VectorLinux
September 19, 2014, 07:28:44 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Trying directISO on WinXP (dual boot)  (Read 1723 times)
zjkhere

« on: April 09, 2009, 08:43:23 pm »

If there are already C: D: E: F: in hard drive , the partition still need ?

Must the ISO be in C: ?  if the ISO is D: ,  the loadlin file should be in C: or D:

How to Shutdown Windows to DOS mode ??

I'm not good at computer stuff
First time trying a linux, got a lot of questions
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian

« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2009, 05:43:29 am »

Is your computer not capable of booting from the CD-ROM drive?
ratsarsed

« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2009, 09:07:31 am »

Good question.

I have XP on hda1 (fat32) ide drive. Following the directions
from V5.8    No joy.   http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/docs/vl58/manuals/vl5_installation_guide_en.html#iso_win

(MBR from Win98 and and the contents of 98's rescue floppy in
C:.)  Oddly, that combination worked for a now forgotten distro.

nightflier :
  You have a posted what looks to be another fun method.
http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=7363.0     Cool

Thanks.
ratsarsed
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian

« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2009, 09:56:30 am »

The floppy images referred to in the above post have been upgraded. Until they get posted on the site, you can find them in the VL6 Light ISO.

In your case, using the W98 Floppy and the FAT32 partiton should work. If you have problems, post the exact steps you use and any error messages.