VectorLinux
August 31, 2014, 11:33:03 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Vector Linux two thumbs up  (Read 1404 times)
justgettingoin
Member
*
Posts: 3


« on: March 15, 2009, 09:45:05 pm »

Hello to all    This is the first time I have posted on a board. I have tried many distros over the past 2 years, none felt as easy to install than Vector Linux 6. All those who work on the project deserve a great well done. I have a machine with Vector 5.9 on it already, I was impressed with that offering but so far 6 goes beyond anything else I have tried. kudos to all.
Logged

Messing with old throughaways
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2009, 03:02:12 am »

Welcome Aboard & Enjoy the Ride.

Dave

Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
justgettingoin
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2009, 09:41:09 pm »

I have been cruising around the forum site checking out anything that sparks an interest and I can see how helpful everyone seems to be. I look forward to checking in. Had my first mild problem tonight, booted up this old pIII, boot went fine and then opened firefox, PAGE NOT FOUND. For some reason didn't have a connection. Checked the wires for my lan all seemed to be hooked up properly. Then checked to see if the mac that shares it's network connection could go online, yes it could. So what could be the problem? The icon in the bottom right said limited connection -1? So now what? Well I've never been shy about pushing buttons. Has caused me plenty of late nights fixing. So start looking around. Some opening and playing later I came across Vector Control Center. Open it and there was networking. One trip through and here I am.
Linux is not new to me, I have been messing with Fedora for about a year now, so some of the commands etc. are familiar. I still feel like a newbie though. I look forward to talking to everyone here to try and learn.
Logged

Messing with old throughaways
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2009, 01:14:18 am »

Hi justgettingoin,

If the connection is lost when you reboot go to Vector control pannel >services and uncheck the box marked WICD  That should fix the problem on your machine.

Cheers!
Dave

Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
justgettingoin
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2009, 05:25:27 pm »

Thanks Dave, worked like a charm.
Logged

Messing with old throughaways
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!