VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5

Author Topic: network [Solved]  (Read 17878 times)

Gekky29

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • gekky29-homepage
Re: network
« Reply #15 on: April 25, 2009, 12:59:12 pm »

i have an router mebey important ? :)
Logged

Gekky29

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • gekky29-homepage
Re: network
« Reply #16 on: April 25, 2009, 02:15:45 pm »

Code: [Select]
gekky29:$ smbclient -L localhost
Password:
Domain=[MSHOME] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.0.33]

Sharename       Type      Comment
---------       ----      -------
homes           Disk      Home Directories
Photosmart_2600_series_192.168.1.70 Printer   Photosmart 2600 series
IPC$            IPC       IPC Service (Samba Server)
test            Disk      TEST
Domain=[MSHOME] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.0.33]

Server               Comment
---------            -------
XXX                   Gekky29_XP
GEKKY                Gekky29_XP
GEKKY29              Samba Server

Workgroup            Master
---------            -------
MSHOME               GEKKY29
:)
Logged

Gekky29

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • gekky29-homepage
Re: network
« Reply #17 on: April 25, 2009, 03:29:02 pm »

i can now acces vector in xp now the other way
how do i acces xp true vector ? :)
Logged

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: network
« Reply #18 on: April 25, 2009, 04:11:16 pm »

Your output from the smbclient command only shows your VL shares, not your XP shares. To give you a more specific command we'd need to know the share names of the XP system, which means you just need to change the smbclient command as follows:
smbclient -L GEKKY -U <username_from_XP_system>
You may be prompted for a password. If so, you need to enter the password for the username_from_XP_system when prompted. Please confirm that the name of your XP system is 'GEKKY'?
Logged

Gekky29

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • gekky29-homepage
Re: network
« Reply #19 on: April 26, 2009, 06:14:26 am »

Code: [Select]
davy:$ smbclient -L localhost
Password:
Domain=[MSHOME] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.0.33]

Sharename       Type      Comment
---------       ----      -------
homes           Disk      Home Directories
IPC$            IPC       IPC Service (Samba Server)
dvd             Disk      vector
Domain=[MSHOME] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.0.33]

Server               Comment
---------            -------
GEKKY29              Gekky29
VECTOR               Samba Server

Workgroup            Master
---------            -------
MSHOME               GEKKY29
Code: [Select]
davy:$ smbclient -L GEKKY29 -u
Password:
Domain=[GEKKY29] OS=[Windows 5.1] Server=[Windows 2000 LAN Manager]

Sharename       Type      Comment
---------       ----      -------
E$              Disk      Standaard-share
IPC$            IPC       Externe IPC
D$              Disk      Standaard-share
print$          Disk      Printerstuurprogramma's
SharedDocs      Disk     
SHARE           Disk     
G$              Disk      Standaard-share
Printer3        Printer   Door HP Instant Share.
Printer4        Printer   HP Photosmart 2600 series fax
Printer5        Printer   HP Photosmart 2600 series
F$              Disk      Standaard-share
ADMIN$          Disk      Beheer op afstand
C$              Disk      Standaard-share
Printer         Printer   Microsoft XPS Document Writer
Domain=[GEKKY29] OS=[Windows 5.1] Server=[Windows 2000 LAN Manager]

Server               Comment
---------            -------

Workgroup            Master
---------            -------
:)
« Last Edit: April 26, 2009, 06:21:47 am by Gekky29 »
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: network
« Reply #20 on: April 26, 2009, 07:25:47 am »

You can use below either one command to mount your XP share folder to /mnt/win. Modify the command based on your own setting. After run the command as root in a terminal, navigate to /mnt/win to view the content. Try it. :)

mount -t cifs //GEKKY29/SHARE -o username=xxx,password=xxx /mnt/win

mount -t smbfs -o username=xxx,password=xxx //GEKKY29/SHARE /mnt/win
Logged

Gekky29

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • gekky29-homepage
Re: network
« Reply #21 on: April 26, 2009, 07:31:51 am »

it works thnx :D
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: network
« Reply #22 on: April 26, 2009, 07:44:10 am »

To unmount the share drive (/mnt/win) just type
Quote
umount /mnt/win
as root in terminal. You can type
Quote
df -h
to view your current mount point in your linux box. Remember that your XP share mount point that you just mounted will dismount once you reboot your VL system. To permenantly add your windows share to your linux is to add the command to /etc/fstab. You can search through it via google cause I seldom do that. :P

I think you have setup samba in your VL system. To view your VL share in windows, just go to start -> run, type //yourvlhostname or //xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (your VL IP). Just do it just like you open other windows share folder.
Logged

Gekky29

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • gekky29-homepage
Re: network
« Reply #23 on: April 26, 2009, 08:20:41 am »

Quote
To permenantly add your windows share to your linux is to add the command to /etc/fstab
it doesn`t work
can i put somthing on mine desktop so i can just klik and its mounting ? :)
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: network
« Reply #24 on: April 26, 2009, 09:13:13 am »

Follow below guide about how to edit your /etc/fstab to automount share folder at boot

http://www.justlinux.com/nhf/Filesystems/Mounting_smbfs_Shares_Permanently.html
http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/configure-a-system-to-automount-a-samba-share-with-etcfstab/

or you can create a script to mount at the share folder like me. :P
1. Create a script called mount_win in your home folder. Make sure the script is executable. 

Quote
#!/bin/bash
mount -t cifs -o username=xxx,password=xxx //GEKKY29/share /mnt/win

exec thunar /mnt/win

2. Create a .desktop file name mount_win.desktop in your desktop like this.

Quote
[Desktop Entry]
Version=1.0
Encoding=UTF-8
Type=Application
Name=Mount_win
#Comment=Send instant messages over multiple protocols
Categories=Application;
Exec=/sbin/vsuper /home/hata_ph/mount_win
#Icon=pidgin
Terminal=true
StartupNotify=true
Icon=vl-hot.png
Comment=

3. this is optional. To unmount the share folder I also create an unmount_win script like below. Create another unmount_win.desktop file to run the unmount_win script.

Quote
#!/bin/bash
umount /mnt/win

Quote
[Desktop Entry]
Version=1.0
Encoding=UTF-8
Type=Application
Name=Umount_win
#Comment=Send instant messages over multiple protocols
Categories=Application;
Exec=/sbin/vsuper /home/hata_ph/umount_win
#Icon=pidgin
Terminal=true
StartupNotify=true
Icon=vl-hot.png
Comment=
Logged

Gekky29

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • gekky29-homepage
Re: network
« Reply #25 on: April 26, 2009, 09:44:44 am »

the problem is the network is not starting automatiqly whit starting and i  must do whit the hand :(
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: network
« Reply #26 on: April 26, 2009, 10:43:00 am »

Network doesn't start automatically???
Logged

Gekky29

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • gekky29-homepage
Re: network
« Reply #27 on: April 26, 2009, 10:51:24 am »

no :)
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: network
« Reply #28 on: April 26, 2009, 06:43:13 pm »

Then maybe the second can work for you. :)
Logged

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4132
Re: network
« Reply #29 on: April 27, 2009, 05:10:31 am »

Is it that networking doesn't start automatically, or that the samba shares don't get mounted automatically?
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5