VectorLinux
August 30, 2014, 06:10:43 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Vector 6.0 Light RC1 feedback.  (Read 12496 times)
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« on: March 19, 2009, 06:17:15 am »

Please let us know how this version works for you. We really appreciate the time and effort of our volunteer testers.
Logged
Tommy599
Member
*
Posts: 61



« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2009, 11:42:12 pm »

I installed it on my laptop last night (the hardinfo_report generated by VL6 Light itself is attached).

1) The install went well until the "probing for edd..." appeared and it hung there, the cd wasn't spinning, nothing. I left it a few minutes but still no response. I tried again, same thing. So I typed linux edd=off and "probing for edd..." didn't appear and it was all good.

I selected my packages etc, all was fine. (I wrote Lilo to the mbr.  I had VL 5.9 Light on another partition, it recognized it)

2) When configuring the x server (the display) I went for the first option > 24 bits > 1024x768 (they worked in VL5.9 Light) and it said it can't configure X. I went back to the menu, tried again with 16 bits > 800X600, same result, failure. Third time I chose FULL AUTO and it went through. Rest of configuration all went ok.  When I rebooted, the TUI login appeared.  Huh I wrote startx buy it said that at least one device must be in the devices section. I then rebooted into VL 5.9 Light as root, copied the xorg.conf into VL6 Light and rebooted, and this time I was greeted by the nice (although huge) gui login for VL6 Light. Here's the xorg.conf from VL 5.9 Light:

Code:
# File generated by xf86config.

#
# Copyright (c) 1999 by The XFree86 Project, Inc.
#
# Permission is hereby granted, free of charge, to any person obtaining a
# copy of this software and associated documentation files (the "Software"),
# to deal in the Software without restriction, including without limitation
# the rights to use, copy, modify, merge, publish, distribute, sublicense,
# and/or sell copies of the Software, and to permit persons to whom the
# Software is furnished to do so, subject to the following conditions:
#
# The above copyright notice and this permission notice shall be included in
# all copies or substantial portions of the Software.
#
# THE SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED "AS IS", WITHOUT WARRANTY OF ANY KIND, EXPRESS OR
# IMPLIED, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY,
# FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND NONINFRINGEMENT.  IN NO EVENT SHALL
# THE XFREE86 PROJECT BE LIABLE FOR ANY CLAIM, DAMAGES OR OTHER LIABILITY,
# WHETHER IN AN ACTION OF CONTRACT, TORT OR OTHERWISE, ARISING FROM, OUT OF
# OR IN CONNECTION WITH THE SOFTWARE OR THE USE OR OTHER DEALINGS IN THE
# SOFTWARE.
#
# Except as contained in this notice, the name of the XFree86 Project shall
# not be used in advertising or otherwise to promote the sale, use or other
# dealings in this Software without prior written authorization from the
# XFree86 Project.
#

# **********************************************************************
# Refer to the XF86Config(4/5) man page for details about the format of
# this file.
# **********************************************************************

# NOTE:  This is a NEW IMPROVED version of XF86Config-fbdev that uses the vesa
# driver instead of the fbdev driver.  Thanks to Kenneth Fanyo who pointed
# this out to me. :)

# This XF86Config file is designed for use with the VESA framebuffer.
# This generic interface should work with nearly all video cards
# (although not every card will support every resolution).

# With the new driver, it should no longer be required to have frame buffer
# support in the kernel, or to run it on the console.
#
# Enjoy! :)
# -- volkerdi@slackware.com
#

# **********************************************************************
# Module section -- this  section  is used to specify
# which dynamically loadable modules to load.
# **********************************************************************
#
Section "Module"

# This loads the DBE extension module.

    Load        "dbe"  # Double buffer extension

# This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.
    SubSection  "extmod"
      Option    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    EndSubSection

# This loads the font modules
    Load        "type1"
    Load        "freetype"
    #Load        "speedo"

# This loads the GLX module
    Load       "glx"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Files section.  This allows default font and rgb paths to be set
# **********************************************************************

Section "Files"

# The location of the RGB database.  Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db").  There is normally
# no need to change the default.

    RgbPath "/usr/share/X11/rgb"

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (which are concatenated together),
# as well as specifying multiple comma-separated entries in one FontPath
# command (or a combination of both methods)
#
# If you don't have a floating point coprocessor and emacs, Mosaic or other
# programs take long to start up, try moving the Type1 and Speedo directory
# to the end of this list (or comment them out).
#

    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/local/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/OTF/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/CID/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/Speedo/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/cyrillic/"

# ModulePath can be used to set a search path for the X server modules.
# The default path is shown here.

#    ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Server flags section.
# **********************************************************************

Section "ServerFlags"

# Uncomment this to cause a core dump at the spot where a signal is
# received.  This may leave the console in an unusable state, but may
# provide a better stack trace in the core dump to aid in debugging

#    Option     "NoTrapSignals"

# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><Fn> VT switch sequence
# (where n is 1 through 12).  This allows clients to receive these key
# events.

#    Option     "DontVTSwitch"

# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><BS> server abort sequence
# This allows clients to receive this key event.

#    Option     "DontZap"

# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> mode switching
# sequences.  This allows clients to receive these key events.

#    Option     "DontZoom"

# Uncomment this to disable tuning with the xvidtune client. With
# it the client can still run and fetch card and monitor attributes,
# but it will not be allowed to change them. If it tries it will
# receive a protocol error.

#    Option     "DisableVidModeExtension"

# Uncomment this to enable the use of a non-local xvidtune client.

#    Option     "AllowNonLocalXvidtune"

# Uncomment this to disable dynamically modifying the input device
# (mouse and keyboard) settings.

#    Option     "DisableModInDev"

# Uncomment this to enable the use of a non-local client to
# change the keyboard or mouse settings (currently only xset).

#    Option     "AllowNonLocalModInDev"

# Set the basic blanking screen saver timeout.

#    Option      "blank time"    "10"    # 10 minutes

# Set the DPMS timeouts.  These are set here because they are global
# rather than screen-specific.  These settings alone don't enable DPMS.
# It is enabled per-screen (or per-monitor), and even then only when
# the driver supports it.

#    Option      "standby time"  "20"
#    Option      "suspend time"  "30"
#    Option      "off time"      "60"

# On some platform the server needs to estimate the sizes of PCI
# memory and pio ranges. This is done by assuming that PCI ranges
# don't overlap. Some broken BIOSes tend to set ranges of inactive
# devices wrong. Here one can adjust how aggressive the assumptions
# should be. Default is 0.

# Option   "EstimateSizesAggresively" "0"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Input devices
# **********************************************************************

# **********************************************************************
# Core keyboard's InputDevice section
# **********************************************************************

Section "InputDevice"

    Identifier "Keyboard1"
    Driver "kbd"
# For most OSs the protocol can be omitted (it defaults to "Standard").
# When using XQUEUE (only for SVR3 and SVR4, but not Solaris),
# uncomment the following line.

#    Option     "Protocol"      "Xqueue"

# Set the keyboard auto repeat parameters.  Not all platforms implement
# this.

#    Option     "AutoRepeat"    "500 5"

# Specifiy which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1)).

#    Option     "Xleds" "1 2 3"

# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.

#    Option     "XkbDisable"

# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults).  For example, for a European
# keyboard, you will probably want to use one of:
#
#    Option     "XkbModel"      "pc102"
#    Option     "XkbModel"      "pc105"
#
# If you have a Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
#
#    Option     "XkbModel"      "microsoft"
#
# If you have a US "windows" keyboard you will want:
#
#    Option     "XkbModel"      "pc104"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
#
#    Option     "XkbLayout"     "de"
#
# or:
#
#    Option     "XkbLayout"     "de"
#    Option     "XkbVariant"    "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
#
#    Option     "XkbOptions"    "ctrl:swapcaps"


# These are the default XKB settings for X.Org
#
#    Option     "XkbRules"      "xorg"
#    Option     "XkbModel"      "pc105"
#    Option     "XkbLayout"     "us"
#    Option     "XkbVariant"    ""
#    Option     "XkbOptions"    ""

EndSection


# **********************************************************************
# Core Pointer's InputDevice section
# **********************************************************************

Section "InputDevice"

# Identifier and driver

    Identifier "Mouse1"
    Driver "mouse"

# On platforms where PnP mouse detection is supported the following
# protocol setting can be used when using a newer PnP mouse:

#    Option     "Protocol"      "Auto"

# The available mouse protocols types that you can set below are:
#    Auto BusMouse GlidePoint GlidePointPS/2 IntelliMouse IMPS/2
#    Logitech Microsoft MMHitTab MMSeries Mouseman MouseManPlusPS/2
#    MouseSystems NetMousePS/2 NetScrollPS/2 OSMouse PS/2 SysMouse
#    ThinkingMouse ThinkingMousePS/2 Xqueue
    Option "Protocol"    "PS/2"

# The mouse device.  The device is normally set to /dev/mouse,
# which is usually a symbolic link to the real device.

    Option "Device"      "/dev/mouse"
#   Option "Device"      "/dev/psaux"
#   Option "Device"      "/dev/ttyS0"
#   Option "Device"      "/dev/ttyS1"

# When using XQUEUE, comment out the above two lines, and uncomment
# the following line.

#    Option "Protocol" "Xqueue"

# Baudrate and SampleRate are only for some Logitech mice. In
# almost every case these lines should be omitted.

#    Option "BaudRate" "9600"
#    Option "SampleRate" "150"

# Emulate3Buttons is an option for 2-button Microsoft mice
# Emulate3Timeout is the timeout in milliseconds (default is 50ms)

#    Option "Emulate3Buttons"
#    Option "Emulate3Timeout"    "50"

# ChordMiddle is an option for some 3-button Logitech mice

#    Option "ChordMiddle"

EndSection

# Some examples of extended input devices

# Section "InputDevice"
#    Identifier "spaceball"
#    Driver     "magellan"
#    Option     "Device"        "/dev/cua0"
# EndSection
#
# Section "InputDevice"
#    Identifier "spaceball2"
#    Driver     "spaceorb"
#    Option     "Device"        "/dev/cua0"
# EndSection
#
# Section "InputDevice"
#    Identifier "touchscreen0"
#    Driver     "microtouch"
#    Option     "Device"        "/dev/ttyS0"
#    Option     "MinX"          "1412"
#    Option     "MaxX"          "15184"
#    Option     "MinY"          "15372"
#    Option     "MaxY"          "1230"
#    Option     "ScreenNumber"  "0"
#    Option     "ReportingMode" "Scaled"
#    Option     "ButtonNumber"  "1"
#    Option     "SendCoreEvents"
# EndSection
#
# Section "InputDevice"
#    Identifier "touchscreen1"
#    Driver     "elo2300"
#    Option     "Device"        "/dev/ttyS0"
#    Option     "MinX"          "231"
#    Option     "MaxX"          "3868"
#    Option     "MinY"          "3858"
#    Option     "MaxY"          "272"
#    Option     "ScreenNumber"  "0"
#    Option     "ReportingMode" "Scaled"
#    Option     "ButtonThreshold"       "17"
#    Option     "ButtonNumber"  "1"
#    Option     "SendCoreEvents"
# EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Monitor section
# **********************************************************************

# Any number of monitor sections may be present

Section "Monitor"

    Identifier  "My Monitor"
 DisplaySize 269 201 # 96 DPI @ 1024x768
# HorizSync is in kHz unless units are specified.
# HorizSync may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
# comma separated list of ranges of values.
# NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY.  REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
# USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.

    HorizSync   31.5 - 50.0

#    HorizSync 30-64         # multisync
#    HorizSync 31.5, 35.2    # multiple fixed sync frequencies
#    HorizSync 15-25, 30-50  # multiple ranges of sync frequencies

# VertRefresh is in Hz unless units are specified.
# VertRefresh may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
# comma separated list of ranges of values.
# NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY.  REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
# USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.

    VertRefresh 40-90

EndSection


# **********************************************************************
# Graphics device section
# **********************************************************************

# Any number of graphics device sections may be present

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "VESA Framebuffer"
    Driver      "vesa"
    #VideoRam    4096
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Screen sections
# **********************************************************************

# Any number of screen sections may be present.  Each describes
# the configuration of a single screen.  A single specific screen section
# may be specified from the X server command line with the "-screen"
# option.
Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 1"
    Device      "VESA Framebuffer"
    Monitor     "My Monitor"

# If your card can handle it, a higher default color depth (like 24 or 32)
# is highly recommended.

#   DefaultDepth 8
#   DefaultDepth 16
   DefaultDepth 24
#   DefaultDepth 32

# "1024x768" is also a conservative usable default resolution.  If you
# have a better monitor, feel free to try resolutions such as
# "1152x864", "1280x1024", "1600x1200", and "1800x1400" (or whatever your
# card/monitor can produce)

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       8
        Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       32
        Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# ServerLayout sections.
# **********************************************************************

# Any number of ServerLayout sections may be present.  Each describes
# the way multiple screens are organised.  A specific ServerLayout
# section may be specified from the X server command line with the
# "-layout" option.  In the absence of this, the first section is used.
# When now ServerLayout section is present, the first Screen section
# is used alone.

Section "ServerLayout"

# The Identifier line must be present
    Identifier  "Simple Layout"

# Each Screen line specifies a Screen section name, and optionally
# the relative position of other screens.  The four names after
# primary screen name are the screens to the top, bottom, left and right
# of the primary screen.  In this example, screen 2 is located to the
# right of screen 1.

    Screen "Screen 1"

# Each InputDevice line specifies an InputDevice section name and
# optionally some options to specify the way the device is to be
# used.  Those options include "CorePointer", "CoreKeyboard" and
# "SendCoreEvents".

    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"

EndSection


After I logged in, I changed the wallpaper (they are all very nice, although renaming them would be a good idea, like NorwayNight etc.), looked at some of the themes but I like the default one the best.
I plugged in my memory stick, and the shortcut to it appeared on the desktop, very cool, I copied the hardinfo report and the xorg.conf to it and then unplugged.
I couldn't find a dual pane file manager  Undecided to make copying files easier. Maybe there is, I didn't see it.

And then I rebooted into VL 5.9  Light but it wouldn't log in to my usual account. I selected failsafe session and logged in but I only got a console. I suspect this has something to do with the fact that I selected /home for VL6 Light the same as /home for VL 5.9 Light. My files are ok and I can log in as root in VL 5.9 Light  Huh

I will give VL 6 Light a more thorough test run tonight (testing all the shortcuts and functions etc.)

3) And one other thing: where are the games in VL6 Light? Smiley

p.s.: I see in the hardinfo that it was using 43 MB of RAM at the moment. That's about a 10Mb increase over VL5.9 but it is still very impressive and it's fast, the file managers, and firefox opened really fast! The install only took about 45 mins on a 3GB partition, which is awesome! Very good job all who made this possible! Congratulations!
« Last Edit: March 21, 2009, 06:40:14 am by Tommy599 » Logged

Vector Linux 6.0 Light Final
Toshiba Satellite Pro 4200 @ 500Mhz/128MB/20GB
Registered Linux user #470287
t599.mybrute.com <- can you defeat me?
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2009, 06:59:02 am »

Nice testing report. It obviously took some Linux knowledge to get it running, thanks for sticking with it.  Smiley

Your xorg.conf looks like the default vesa version. I think VL5.9 had more extensive support for older hardware.

Sharing home dir between versions can definitely cause configuration problems if you use same user names in both versions. It is safest to have a unique username for each boot profile. Then use a separate dir for your documents, or place a link to your old home dir in the new one. The root account will not be affected.

For dual pane file manager, only Midnight Commander is included. You can get emelfm2 or 4pane from the repo.

No games are included, use gslapt to download your personal favorites.

The icewm/pcmanfm combination does consume some memory. In return it makes the desktop quite useful, especially when you use vl-hot. JWM is a little more frugal, and fluxbox is also available from repo.
Logged
Tommy599
Member
*
Posts: 61



« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2009, 10:09:31 am »

I did some more testing:

1) a small detail I forgot to mention from the install: at the end of the unpacking of the last package, the ig2.tlz i think, it said 109% when done.

2) I like the urxvt, nice transparency. But when I open a new tab in it, why are the tabs in sync? I had vim opened in one tab, I opened a man page in another tab and switched back to the first tab and the man page was open there too  Huh.

3)In the desktop settings, when I change the terminal what is supposed to change? I didn't notice any change.

4) For the Ice Gil Grey skin, in the windows list (alt+ctrl+esc) the window titles and the background are both black so the window titles are only visible when selected

5) I started all the apps from the start menu (or favorite programs menu, as it appears in the tooltip), they all worked. And no, I didn't close them, ALL of them were running at once  Grin

App list part1
App list part2
gkrellm


6) I inserted a CD, I could browse it no problems, view documents, pics, and even avi movies from the cd! I even opened an archive and played the avi from inside it directly (although it played in Firefox  Huh but it played! )

7) When I click on an icon from the desktop, and press enter, nothing happens. When I put the cd in, I clicked on the CD/DVD and pressed Enter and nothing happened. Had to double click to bring up the menu, not really comfortable for me because I only have buttons and the "nipple", no touchpad.


Thanks for the advice on the profiles, I think I will just try to save some config files if possible and wipe the old VL Light when the 6 final will appear. I'm really impressed. it's like almost nothing is missing (screensavers, wallpapers, all the apps) and it runs fast. Even with all the apps open, like in the pics, the music was playing without any interruptions  Cheesy (and it's just an old laptop!!!!!)  It's awesome!


« Last Edit: March 21, 2009, 10:18:46 am by Tommy599 » Logged

Vector Linux 6.0 Light Final
Toshiba Satellite Pro 4200 @ 500Mhz/128MB/20GB
Registered Linux user #470287
t599.mybrute.com <- can you defeat me?
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2009, 11:33:56 am »

Quote
2) I like the urxvt, nice transparency. But when I open a new tab in it, why are the tabs in sync? I had vim opened in one tab, I opened a man page in another tab and switched back to the first tab and the man page was open there too  Huh.
Never seen that behavior. Is it consistent, or just with certain combinations of commands?

Quote
3)In the desktop settings, when I change the terminal what is supposed to change? I didn't notice any change.
It changes what is used when you click Tool > Open terminal (or hit F4).

Quote
4) For the Ice Gil Grey skin, in the windows list (alt+ctrl+esc) the window titles and the background are both black so the window titles are only visible when selected
Nice catch. Got it fixed.

Quote
7) When I click on an icon from the desktop, and press enter, nothing happens. When I put the cd in, I clicked on the CD/DVD and pressed Enter and nothing happened. Had to double click to bring up the menu, not really comfortable for me because I only have buttons and the "nipple", no touchpad.
One workaround would be to use "Open with single click" in pcmanfm > edit > preferences > general > behavior

Logged
Tommy599
Member
*
Posts: 61



« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2009, 12:39:59 pm »

Oh wait, sorry, I was using ctrl+arrows to "switch" tabs, I was actually moving the tabs around, tabs are switched with shift+arrows.... Lips sealed

Tool - Open Terminal - where is that? F4 isn't doing anything.

The single click setting works, thanks!
Logged

Vector Linux 6.0 Light Final
Toshiba Satellite Pro 4200 @ 500Mhz/128MB/20GB
Registered Linux user #470287
t599.mybrute.com <- can you defeat me?
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2009, 12:53:36 pm »

Quote
Tool - Open Terminal - where is that? F4 isn't doing anything.
This is when you are using the pcmanfm file manager (My Documents on the desktop).
Logged
Tommy599
Member
*
Posts: 61



« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2009, 01:17:36 pm »

That works!

I measured startup times of the two VL Lights (time for typing in login not included)

6.0 RC1 - 1 min 08 secs
5.9 FINAL - 1 min 10 secs

Shutdown:

6.0 RC1 - 22 secs
5.9 FINAL - 15 secs

I only did 1 measurement so the average may differ but overall I'm happy with RC1, will soon replace 5.9 completely.

Good job to everyone who made this possible!
 Grin

( I can't test the functions for which an internet connection is needed, I can't connect the laptop to the internet. Well actually I can but for some reason, I have to wait about 6 hrs for the internet to work from the time I unplug it from the pc and plug it in the lappy and vice-versa  Huh )



Logged

Vector Linux 6.0 Light Final
Toshiba Satellite Pro 4200 @ 500Mhz/128MB/20GB
Registered Linux user #470287
t599.mybrute.com <- can you defeat me?
kozimodo
Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2009, 09:24:09 am »

Hi all,

I installed the RC last night on an old Dell Inspiron 3500.  Pretty snappy.

I can report on two issues so far.

1) I installed light kdm and logging out does not work.  I goes to the bootup splash screen and does nothing.  If I switch to another console and kill the kdm process, kdm will start up.

2) The installation did not generate ssh keys for sshd and as a result, sshd does not start.

And I also have a question -- where is the script where I can add commands to be run at shutdown or reboot?  In particular, I need to "rmmod ndiswrapper" otherwise on reboot, it hangs after the BIOS system check.  (I know this from experience with other distros.)

Thanks,
kozi

Edit: Oops, I just noticed that the rc.sshd script should generate keys for me so it must be that I do not have sshd set to start.  It is executable (rc.sshd) so perhaps someone can tell me how to do it.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2009, 09:29:06 am by kozimodo » Logged
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2009, 11:35:26 am »

I would not consider either of your issues an issue for a distro release because neither facilities are included with VL Light! There already is a login manager, so installing light kdm is superfluous. Because VL Light is a "light" distro it does not start unnecessary daemons by default.

However, you can enable the sshd daemon with vasm: Menu, System, VASM, enter root password, Service, SrvSet, 4, enable sshd.
Sorry, can't help you with the kdm issue.

Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2009, 02:07:35 pm »

1) I installed light kdm and logging out does not work.  I goes to the bootup splash screen and does nothing.  If I switch to another console and kill the kdm process, kdm will start up.

Are you talking about the included "kdm-small", or is this a different one?
Logged
kozimodo
Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2009, 03:34:22 pm »

Are you talking about the included "kdm-small", or is this a different one?
Yes, that's the one.
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2009, 07:05:13 pm »

Try using vasm and change to GDM or XDM and see if it helps.
Logged
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #13 on: March 22, 2009, 11:38:40 pm »

Made a hosted installation just to check if things look the same as in my work box
where I had copied all the RC1 files into and yes xmessage is having now a larger font.

Possitively noted that time on panel is in 24 H format.

Dillo has no more black pages. I am using it right now.

Cups was not started after first boot neither nvidia which I have now in my work-box.

My printer, -- ye same old story Huh Huh. No problem in workbox so.

CD/DVD icon click working with xmms starting to play. I copied desktop icon and
explorer_cd into HP2133 Mini-Note to the delight of the owner of the unit.
Logged
Tommy599
Member
*
Posts: 61



« Reply #14 on: March 23, 2009, 07:51:37 am »

I'm now using RC1 on a regular basis and I noticed this typo (?) in pcmanfm:  when I try to paste multiple files over files with the same name (not identical files), it says:

 "filename" has existed. Do you want to overwrite this file?

It should say

"filename" already exists

or something like that.
Logged

Vector Linux 6.0 Light Final
Toshiba Satellite Pro 4200 @ 500Mhz/128MB/20GB
Registered Linux user #470287
t599.mybrute.com <- can you defeat me?
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!