Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: Vector rookie...Simple questions  (Read 2229 times)

Green-1

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Vector rookie...Simple questions
« on: April 13, 2009, 11:49:56 pm »
Whats the max ram Vector will support? Also, will it work fine on a core 2 duo? Many thanks to whoever answers this. ;D

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: Vector rookie...Simple questions
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2009, 07:56:42 am »
Whatever you can throw at it, but remember, unlike Windows Vista, VL can happily and quickly run with 512MB. Yes, will work with a dual core machine.
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: Vector rookie...Simple questions
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2009, 08:50:48 am »
My guess is that being a 32bit OS the max ram VL will support is limited to 4gb.

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2299
Re: Vector rookie...Simple questions
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2009, 12:41:54 pm »
You can use up to 64gb of ram by using PAE
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: Vector rookie...Simple questions
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2009, 01:30:48 pm »
My guess is that being a 32bit OS the max ram VL will support is limited to 4gb.

That is unless you enable PAE kernel support, like rbistolfi said, in which case you'll be able to use up to 64GB.

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: Vector rookie...Simple questions
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2009, 03:21:01 pm »
Ah... so the answer is 64 gb is the max VL6StdGld will allow.  Good to know.

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: Vector rookie...Simple questions
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2009, 07:22:21 pm »
No.. 64gb is not the max VL6 STD will allow... it's what the linux kernel will allow.

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: Vector rookie...Simple questions
« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2009, 08:50:17 am »
Okay Moe... Then what is the max ram Vectorlinux 6.0 Standard Gold will support (given the supplied kernel)?
I've got a sneaking suspicion I already know the answer but I'm excited to hear it from your fingertips ;)
....go ahead.... we're ready ::)

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: Vector rookie...Simple questions
« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2009, 09:48:49 am »
we have PAE enabled, but only to support 4G of ram
Code: [Select]
root:# grep HIGHMEM /boot/config-2.6.27.12
# CONFIG_NOHIGHMEM is not set
CONFIG_HIGHMEM4G=y
# CONFIG_HIGHMEM64G is not set
CONFIG_HIGHMEM=y

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1311
Re: Vector rookie...Simple questions
« Reply #9 on: April 15, 2009, 07:13:47 pm »
Well I'm curious...what would a person be doing that required that much ram.. :-\
Everything Is Relative

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: Vector rookie...Simple questions
« Reply #10 on: April 16, 2009, 04:43:08 am »
3-D modeling and rendering comes to mind.
The Adobe Creative Suite will happily gobble it up.
My son has a virtual organ setup that requires 16 GB to load all the sound samples.
I have seen my own file server get bogged down when I transfer files larger than the amount of RAM it has, as it can not stuff the data onto the hard drives fast enough.

But, for 90+ % of the time, 1 GB is plenty for a VL machine doing "the usual" (surfing, e-mailing, playing media etc.).

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2299
Re: Vector rookie...Simple questions
« Reply #11 on: April 16, 2009, 08:35:48 am »
Okay Moe... Then what is the max ram Vectorlinux 6.0 Standard Gold will support (given the supplied kernel)?
I've got a sneaking suspicion I already know the answer but I'm excited to hear it from your fingertips ;)
....go ahead.... we're ready ::)

Well, imho, VL supports whatever the kernel does, you would just need a small tweak in the VL kernel config for supporting the whole 64GB.
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

The Headacher

  • Louder than you
  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1553
  • I like the bass to go BOOM!
    • Multimedia on VL (work in progress)
Re: Vector rookie...Simple questions
« Reply #12 on: April 16, 2009, 12:37:32 pm »
Quote
My son has a virtual organ setup that requires 16 GB to load all the sound samples.
Crikey. That's more sound samples than I have in total (more ram too)!

Also, don't forget gaming or numeric computing, or handling large databases.
Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: Vector rookie...Simple questions
« Reply #13 on: April 16, 2009, 04:56:18 pm »
Quote
My son has a virtual organ setup that requires 16 GB to load all the sound samples.
Crikey. That's more sound samples than I have in total (more ram too)!

Yeah, it's pretty impressive. Forgive a proud father for bragging a little:
http://www.youtube.com/user/stefanussen?blend=2&ob=1