VectorLinux
July 29, 2014, 12:36:10 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can a newbie handle it?  (Read 1258 times)
rcbyr
Member
*
Posts: 2


« on: April 18, 2009, 08:46:54 pm »

 Smiley    Vector Linux 6.0 has really caught my imagination! However, with its roots in Slackware I'm afraid I can't handle it. I can do Ubuntu for example, as long as I don't have to go to a command line. So, my question is, in Vector Linux 6.0 will I have to?? Can a newbie handle it?
Thanks.
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2009, 09:26:59 pm »

I was very much a newbie when I started with Vector.  Like you I came from Ubuntu as my first Linux experience. 
Depending on how you plan on using your computer (and I have no idea how that is), you may never touch the command line in Vector.
What I can say is that you have already made a choice that will make your Vector experience as easy as possible and that is joining this forum. Really a great group here. I'm sure any questions you do have as you adjust will be answered.
Ken
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2009, 04:03:21 am »

Glad you Chose Vector think you'll find there are very few times that you'd have to use the C.L.  But if your willing to learn this is a great group for teaching.
Cheers,
Dave
Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
rcbyr
Member
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2009, 06:00:54 am »

 Shocked Wow, two answers overnight! I'm going to buy a second computer and take the Vector plunge. I really appreciate your encouragement.
-Will let you know how it goes. Tks.
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2869


WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2009, 09:02:52 am »

There are times when things go wrong in Ubuntu that you really do need the command line.  The same is true in Vector Linux.  There are many things that can be handled through the GUI that are just plain faster and easier to deal with if you get comfortable on the command line.  That's true in Vector Linux or Ubuntu or any other Linux.

So... my answer is that it may be a bit more work to install Vector Linux than Ubuntu simply because the VL installer asks more questions and gives you more choices of how to install.  Once its running and configured properly Vector isn't any harder than Ubuntu or any easier.  My advice to all who are new to Linux is first get your system running in a way that's comfortable to you.  Then if you want to do something and someone suggests a command line solution don't be afraid to try their suggestion.  It's isn't all that hard (or hard at all) once you lose the phobia Smiley
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2009, 03:22:09 pm »

This thread has good recommendations for lists of CLI commands.

http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=5236.0
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
Windozer
Vectorite
***
Posts: 386


Have Vector Linux, Will Travel.


« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2009, 03:28:55 pm »

Shocked Wow, two answers overnight! I'm going to buy a second computer and take the Vector plunge. I really appreciate your encouragement.
-Will let you know how it goes. Tks.

Hi rcbyr,

and welcome to Vector and the forum...

Actually, I'm surprised you didn't get four answers overnight --- we're a really friendly and helpful bunch here!

cheers,
Howard
Logged

483,617th Registered Linux Snoozer
nitehawk
Vectorite
***
Posts: 153


Just me.


« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2009, 04:06:53 pm »

Oh yes,...I can say from experience that a "newbie" can handle Vector!  Well,...I first tried it about a year ago (when just starting out in linux-land).  I kept wanting to use it sooooo bad,.....but (like you said) it was basically Slackware, and that pretty well scared me.  But by reading and searching the forum, here,...(and with very kind help)..
It's my main OS now.  Don't care to use any of the "Big" distros anymore (I'm thoroughly spoiled by Vector).
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!