VectorLinux
November 22, 2014, 02:12:49 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Disable eth0  (Read 2021 times)
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3259


-- Just being myself --


« on: March 26, 2009, 08:17:20 pm »

I am currently using laptop for VL6/5.9 and most of the time I use my wireless card to connect to network. Is there a way to disable the wire NIC in VL?
Logged
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1426



« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2009, 11:14:58 pm »

You got me, hata_ph.  Its easy to turn the wired icon on and off in WICD, but I don't know what "wire NIC" is, nor why one would want to turn it off.   Sorry.

But THANKS for putting lyx 1.6.1 in the repositories for VL 6.0

John
« Last Edit: March 27, 2009, 11:12:09 am by sledgehammer » Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3259


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2009, 12:48:49 am »

NIC = Network Interface Card Smiley

BTW, I have packaged lyx-1.6.2 for VL6 and 5.9. Maybe you can have a try once it is uploaded to the testing repo. Tongue
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4029



« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2009, 04:56:35 am »

vasm > network > inet > del
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1857


« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2009, 04:59:00 am »

rmmod the kernel module for the NIC and then blacklist it
in /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.

When you want or need the NIC you can then just modprobe the
module, ifconfig eth0 up and the dhcpcd eth0.

Bigpaws
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2009, 05:12:19 am »

ifconfig eth0 down
Logged

hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3259


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2009, 06:57:57 am »

ifconfig eth0 down

can i put it in rc.local to disable it at start up?

Will disable unwanted hardware like this free up system resource?
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #7 on: March 27, 2009, 07:10:07 am »

If you dont want it to come up at all, the blacklist method is a lot better
Get the module name from /etc/modules.conf
Code:
cat /etc/modules.conf | grep eth0
add the module to the blacklist
Code:
echo "blacklist <name_of_module>" >> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!