VectorLinux
December 20, 2014, 11:44:57 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Proper X screw-up  (Read 3905 times)
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1319


« on: March 18, 2009, 02:41:23 am »

In gslapt I saw various x* files to be updated and proceeded, however, not all but quite a few, would not know which one now and ended up with no mouse and keyboard.

These are the errors on the console when getting out of X with Alt-F2:

(EE) module ABI major version (4) doesn't match the server's version (2)
(EE) Failed to load module "mouse" (module requirement mismatch, 0)
(EE) module ABI major version (4) doesn't match the server's version (2)
(EE) Failed to load module "kbd" (module requirement mismatch, 0)
(II) Module "ddc" already built-in
(EE) No Input driver matching `mouse'
(EE) No Input driver matching `kbd'

Can it be salvaged?

Thanks & regards
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2291


« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2009, 08:37:08 am »

try downgrading the xf86-input-keyboard and xf86-input-mouse packages.

The Xorg packages in /testing seem to need some work  Roll Eyes
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1319


« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2009, 08:11:30 pm »

try downgrading the xf86-input-keyboard and xf86-input-mouse packages.

The Xorg packages in /testing seem to need some work  Roll Eyes

Thanks! I mounted VL6.0-STD-RC4.6.iso and reinstalled X11.tgz. Xorg.log tells now that mouse and kb
are OK, however:

Fatal server error:
could not open default font 'fixed'

So I still cannot open X.

Where is that font 'fixed'?

I am working now in VL6.0-STD-RC4.6 partition with my working /home and /usr/local partitions.
So what is missing I could just copy from this box.
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2291


« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2009, 05:54:19 am »

Ummm, try running the font scripts in /var/log/scripts from the root directory.

Code:
cd /
sh /var/log/scripts/*font*
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1319


« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2009, 07:49:39 pm »

Ummm, try running the font scripts in /var/log/scripts from the root directory.

Code:
cd /
sh /var/log/scripts/*font*

Nothing doing.

How about deleting the entire X and then reinstall. The installpkg X11.tgz which  I did will only
overwrites the files, however, leave may be some bad once.

Is there a single command to remove all X11? Could it be removepkg X11?

Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2009, 10:27:55 pm »

Sorry, no, an X meta package was never created so there is no way to deal with it monolithically.  Having such a meta package in the future is probably a really good idea, though.

I've harped on this in the forums before but this seems like a really good example of why I say it:  never do automated upgrades with either testing or unstable repositories enabled.  It's a great way to break a system.  I'm just sorry that is what happened to you.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1319


« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2009, 11:55:08 pm »

Just for info, did a google inputting the error line 'could not open default font 'fixed''
and it seems it is not uncommon to happen. I will dig through the findings and hopefully find
the answer.

And Caitlyn is naturally right: never do automated upgrades with either testing or unstable repositories enabled.
Disabled testing right away.

Logged
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1319


« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2009, 05:03:21 pm »

Just for info, did a google inputting the error line 'could not open default font 'fixed''
and it seems it is not uncommon to happen. I will dig through the findings and hopefully find
the answer.

And Caitlyn is naturally right: never do automated upgrades with either testing or unstable repositories enabled.
Disabled testing right away.


BTW I had forgotten that the testing repo was enabled and when I upgraded X it did not show that it was using the test repo. May be a warning could be added like: "your are trying to upgrade from the testing repo this might mess-up your system, proceed, cancel  yes"
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #8 on: March 20, 2009, 10:06:03 pm »

Vector Linux does NOT have its own package management system.  You'll need to send this suggestion upstream to Jaos who writes slapt-get, gslapt, and slapt-notifier.  See http://www.jaos.org
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1319


« Reply #9 on: March 21, 2009, 11:57:38 pm »

Happy to annouce that I got my working box back with X after several failed attempts which
seemed to mess-up things even further.

This is what I did:

-- mounted VL6LightRC1.
-- opened *.tlz with mc and copied-update allmost all the files over to their respective directories.
-- rebooted
-- vasm autosetup
--  sh /var/log/scripts/font-misc-misc-1.0.0-noarch-3
-- entered startx and closed my eyes
-- opened my eyes and something pretty was smiling at me. Grin

Great SIGH, nothing was lost all is working properly even better, mc does now open iso files.
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2291


« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2009, 08:55:10 am »

Nice work Pita. Glad you got it working.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!