VectorLinux
November 01, 2014, 02:06:07 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: boot-problem; VL5.9 Light  (Read 1187 times)
Sonic

« on: March 30, 2009, 09:22:06 am »

hi all,
first of all i want to mention that i'm not very experienced with linux.

my problem is as follows:
i boot from cd and setup works fine. it's just very slow... especially the process of "making swap partition" and copying files. that needs very long time, but maybe that's normal^^
also my hard drives are detected and all seems to work fine, but when it comes to boot my brand new installed vectorlinux i get an error.
when booting from lilo the standard decision (gui for desktop), and even under tui, it starts booting until i can see following lines:

TuxOnIce: Resume= parameter is empty. Hibernating will be disabled.
VFS: Cannot open root device "1601" or unknown-block(22,1)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option; here are the available partitions:
0340   4194302 hdb driver: ide-cdrom
Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(22,1)

nothing works anymore. if i boot with the boot-option "2.6.22.19" all seems to work fine. vectorlinux starts and i can log in.

has anyone an idea how to solve that problem?

if you need information about the hardware i use, you can see my computer-profile here:http://www.sysprofile.de/id68703
this page is in german but i think you'll understand most of the importend things ;-)

Sonic
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian

« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2009, 10:54:58 am »