usr/bin/gkdial,/usr/X11R6/bin/xisp,/usr/sbin/wvdial,/usr/bin/gnome-ppp,/usr/bin/chestnut-dialer