VectorLinux
April 24, 2014, 12:14:35 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Compiz problem  (Read 5822 times)
arundracula
Member
*
Posts: 57


« on: March 24, 2009, 09:51:52 am »

I am using VL 6.0 STD GOLD. I searched compiz inside the gslapt package manager and installed the shown things.

After install when I select compiz as window manager, the title bar gets disappeared. Also when I select a theme in Emerald theme manager, it doesn't show up because I can't see my title bar. All other are ok, I think. I am trying compiz for the first time. So I uninstalled compiz for now.

Which are the packages needed for compiz for 3d desktop and window effects?
Logged

Re-installing is not a problem, but it is when I had to.
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2009, 10:08:46 am »

There are several packages to select to get compiz operating correctly.
I made a tutorial to guide people through it. Sorry I have not memorized the different packages or I'd just write them down for you.
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/Tutorial/VL60/07.System/Compiz-Fusion/compiz.htm
This is a flash video of an actual install on VL6.0, worked perfectly.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3134



« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2009, 10:19:15 am »

ccsm-0.7.8
compiz-0.7.8
compiz-bcop-0.7.8
compiz-fusion-plugins-extra-0.7.8
compiz-fusion-plugins-main-0.7.8
compiz-fusion-plugins-unsupported-0.7.8
compizconfig-python-0.7.8
emerald-0.7.4
emerald-themes-0.2.1
fusion-icon-0.01
libcompizconfig-0.7.8
simple-ccsm-0.7.8

That should be the list of packages you need for a working compiz environment, plus any other deps picked up by any of these pacakges.

What kind of video hardware do you own? maybe your problem is video related and not compiz... this whole compiz deal is very sensitve to video issues.
Logged

arundracula
Member
*
Posts: 57


« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2009, 08:42:42 am »

Compiz is working perfectly except the titlebar problem.

This is my xorg.conf

Code:

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier     "X.org Configured"
Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath      "/usr/share/X11/rgb"
ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load  "glx"
Load  "extmod"
Load  "xtrap"
Load  "record"
Load  "GLcore"
Load  "dbe"
#Load  "dri"
Load  "freetype"
Load  "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier  "Keyboard0"
Driver      "kbd"
Option  "XkbLayout"  "us"    ## KEYBOARD_MAP!
Option  "XkbModel"  ""    ## KEYBOARD_MODEL!
Option  "Xkbvariant"  ""    ## KEYBOARD_VARIANT!
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier  "Mouse0"
Driver      "mouse"
Option     "Protocol" "auto"
Option     "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option     "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Option "DPMS"
DisplaySize 269 201 # 96 DPI @ 1024x768
Option "UseEdidFreqs" "1"
Identifier   "Monitor0"
VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName    "Monitor Model"
HorizSync 30-71
VertRefresh 50-160
EndSection

Section "Device"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
Option "RenderAccel" "true"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
Option "USEdidDPI" "false"
Option "DPI" "96 x 96"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option     "SWcursor"            # [<bool>]
#Option     "HWcursor"            # [<bool>]
#Option     "NoAccel"            # [<bool>]
#Option     "ShadowFB"            # [<bool>]
#Option     "UseFBDev"            # [<bool>]
#Option     "Rotate"              # [<str>]
#Option     "VideoKey"            # <i>
#Option     "FlatPanel"          # [<bool>]
#Option     "FPDither"            # [<bool>]
#Option     "CrtcNumber"          # <i>
#Option     "FPScale"            # [<bool>]
#Option     "FPTweak"            # <i>
#Option     "DualHead"            # [<bool>]
Identifier  "Card0"
Driver      "nvidia"
VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName   "GeForce 8600 GT"
BusID       "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device     "Card0"
Monitor    "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     1
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     4
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     8
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     15
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     16
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "on"
EndSection



And my graphics card is nVidia GeForce 8600GT. When installing VectorLinux, I selected the nvidia beta latest driver.


Logged

Re-installing is not a problem, but it is when I had to.
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2009, 09:50:39 am »

I think your problem lies within the gtk-window-decorator

You could try issuing the command gtk-window-decorator --replace.

If it just freezes up in the terminal than that may be the issue.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3134



« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2009, 09:54:55 am »

How are you starting compiz?

open a terminal and issue this command
Code:
fusion-icon
DO NOT RUN THAT AS ROOT

Post your output here.
Logged

stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2009, 10:30:07 am »

I have recently installed VL6.0 fresh, so I thought I'd reinstall Compiz as described above and see if that would help me answer arundracula's question. 
Funny thing, even though I had compiz working perfectly before ( I even have video to prove it.) I am now having the same problem as arundracula. No titlebar or anything else that should be rendered via gtk-window-decorator.

Here is my output when I run fusion-icon in terminal.
ken:$ fusion-icon
 * Detected Session: unknown
 * Searching for installed applications...
 * NVIDIA on Xorg detected, exporting: __GL_YIELD=NOTHING
 * Using the GTK Interface
 * Starting Compiz
 ... executing: compiz --replace --sm-disable --ignore-desktop-hints ccp

Here is my output after reloading window manager but with the window decorator changed to emerald.
... executing: compiz --replace --sm-disable --ignore-desktop-hints ccp
 * Setting decorator to GTK Window Decorator ("gtk-window-decorator --replace")
 * Setting decorator to Emerald ("emerald --replace")
 * Setting decorator to Emerald ("emerald --replace")
 * Reloading compiz
 ... executing: compiz --replace --sm-disable --ignore-desktop-hints ccp

(emerald:5461): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_object_ref: assertion `G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed

I get a similar output when I run emerald --replace in the terminal.
ken:$ emerald --replace

(emerald:5662): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_object_ref: assertion `G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed


Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3134



« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2009, 10:41:03 am »

@ stretchedthin

Does your compiz work or are you having similar issues?
Logged

stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2009, 10:53:40 am »

I am having the same issues. 

On this same system about 20 days ago I had no issues and made the video of it I posted at the start of this thread.  I have since done a fresh install of VL and had to reinstall compiz.  This time around I am experiencing the same issues as arundracula.

Ken
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3134



« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2009, 11:19:27 am »

This is just a shot in the air, but try it anyway

in /etc/profild.d/vasm.sh
Find this line
Code:
export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
and comment it.
restart your X session, and try again

See if that solves anything

If nothing changes, I'd suggest restoring the line to it's original state.
Logged

stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2009, 12:16:34 pm »

Praise to you, ohh wise one. Smiley

That was a very impressive shot in the air.  I now have full window decorations, titlebar etc, working in both gtk and emerald.

arundracula I hope you are sticking with this thread I think Moe found your fix.


Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3134



« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2009, 12:33:42 pm »

Enjoy Wink
Logged

arundracula
Member
*
Posts: 57


« Reply #12 on: March 26, 2009, 11:15:46 am »

Thanks. It worked.

Just because of curiosity, what is the meaning of that line?

 export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1

will it work if we set the value to 0 in the above line?
Logged

Re-installing is not a problem, but it is when I had to.
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3134



« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2009, 11:28:39 am »

Not sure... I dont even know what that does, it looks like it's a boolean type variable, meaning that setting it to 0 would be the same as commenting it out, would assign a FALSE value to it.
Logged

arundracula
Member
*
Posts: 57


« Reply #14 on: March 27, 2009, 10:51:10 am »

OK. Thank you for your help.

Does the command fusion-icon start the Compiz Fusion Icon?

If yes, will it be a problem if we add that command in the autostarted applications. I mean something needs to initialize before running compiz and autostarting will make any problem.

Logged

Re-installing is not a problem, but it is when I had to.
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!