VectorLinux
September 01, 2014, 10:28:18 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Vector rookie...Simple questions  (Read 2060 times)
Green-1
Member
*
Posts: 1


« on: April 13, 2009, 11:49:56 pm »

Whats the max ram Vector will support? Also, will it work fine on a core 2 duo? Many thanks to whoever answers this. Grin
Logged
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2009, 07:56:42 am »

Whatever you can throw at it, but remember, unlike Windows Vista, VL can happily and quickly run with 512MB. Yes, will work with a dual core machine.
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2009, 08:50:48 am »

My guess is that being a 32bit OS the max ram VL will support is limited to 4gb.
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2282


« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2009, 12:41:54 pm »

You can use up to 64gb of ram by using PAE
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3179



« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2009, 01:30:48 pm »

My guess is that being a 32bit OS the max ram VL will support is limited to 4gb.

That is unless you enable PAE kernel support, like rbistolfi said, in which case you'll be able to use up to 64GB.
Logged

newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2009, 03:21:01 pm »

Ah... so the answer is 64 gb is the max VL6StdGld will allow.  Good to know.
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3179



« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2009, 07:22:21 pm »

No.. 64gb is not the max VL6 STD will allow... it's what the linux kernel will allow.
Logged

newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2009, 08:50:17 am »

Okay Moe... Then what is the max ram Vectorlinux 6.0 Standard Gold will support (given the supplied kernel)?
I've got a sneaking suspicion I already know the answer but I'm excited to hear it from your fingertips Wink
....go ahead.... we're ready Roll Eyes
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2009, 09:48:49 am »

we have PAE enabled, but only to support 4G of ram
Code:
root:# grep HIGHMEM /boot/config-2.6.27.12
# CONFIG_NOHIGHMEM is not set
CONFIG_HIGHMEM4G=y
# CONFIG_HIGHMEM64G is not set
CONFIG_HIGHMEM=y
Logged
overthere
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1274



« Reply #9 on: April 15, 2009, 07:13:47 pm »

Well I'm curious...what would a person be doing that required that much ram.. Undecided
Logged

Everything Is Relative
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« Reply #10 on: April 16, 2009, 04:43:08 am »

3-D modeling and rendering comes to mind.
The Adobe Creative Suite will happily gobble it up.
My son has a virtual organ setup that requires 16 GB to load all the sound samples.
I have seen my own file server get bogged down when I transfer files larger than the amount of RAM it has, as it can not stuff the data onto the hard drives fast enough.

But, for 90+ % of the time, 1 GB is plenty for a VL machine doing "the usual" (surfing, e-mailing, playing media etc.).
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2282


« Reply #11 on: April 16, 2009, 08:35:48 am »

Okay Moe... Then what is the max ram Vectorlinux 6.0 Standard Gold will support (given the supplied kernel)?
I've got a sneaking suspicion I already know the answer but I'm excited to hear it from your fingertips Wink
....go ahead.... we're ready Roll Eyes

Well, imho, VL supports whatever the kernel does, you would just need a small tweak in the VL kernel config for supporting the whole 64GB.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1545


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #12 on: April 16, 2009, 12:37:32 pm »

Quote
My son has a virtual organ setup that requires 16 GB to load all the sound samples.
Crikey. That's more sound samples than I have in total (more ram too)!

Also, don't forget gaming or numeric computing, or handling large databases.
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« Reply #13 on: April 16, 2009, 04:56:18 pm »

Quote
My son has a virtual organ setup that requires 16 GB to load all the sound samples.
Crikey. That's more sound samples than I have in total (more ram too)!

Yeah, it's pretty impressive. Forgive a proud father for bragging a little:
http://www.youtube.com/user/stefanussen?blend=2&ob=1
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!