VectorLinux
November 24, 2014, 02:29:20 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How do you copy and paste with Vector linux  (Read 1288 times)
frank56
Member
*
Posts: 30


« on: April 08, 2009, 01:49:42 pm »

I think someone explained this once but I seem to have lost the link. But how do you copy and paste with Vector Linux? I switch from Gnome to Kde.  I was just looking at Klipper but was not getting anywhere with it. So basically how do you copy and paste with Vector linux?  Frank
Logged
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2009, 02:59:22 pm »

You can copy and past text by highlighting it, going to where you want to paste it and clicking the scroll wheel button. You can copy and paste files by right clicking the file, going to send to or copy to (whichever one you have) and going through to the place you want to copy it to. Alternately, if you can open the filesystem "tree" to the place where you want to copy it and drag the file over to that folder in the tree. You will then have a choice of moving or copying it. (note: I know this works in Konqueror in KDE and I think it works elsewhere as well)
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
overthere
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1281



« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2009, 03:19:09 pm »

As above..if you do not have a wheel try clicking both buttons at the same time...here is some additional info

http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=9257.0

cheers
Logged

Everything Is Relative
budulay
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 568


NewComer


« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2009, 04:14:59 pm »

if you need to copy/paste from/to the terminal window(particularly xterm) you can use "Ctrl-Insert" to copy and "Shift-Insert" to paste.
Logged

VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!
frank56
Member
*
Posts: 30


« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2009, 04:52:07 pm »

My short term goal is to copy text from a web page to this site. My webbrowser is not working so I may need to fix that first before I can follow through with the suggestions posted so far. Frank
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2009, 09:12:46 pm »

But how do you copy and paste with Vector Linux? I switch from Gnome to Kde.  I was just looking at Klipper but was not getting anywhere with it. So basically how do you copy and paste with Vector linux?  Frank

Are you using VL 5.9 SOHO? Klipper is not in VL 6 unless you add KDE. But copying and pasting is the same  in most GUI applications. Highlight the desired text, copy either through the Edit menu, the right-click menu, or Control-C, then put the cursor where you want to paste and select Paste in the Edit menu, right-click menu, or hit Control-V.

Others have described the highlight and then paste by clicking the wheel or center mouse button or left and right buttons together.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!